Mossy's Mud Mission Mayhem

Thread: Mossy's Mud Mission Mayhem

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar

Mossy's Mud Mission Mayhem

Ok, so after missing the last few trips because I was soft and didn't want to go in the rain I thought I would man up and go rain, hail or shine. So picked up my mate on the way through and at the boat ramp by 0515.
    Wasn't looking too bad so we head over to mud to drift a few rubble patches. So over to mossy's reef and second cast I come tight on something big zzzzzzzz of it goes managed to get something back and pfftttttt (insert turtle breaaching sound) it's a giant turtle! hahahaha woops lost my leader n all. Swap over to my bream rod.
    Next cast and a few jigs, bam..... nice little hit... a little line lost, tighten up the drag a little and up comes a squire around 35. (too close so over it goes back to the drink)
    A few more drifts and then a few more smaller squire and a grinner in the mix every now and again. One last drift over the rubble patch and come tight on a nice squire at 43cm. Nice, that one is going to the esky.
    Weather wasn't too bad and the chop n clouds made it better I thought for the snapper.
    The wind was starting to pick up and the swells started giving me the sh!ts as it was getting slippery up front, so moved over to another spot abit sheltered and good signs on the sounder.
    I looked over and seen another breach and another turtle, I said to me mate check this one out its another turtle. I had previously joked to my mate about me letting the other one off he would grant me three wishes... And I wished for a good snapper.
    No joke I casted over near the turtle about 10 meters short and the line was on the fall and then zzzzzzzzzzz starts pulling off... I was thinking idiot, I've hooked that turtle... Then the head shakes got heavier and I was like nope, this is a good fish.... A little bit of a fight and kept taking abit of line I would get some back prob about 5 mins on the bream gear and up comes a nice squire at 51.... woooot.
    Few more drifts, some smaller squire here and there. Moved down to check the southern end but it was lumpy as something very lumpy, so turned back to hide out of the swells and wind. Kept drifting and flicking the plastics for not much else I think a few grassy's were playing tricks on us so we headed back to the river for a flick out of the wind...
    Got to my little spot x and mate casts then bam zzzzzz off comes a little line and he manages a nice squire around 30, the thing hit the plastic on the drop pretty hard and initially took a little zzzz on the drag. More drifts a little more rain. Got snagged and lost my leader n all so called it a day.
    At the ramp to go home by 1130 as I was cleaning my fish a guy came through on his jetski, had an alarm going on it which didn't sound good, lifted up his seat and smoke was pouring out... Looked expensive to fix
    Dropped off a fish at a mates place and also one for the parents all in all a good day on the water was pretty wet day out but stayed dry with my wet weather gear.
    tight lines all - Mossy
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	327631_2861860146127_1248399383_3164538_360753202_o.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	39.2 KB 
ID:	74726   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	330197_2861861266155_1248399383_3164539_1451892792_o.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	36.9 KB 
ID:	74727   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	332443_2861858786093_1248399383_3164536_91310877_o.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	45.4 KB 
ID:	74728   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	337487_2861856946047_1248399383_3164534_569770453_o.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	69.7 KB 
ID:	74729   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	339264_2861864706241_1248399383_3164544_836669549_o.jpg 
Size:	85.5 KB 
ID:	74730  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	335333_2861861666165_1248399383_3164540_767472451_o.jpg 
Size:	48.6 KB 
ID:	74731   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	333961_2861859546112_1248399383_3164537_784531881_o.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	44.7 KB 
ID:	74732   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	334537_2861862546187_1248399383_3164541_95246813_o.jpg 
Size:	25.4 KB 
ID:	74733  

Re: Mossy's Mud Mission Mayhem

Good work mate hope you left a few ????
    Last nightshift tonight boat is ready to go,plan on spending the next few days sounding the donut patch
    Will be heading out at sparrows tuesday you planning a flick ?
    Pst, shouldn't of told Davo their biting

I always leave a few for Ron DT. Mate plenty of fish around if your prepared to sound the ground, find the lumps and you'll find the bumps hehehe.

Not Tuesday mate for me, I'm on holidays as of thursday which I'm planning on heading out for a fish weather permitting.

