Hook Load Test to Failure - 8 Popular Brands 15 Different Hooks - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Hook Load Test to Failure - 8 Popular Brands 15 Different Hooks

Ausfish Platinum Member TREVELLY's Avatar

Re: Hook Load Test to Failure - 8 Popular Brands 15 Different Hooks

Trev

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Awesome stuff Trev, thank you very much for taking the time to test the hooks and posting the results.

Myles
    "Elempi" American Bertram 33, 3208T Caterpillar power

Ausfish Platinum Member TREVELLY's Avatar

No worries Myles.

There were a few standouts amongst those tested along with some soft and ductile and some hard and brittle.

Clicking on the first graph to zoom it shows a good comparison to each other but the pictures really show how they tended to perform under load.

It should be noted that these kilogram values do not mean you will get eactly that result if you were to set the drag on reel to that pull pressure. There is a thing called "static load" and "dynamic load".

These hooks are tested with static load ie gradually applied load where a dynamic load is suddenly applied ie a bucket weighing say 10kg if dropped a short distance will have an equivalent static load of more than 20kg at impact.

Of course the stretch of line and flex of rod will compensate for sudden impact loading to some extent.

A rough guide to sudden impact versus gradual load would be about 2 to 1 or 2.5 to 1. That is if the test showed 20kg to "failure" I would pretty safely expect to get my drag to work okay and the hook to stay in shape at 20/2=10kg or 20/2.5=8kg. When we design a crane for lifting weights we use a safety factor of 3 but that is a bit more about life and death than here running a load closer to failure as long as it is "fit for purpose".

The weights used were a combination in the bucket of lead, pavers and water and each load applied was rechecked and verified for accuracy. Max "static load" I could achieve was 65kg which should equate to just over 30kg of drag pressure.

Hope you find the tests and comments above useful and informative.

They did take a long time to test, catalogue, edit and post.

As you can see the two hooks tested for Myles that were "new" and "used" hooks gave close enough to identical results hence I believe repeat tests on other hooks would give consistent results.

Trev

Fantastic effort mate. Congrats on all the work you've done. Even if it's not scientific to the point of decimal places, it does give an idea of what relative strengths each hook has. Well done and thanks for all the work.
    regards jim

Mate - what a great job - thanks a lot. Takes the guessing out of buying!

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

+1
    great work, id even like to see the same test on other terminial tackle = swivels

Great work there. A lot to think about before I buy some more hooks for heavy work

Cheer's for this thred Trevelly a great insight into the load capabilities of a good range of hook's.

Nice work,its good to know you get what you pay for when buying the owner gorrilla hooks.

Great effort Trev. Now all you need to do is work out their corrosion resistance, weight versus thickness, holding effectiveness, cost per hook, put a weighting against the criteria and pick a winner...... cheers Mal

great job mate! It is pretty interesting.......... As mentioned above, I reckon a swivel one would be awesome
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Serenity!

Like to see this resurrected - interesting information

Brilliant review, thanks mate.

Well done, Trevelly! A lot of time and effort on behalf of your fellow Ausfishers. Even though I don't use tackle like this, I still really appreciate the effort! Looking forwards to more of your work.
    Rob.

nice post, thank you for the effort

do you think that any of these would perform differently (at lower forces) with a dynamic load rather than a static load?