Thread: Caboolture River - Give it a miss

Caboolture River - Give it a miss

hi all,

just a little heads up on the caboolture river

have had 10 sessions there in my boat in the last 6 weeks for 3 flathead and 2 soapies.very tough going ATM.

To be fair i only target flathead,but even the bream blokes have been struggling,dont know why the severe lack of fish,as it was a superb winter.Its still good to get out in the boat though,and note to the Local council "thanx for leaving broken marker bouys from last years flood still broken after 12 months and semi submerged,hasnt affected me as i know the river,but have seen some nice boats come a gutsa on them ",and where the bloody hell is the pontoon at ulhman rd ramp,nice of you to put one at beachmere though if you feel like an extra 50kms to your trip

good job council,you deserve your recent payrise cough cough "bullshit".

Adam

Re: Caboolture River - Give it a miss

Dont need a pontoon at Uhlmann road, just a bit of sand to belly the boats on now they have the rock walls there. Unless you want something for the local kids to fish off . Sealing that dirt road is what they need to do now. The tool who graded it after the boat ramp has obviously only ever done sealed road work, cross fall is way to low and its potholing like crazy.

I reckon the floods striped the river clean, probably take years for the fish to come good. Bakers flats is now a joke for getting through, just as well that mob didn't build that Marina up near the highway, low tide your flat out getting a surfboard through bakers flats!

i reckon the river this year has fished pretty well, i target whiting though and sometimes get the occasional flatty. i had a few shockers with not even a bite whilst the weed was around and also just after it cleared a couple of months back but previous to the weed there were plenty of good summer whiting if you knew where to look and my last couple of runs since the weed properly cleared have had plenty of either just legal or just undersize bream and whiting to the boat but nothing too big, but again i target whiting and not flatties. there has been a plague of those stupid blue jellyfish about though and they've been up as far as the bottom of baker's flats on the top of the tide. stick to the basics and there's fish enough fish there to keep you amused, stay nice and quiet and fish somewhere with very little traffic, fish light and also use fresh bait if you can get it but i've still caught fish on dodgy service station frozen prawns.

it is very shallow in places though which is a bit of a worry for our bigger boat but not a problem for the tinny, in particular there's a very shallow spot just downstream of the public ramp and baker's flats is much the same in that it's ok for smaller boats but bigger ones will want to wait for the tide. council is not actually responsible for the pontoon, that was a state government thing and i applaude them for finally doing something good for us at the ramp it will make things a lot easier for us with the big trailer boat.

i haven't been out in the last week and a bit, but hopefully there's not too much runoff after the recent rain, the crowds will stay away and we can get a bit of a feed over the chrissy break.

Adam you should venture down to the brisbane river for a fish of flatties, plenty of nice ones around the river mouth and can always land plenty of good by-catch.

Always fun to fish IMO, ever keen let me know.

tight lines - mossy

I agree with PADDLES, this year the river has fished good for me, apart from the weed period! i also chase whiting in the warmer months and at the moment im more than happy with the size and quantity with some fish just shy of the 40cm mark. As for bakers i love sitting down there and watching the boats run a ground, there is still deep water if you know where it is, the best tip i can give you for caboolture river is to fish as shallow as possible with fresh baits! Goodluck and dont catch all the fish in my local haha

i had a great winter also,probably the best ive ever had,all my best fish came in at around 5 metres of water, it just seems to have totally shut down for jew and flathead since a few months ago when all the snot weed rolled in.I also love watching boats try and navigate bakers flats,your right,there is still enough water if you know where to go.Im heading out again today on my own,might try the mouth for most of the trip.

Has there been many jacks in the river that anyone has heard of ?

well,4 hours and another big fat donut

Not even a bite,talked to 2 other blokes/boats at the ramp,they caught 2 whitting,1 bream and 3 muddies between them,Was a mess coming home,I actually had fun pouring through the chop on my own,until i got to the boat ramp,and seen 4 blokes struggling to put a 14ft on the trailer due to the winds/chop,Thankfully another bloke helped me,then i helped him,then we halped another boat.I got wet to the chest trying to hold the boat on the trailer while old matey pressed my elec winch for me.Anyways no fish,but getting soaking wet pulling boats in at the ramp beats work any day of the week.

Wait for next week when the tides are smaller and not covering the flats, your fishing will dramatically improve as long as we don't get another 150mm of rain. The past fortnight has had the majority of fish in the river venturing into the flooded mangroves for a feed. Means less feeding in the channels. It has been a very good period recently for wading the mangroves.

Quote Originally Posted by wide_body View Post
    I agree with PADDLES, this year the river has fished good for me, apart from the weed period! i also chase whiting in the warmer months and at the moment im more than happy with the size and quantity with some fish just shy of the 40cm mark. As for bakers i love sitting down there and watching the boats run a ground, there is still deep water if you know where it is, the best tip i can give you for caboolture river is to fish as shallow as possible with fresh baits! Goodluck and dont catch all the fish in my local haha
    Thats helpful .
    Shawn

G'day Adam.
    went down to beachmere ramp last night to soak a few baits, better than watching the idiot box.
    heaps of undersized bream down there. 1 large ray 2 catfish and a pike eel around 3ft long
    best part was the 2 bundy cans i was forced to drink.

cheers dave.

that's no good adam, i ended up fishing thursday morning on a krap tide with krap bait and caught and threw back heaps. on friday morning i got a bit better organised with good tide/bait and kept a half dozen average whiting (<30cm) for dinner as well as throwing back heaps of undersized whiting and bream and i didn't fish through a full tide either. i thought the river fished quite ok again but i did see a few blokes zooming around in the river, making heaps of noise, stirring everything up, and furiously chucking soft plastics.