These are the ones he left me after his last trip when I was supposed to go over to mud.

Tight lines - MoSsY

Just finished waterproofing the Bimi top on the SS Donutking so hope to see you thursday
    Last trip in rain resulted in a good catch but every spot i stood it seamed the water ran down the back of my neck
    Stopped when it hit my arse crack though
    Cya on the water.
    Dick

Well done mate. Sounds like a great day and an entertaining report! I'm really keen for Thursday if you've got a spot for me. Got myself a waterproof jacket n everything. As long as I'm not up all nvht filletting mackerel!

hahahaha was a fun morning out on the water, the rain came through and flushed us out.
    There was always a few fish biting here and there just had to move around to find them, was pretty funny when my mate hooked a squire and a sharkie took a run, thought we had a big snapper...
    Should get yourself some waterproof pants coodgee, worth their weight in gold with the wind and rain. No point going back in to the river if the fish are biting, the swells were pretty good so it was worth a fish.
    No worries for thursday mate got a spot, will head to mud if its ok. Keen to do a night fish and drop a live one or two soon mate.

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

way to go mossy, nice feed. just goes to show who dares wins mate. i knew you had it in ya. just like i tell my missus - you can smell fishy but you just cant catch fish at home under your doona. hope to catch up at the end of the week. offshore tomorrow with jason for the long awaited baits vs plastics sesh. 1 of us may be utilising a different approach by this time tomorrow. should be a great day out.
    dick - might catch you out there tuesday. see how keen i am after tomorrow.
    here's hoping for a fishy xmas. best of luck to all this week.
    davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Nice work .....got to get the boat finished so i can get out there ......

Good to see you all getting out there in some pretty unstable(unpredictable) weather, keeps the numbers on the water down that is for sure. Don't know if i'd be giving away some prime eating squire though mossy, yummo! You heading Goldy or sunny tomorrow davo? Ben

Davo - I just couldn't let this weekend go past I was getting withdrawal from not going the other time LoL. Yep I can see jason on the plastics in no time it doesn't take them long to step over to the darker side... hahahaha best of luck on the water tomorrow, GO PLASTICS! The P-in JasonP will be for plastics!

z50man - in good time mate not worth rushing a project boat like that, looks like she'll be a nice rig.

BLOOEY - I wouldn't say it was that unstable in a dangerous way, winds were shifting most of the time but there wasn't any large swells which kept the snapper from spooking but me safe. Was still a few boats around the other side which was a surprise it mainly came southerly most of the morning so most were up the northern end. The squire went to a good cause the old man can't eat as much steak since his falsie's so he loves a chew of snapper and the old duck (mum) loves fresh fish.

cheers - mossy

I totally understand that mate, my oldies can eat fish by the kilo and dont have the capability or the means of getting it themselves so i try and get some to them whenever i can. I've just got to stop myself from devouring it first. Good on ya!

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

hey blooey. leaving mooloolah river at 5am. believe caloundra wide was on the tourist brochure as well as places like murphys and gneering shoals, so hopefully the fish will come play the game and leap into the esky.
    mossy - thanks for the good wishes (would have preferred you sent me a squidgie) and hopefully i can come through for the plastics brigade. jason plastic has a nice ring to it. i like that.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Guessing your"e probably in bed by now davo, but goodluck tomorrow! Let us know if you see any spanno's leaping clear of the water with a little tuna in their gobs. Ben

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

I was out at mud on sunday Mossy on the east end all morning. I was looking to see if you or davo were out there being your local haunt. I only hooked a few just under sized squire for my troubles and then had to head into chop back to welly ramp. Good day out for you eh. Cheers DD.....

We spent our time over on the western side most of the day avoiding the winds and chop alot closer in to the island than usual but it came good for us. Always a little luck involved hey DD was plenty of undersize around we were just lucky enough to squeeze a coupe jigs through to the bigger ones.
    My mate is still spewing about the sharking, we thought for sure he was on to a winner!
    Keep an eye out for us DD I'll be fishing heaps coming into xmas break.
    tight lines - moSsY