Thread: Blooded the new combo with a PB! (Harry's on a Public Holiday)

Blooded the new combo with a PB! (Harry's on a Public Holiday)

Hi All,
    Recently spoiled myself with a Egrell S10 rod and Certate 4000 reel. Took a solo run last Tuesday for a big fat zero, although I did hook a thumper of a fish that took a liking to my $30 transam. So, with a replacement transam and a still yet to be blooded combo, I nervously headed out to Harry's this morning. Being a public holiday, I knew the place would be a car park and that the ramp would be chock-o-block full of idiots. You know the ones, the ones that jump the queue of boats being rigged up, only to rig their own boat on the bottom of the ramp.... then fail to get their boat started in front of their mates and hold up the ramp for even longer. Or the one that had a boat on a trailer and an inflatable on the roof of the car. He launched the missus and kids in the 'glass boat, then set to getting the inflatable off the roof, putting the 4hp motor on the back, and loading it up... all with his trailer in the water and people waiting to use the ramp (but at least he was doing this as I was loading my boat).
    Anyway, I launched a little after 5am to find a hefty crowd already anchored up at Harry's. Harry's on a public holiday is an interesting place. Everyone seems to motor into the thickest crowd of boats and drop anchor without ever sounding around. Luckily, my favourite spot tends to avoid these crowds (mostly), so I was able to drift it to my hearts content. I've rarely seen such thick shows of (bait) fish on the sounder. Nice thick meatballs with strong arches close by. Sadly, the bite was shut right down. Drifted through countless shows of fish. Had the transam smacked once on the drop, but failed to hook up. Then soon after, I lost the lure to the reef. They're an awesome lure, I just can't afford to go through them like this!.
    I then set to trying every size, shape and colour of softies with varied retrieves. I'd been bouncing a Tsunami 5" paddle tail off the bottom, and put the rod in a holder to grab a drink. That was when I hooked up. The S10 and Certate were simply great. A very confident combo. I'd spooled up with some Daiwa Accu Depth Hyper PE, which was just so nice to use, and was great during the fight, as I could easily gauge just how much line the fish had taken.
    Anyway, enough of my BS rambling, after a very strong fight, up came my PB snapper. And after a nerve wracking solo netting, the fish measured out just shy of 82cm, and about 11.5lbs. Damn nice way to blood the new combo!
    I was very happy with myself. I called it a day, and was home by about 9.30 for bacon and eggs!

Cheers!
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PB Snapper4.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	72.3 KB 
ID:	75047   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PB Snapper2.jpg 
Size:	53.1 KB 
ID:	75048  

Re: Blooded the new combo with a PB! (Harry's on a Public Holiday)

Great fish, you did real well and great to see your patience rewarded!
    Thanks for the excellent post and great pics!

nice fish mate , well done
    cheers swano

Well done blooding it with a PB...Harry's is still the venue for my PB snapper..trouble is it was a few years back...need to work on that!!

congrats on the pb and combo blooding. great fish. bet you get a few of them paddle tails for the cost of a trans am too.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Thats a great fish to pull from the crowds at Harries. I went past it about 5am and it was a parking lot

It might just be me but all the photos I've seen of large bay snapper don't seem to have bumps on there heads, why is this so?

not allClick image for larger version. 

Name:	knob.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	95.9 KB 
ID:	75053

beats me tho.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Well done on the new PB. There were heaps of boats out apparently, so to have put the extra effort in must feel very rewarding to come up with a class fish like this. Excellent!

Quote Originally Posted by seastorm View Post
    It might just be me but all the photos I've seen of large bay snapper don't seem to have bumps on there heads, why is this so?
    Thats a very good question and I really don't have an answer. It may be the way that the resident Bay fish feed on sand and gravel rather than rough reef. I have caught a number of Bay Snaps and am yet to get one with a pronounced bump but I have seen a few come onboard. Once I did a trip with Bayfisher and we pulled a few Snaps off the 29s then came back in to an area around Harries and pulled another 3 good fish. It was remarkable to see all six fish lined up. The three from offshore had quite different body shape as well as the characteristic head bump. The Bay fish were heavier for length and rounder

Top effort Jas. Nice pressie from santa - you must have been a good boy! Congratulations on the PB snap.

Not the biggest knob to be found at Harry's, but here's a snapper I pulled from Harry's back in July.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bump2.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	54.8 KB 
ID:	75063Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bump1.jpg 
Size:	63.7 KB 
ID:	75064

Hey Steve,
    If the weather behaves itself, I'm hoping to get up your way in the next week or so. Hopefully there's something biting (other than the damn mozzies).
    Cheers!

Bloody good fish there mate. Good to see yah getting into the ramp after a frustrating start. Good to play around with the plastics out there of late with some good ones around. I lost 2 this week there with livies and 40 pound leader. Well done DD.....