Peel Island Session Tuesday

Thread: Peel Island Session Tuesday

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar

Peel Island Session Tuesday

Was up at some ungodly hour driving towards my mate davo's place for a guided tour of peel and surrounds, a few wrong turns (half asleep) mate it in the end. We headed down to thrown in a wello point around 0345?? still asleep. Throw the boats in and follow davo over to peel. Drifted a few spots as the sun was coming through. Wasn't much on the chew at this time so we moved around a few different spots throwing plastics. Occasionally coming tight on a squire most were around the 25-30 cm mark with my best one stretching to 33 so nothing too large but entertaining non the less.
    Drifted a new sport further out from the island and had one dead stick over the side and working another. I had the drag loose and the rod in the holder.. Was getting a few taps when the dead stick took off, picked it up and turned up the drag, I thought finally a legal squire.... But alas no squire but something unusual I thought a cobia!
    More drifts and more squire, went down towards the bottom end of the island and first cast at the new spot off goes the rod and a little tussle up comes a nice grassie @ 35 let him go and few more drifts, plenty of snags. Oh well wound up the lines went over to see how davo was going I was pretty over knots and snags at this point so ready to go.
    All in all a great day on the water shared a beer and a chat with a mate, plenty of laughs. This is what fishing is all about.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	416616_2918431680380_1248399383_3195216_1703873616_o.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	101.5 KB 
ID:	75049   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	328660_2918430960362_1248399383_3195214_781089052_o(4).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	40.7 KB 
ID:	75050   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	411974_2918430760357_1248399383_3195213_626615471_o.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	42.4 KB 
ID:	75051  

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

Re: Peel Island Session Tuesday

geez you were quick posting mate. saved me the effort. cheers. and you forgot to mention how good the weather was. and if you weren't up that early we wouldn't of got there till lunch what with you getting lost (again)
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

sorry. forgot some

Hey Mossy
    Good post mate, sounds like a fair session, you boys sure do get some time on the water...lol
    Could be a little Cobia although I've never seen one up close.

Bingo (Dave)

Cheers Bingo, mate any opportunity I get I'm on the water and good chance davo's keen to wet a line, talk abit of crap and have a laugh, putting one or two in the esky is always a bonus. You will have to come along one time mate. Yeah I have seen much bigger ones and thought it was a baby cobia, must be lost. I matched a couple up with images and I think it is. Would like to know what others thought??
    tight lines mossy

nice little cobia mate , you guys are keen up and back in around 3 hrs ...sounds like a good morning out ....

Quote Originally Posted by z50man View Post
    nice little cobia mate , you guys are keen up and back in around 3 hrs ...sounds like a good morning out ....
    Cheers mate, came close to 8 or so hours out on the water and I was lucky we came back around lunch if you know anything about davo that's a quick trip. LoL

well, we did circumnavigate peel stopping at all the usuals and threw in a quick flick at goat. i heard of 1 bloke picking up a 3kg snap near the houseboat but early in the day. huge amount of traffic about but had to be expected being the only good day for the xmas-new year week. plenty of sounder shows but all too shy.
    another nice day out on the water tho.

and how was the form of those 3 old blokes who roared up in their glass boat? i waved them down and politely told the bloke it was a go slow zone and he would be up for a fine if marine parks got him. one of them asked me where the hanlon light was and i told him. spotted them minutes later with oars out paddling back from the reef edge they got a little close to. then off they go flat chat back out of the go slow zone. i used to like peel because of the go slows as the bite sessions last longer undisturbed but these days no one pays any attention to them. they really should as there have been a few boats taking short cuts smack into the northern peninsula of late and geez they make a racket when they hit it full tilt. my father in law saw about 10 pinched by marine parks in 3 hours fishing time a fortnight ago.

Mossy I will definatley get out there with you and Davo, I'm just a little more chained up then you two blokes....
    Your right about Davo Mossy he only comes back to the main land to get supplies for the next trip...
    Once a decky always a decky...The waters in your blood...Hey Davo!!!

Bingo

Nice early sesh. Its definately a baby cobia. Nice to see them around. They were up the pine river last season.

Quote Originally Posted by OODIES View Post
    Mossy I will definatley get out there with you and Davo, I'm just a little more chained up then you two blokes....
    Your right about Davo Mossy he only comes back to the main land to get supplies for the next trip...
    Once a decky always a decky...The waters in your blood...Hey Davo!!!

Bingo
    dont know about the water mate but the quack tells me i've got plenty of the salt. and when you coming round for that beer and my dirty movie?

Quote Originally Posted by netmaker View Post
    dont know about the water mate but the quack tells me i've got plenty of the salt. and when you coming round for that beer and my dirty movie?
    I hope to god it is just a movie for you davo and not featuring you

Mossy
    I've picked up a couple of baby cobes over at peel and there's a spot I know a few people have picked up 10kg models so dont think it's just a one off thing.

Quote Originally Posted by pickers View Post
    Mossy
    I've picked up a couple of baby cobes over at peel and there's a spot I know a few people have picked up 10kg models so dont think it's just a one off thing.
    Crap, well I missed the 10kg model that's for sure, never seen one that small. Hope I find some more LoL larger ones that is.