Thread: little advice needed (mud)

little advice needed (mud)

Am not after anyones spots at all I have recently bought a 3.7 stessl and am just keen as mustard to get up to brissy sometimes to do a bit of plastics fishing for snapper jew etc.. the boat has a yammy 20hp 2 stoke on the back and i looking at google earth it seems to be about a 25k round trip including a bit of sounding around and stuff over there.. How realistic is it in this sort of boat? I have a 25litre tank.. any thoughts or suggestions would be really appreciated.
    Cheers guys.
    Nathan.
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!

Re: little advice needed (mud)

ooops prob not the right place to post this.. move it if ya want Phil

Mate, if you head up drop us a line and your welcome to tag along with me. I would say in a good day 5/10 knots no.worries over to mud, 10/15 depending swells ok, abit choppy 15/20 don't bother. You would be right with 25litres but an extra 10 is safe, I take it but never used it, safer is better. The size would be fine of the boat just keep an eye in the weather its a great place to fish. I would leave out the Brisbane river from whyte island. It's reasonable you can get there just be smart n safe about what you do and remember you need flares because some busy days the police often do safety rego checks. Tight lines mossy

i would pick a nice day/night in a 3.75 metre punt. even though its pretty close to the mouth, it still can get a bit of chop out there.

Good luck Nathan, peel could be worth a go too maybe. On a good day close reefs off seaway and tweed are worth a go for sure. My biggest snapper (9.6kg) was caught on a sp within 2km of the seaway and caught 2 x 50lb cobes at the bait reef off sand pumping jetty. The new arti reef north of the seaway should be worth a go. The seaway is def worth a go for jew and snaps etc especially being so close.

Nathan i had a 4.2 mtr tinny with 25 horse yammy 25 litre and it went everywere in the bay even 25 notts but yours a little lower on sides than mine but you will cover the round trip to mud easy but you should go from whyte island ramp near wharf entrance and its a shorter trip. Oh and if you find the snapps let meknow lol. I went last sunday for 2 undersized squire but we all know there there. Cheers DD.....

Guys that awesome.. cheers for the advice and Mossy i will take you up on the offer at some point mate. would deffo look at the close reefs off the seaway when its dead flat for sure. Am jack fishing at the moment and am having the worst start to the season i can remember.. the score stands at 8 nil so far and i hooked and lost by far the biggest brute i have ever encountered two nights ago... the score will be settled very soon though
    Once again cheers for the input.

Mate, I have a 3.95 Bluefin with a 30 Merc (2 stroke) on the back and have no problems getting to Mud. Even if it blows up a bit I get a bit wet, but nothing to worry about.
    Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Quote Originally Posted by nathank View Post
    Guys that awesome.. cheers for the advice and Mossy i will take you up on the offer at some point mate. would deffo look at the close reefs off the seaway when its dead flat for sure. Am jack fishing at the moment and am having the worst start to the season i can remember.. the score stands at 8 nil so far and i hooked and lost by far the biggest brute i have ever encountered two nights ago... the score will be settled very soon though
    Once again cheers for the input.
    yes its been a bit quiet on the jack front. Do you think its most likely due to the coldest start to december in 40 odd years. bad luck on the jack mate. how big do you think, roughly of course. you been using lures or bait?

No worries Nathan, just shoot us a pm and I'll show you a few spots over mud way. My current rig is a 4.3 mtre estuary pursuit with a 30, gets abit wet on the way home if the winds pick up but never had any problems over n back from mud but always smart about what/where I take the tinny.

i'd give ya a couple of spots to have a look at too but i'm sure mossy'll give em to ya anyway
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by netmaker View Post
    i'd give ya a couple of spots to have a look at too but i'm sure mossy'll give em to ya anyway
    They would be the first ones I would give him davo, your spots work pretty well

None for 8 on the jacks has gotta hurt Nathan what sort of line/leader are you using. Are you luring or live baiting? Boat or Land based?
    And what is your exact position..... nah that qn was a joke. Good luck on evening up the score.

Quote Originally Posted by Si View Post
    yes its been a bit quiet on the jack front. Do you think its most likely due to the coldest start to december in 40 odd years. bad luck on the jack mate. how big do you think, roughly of course. you been using lures or bait?
    i got a really good look at him as i was throwing a husky jerk lure through a bit of light when i woke him up.. two more throws and i could interest him.... put a big slab of fresh mullet on unweighted and the instant it went out of sight (about 1meter or so under the water) it went off.. hard to say how big it was my pb is 60.. it WAS bigger.

Quote Originally Posted by carnster View Post
    None for 8 on the jacks has gotta hurt Nathan what sort of line/leader are you using. Are you luring or live baiting? Boat or Land based?
    And what is your exact position..... nah that qn was a joke. Good luck on evening up the score.
    hahaha good one carnster.. fairly standard gear mate.. 3500 baitrunner 15kg braid 40lb flouro leader.. livies and the occasional slab baits (like livies much more though) ive been getting dusted 50% pulled hooks the other... just unlucky so far is all.. im out tonight so will hopefully post a good pic tommorrow.
    worst thing is i checked what was going on last year and i had already nailed 12 jacks by this stage of the season. But thats fishing i guess. you back from up north yet carnster?