Thread: Little advice needed - north straddie

Question Little advice needed - north straddie

We are going to north straddie over christmas and the brother-in-law is taking his boat. I'm to look after the bait, so my question is should i be buying it on the mainland or is their a good bait shop there that I can just visit and be well looked after. And i guess this time of year we will be mainly trolling for the bigger stuff yeah? What bait should i be searching for, what is biting over there and what bait is working. I really appreciate any advice I can get, we have not had a holiday like this for a long time and want to make the most of it.

Al

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

Re: Little advice needed - north straddie

Gday Al,Woolies sometimes have green banana prawns for around $12,or Rufus King seafoods at Amity Point is where we always go.The shop at Amity always has heaps of bait as well.Take a castnet as there is always bait fish around.If your going to troll try the Rainbow and Rous channels with 6-8inch deep diving minnows,Halco,Rapala,RMG scorpions,River2Seas mad mullet will work.Bonito,mullet,pillies,prawns,gar bait wise.Beware the green zones as well.Have fun.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

Re: Little advice needed - north straddie

Thanks jim! I'll grab a few of those lures tomorrow. I'm gonna dust off the tacklebox and gear tomorrow and get ready to pack up.