Thread: Home at last!!!

Home at last!!!

Gday Ausfishes,

For those interested I am home. Tried to include the outcome of a few of the questions I have posed to you lot over the last 12 months in this report regarding cars and cameras etc!!!

Arrived home from Salt Lake City after a 24hr door to door trip (Minus 12 there to 29 here!!). Touched down in Brisneyland at 7am. Cleared customs (with my 6 rods and 6 reels) kissed the wife and kids and said "get me home". Got up to Golden beach kissed my dog (Yes, I kissed my dog!!) and at 9am grabbed my first XXXX since I left 12 months ago. Took the kids down to the end of the street for a swim and then had a meat pie!!!!! (Try going 12 months without one and see how much you enjoy them then!!). Slipped up to the local Mitsubishi dealer and bought a new Triton Ute dual cab , crossed the road and grabbed a new Holden Barina for the missus and headed home for a few beers and a feed with my mate and his family. Set the alarm for 3:50 am but woke up at 3:30am. (toooo excited). Headed down to the 3 beacons down at Diamond Head and first cast my SP got hit but the 8LB leader broke!!! 12 months in storage and the line integrity is crapola! Will be ditching that stuff. It was dark and it tooks 20 mins to tie another jig head on in the dark! Walked back out and next cast (I kid you not!!!) Bam, another hit, I waited a few seconds and struck (Thanks Mullet Musketeer for the blog with the good advce, the pause before the strike works). Pulled in a nice little flattie around 35cms and let him go thinking at this rate I am gonna bag out in 20 mins . (Sorry no pics as the light was still to low) Then the bluddy wind came up!!! I cast around as the sun came up enjoying being back home. Tried out the GoPro Hero HD2 with some nice sunrise pics but didn't get another touch!

Oh well, great to be home. Will be out there again in the morning!!!

Thanks all for your advice on cars and cameras! Merry Christmas all!!

Re: Home at last!!!

Welcome home Funchy. Merry Xmas to you and the tribe and thanks for the attempted assistance re the item I eventually got at Bunnings. (see the Bilge)

C
    C
    What could go wrong.......................

Welcome home mate! . got work for 5 days straight starting tomorrow but when I get off i'll be sure to let you know and we can head out!

Merry Christmas,
    Jack

Quote Originally Posted by Yellowjack View Post
    Welcome home mate! . got work for 5 days straight starting tomorrow but when I get off i'll be sure to let you know and we can head out!

Merry Christmas,
    Jack
    Sure Jacko! Wind looks like its up for a few days yet so get some work done till it settles mate!

And a Merry Xmas to you.
    Sounds like you have hit the ground running mate.
    Good luck.

welcome home. if your in the mood mate. I'll have a new hilux if you get bored.

Well done to make it home Funchy and I'm sure it's all the more sweeter after a stint in Utah. I sit here wishing that was me and can understand an expat looking for a good meat pie or a vanilla slice....Hopefully in a few months time I'll join you!

Get fishing son !

fun,
    Is there any place better than home?.......didnt think so!
    are you home for good or will you be doing another stint OS.
    welcome home.

Thanks fellas,

Si, love to but now I'm broke (Broke but bloody happy)

Te Whiti, certainly are so many little things you miss. (and important ones like what side of the road to be on. Lets just say its lucky no one was at the roundabout near Gemini Towers yesterday morning!!!). Where are you based mate?

Wayno, As Dorothy said "there's no place like home". I am back for good now and wont be going anywhere (well maybe a few weeks in Turkey but no long stints)

Hi Funchy

If your off to Turkey check this out

Nordhavn check out the unit for sale in Turkey of all places.

PS A few yrs old with 110v and also 240 V installed and with all sorts of other goodies for a reasonable asking price to boot.

http://www.nordhavn.com/brokerage/listings/frog_kiss/
    What could go wrong.......................

The Magpie has come home to roost?

Damn...... ur making me homesick.
    I'm almost ready to return.... just have to make the big call as to when enough is enough I guess.

Funchy,

Based in Singapore mate, but I should be back in time for the Snapper season.... just bought a new rig too, can't wait !