The New Toy

Thread: The New Toy

The New Toy

ll its finally arrived, my new toy. 5.2 Javelin Hammerhead. now the fun begins...the fit out. i am going to power it with a Yamaha 70 4stroke. i have just bought a Humminbird 1198 si combo and in early Feb, Greens down at Yatala are going to cover it with a folding Targa. cant wait to get this thing on the water.

PB280381.jpgPB280380.jpgPB280379.jpg

PC020387.jpgPC020385.jpgPC020386.jpg

PC020384.jpgPC020383.jpgPC080397.jpg

PC080398.jpgPC080399.jpg

Re: The New Toy

Looks like a very nice boat indeed.

Nice fishing weapon mate.

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

I'm just hoping i get it all set up for Xmas. should have plenty of range with a 150Ltr fuel tank.
    does anyone have some advice regarding Prop selection stainless or alloy??

You will be stoked with it mate. I had one and wish I never sold it. I have chased small black marlin in it one day and up in the fresh water chasing barras the next. It is a great all round vessell I reckon!

Great looking boat mate,

have the 70A on a Cruisecraft 485,....how heavy is the boat? the CC is about 625- 650kgs i think and if yours is a lot heavier at 5.2 it may struggle with 3 blokes, eskies etc... i find 2 people eskies etc the 70A is good but thats on a 4.85 and it doesnt have a 150 ltr tank either. I find the fuel economy ridiculous, 3 klicks to the litre though...
    Tangles KFC

Nice boat mate looks like a super allround rig that should handle the rough stuff nicely with that nice v at the front, would have liked twin yam 70a's on my boat but cost was an issue, they are a superlight engine so should keep the arse nice and high. Guys on here with much more experience will advise on props im sure, im a stainless fan though.

Quote Originally Posted by Aigutso View Post
    Great looking boat mate,

have the 70A on a Cruisecraft 485,....how heavy is the boat? the CC is about 625- 650kgs i think and if yours is a lot heavier at 5.2 it may struggle with 3 blokes, eskies etc... i find 2 people eskies etc the 70A is good but thats on a 4.85 and it doesnt have a 150 ltr tank either. I find the fuel economy ridiculous, 3 klicks to the litre though...

Thanks Mate, the empty hull weighs 600kg, so I am thinking that with the right prop it should be ok. with a 90 2-stroke they do 42 knots. I dont need that sort of speed as i'd be happy with high 20's, its not often the waters flat enough to get up to those spped outside the bay here in Noosa anyway. it also has a 150Ltr kill tank under the floor and the esky's are both in front of the console's pretending to be seats.

I had a 75 Enduro 2 stroke on mine and did 32 knots fully loaded so I reckon you will get 28 knots no worries at all. Those little Yammy 70 4 bangers are a sweet bit of gear mate.

Ausfish Platinum Member Camhawk88's Avatar

Very nice, I like the twin consul layout. I reckon you will kick yourself going a 70 on that boat with 600kg bare and a deep-V you wont have the poke to get on the plane quickly. You will also use more fuel as you are pushing it harder. Just because a 90 will get it up to 42knots doesnt mean you need to use it. If you get a flat day and want to cruise home at 35knots you will do it cheaper than a 70 pushing you flat out at 27-28knots.
    Dont go the option if you think it will take perfect proping and height setting (of course you stil want to get it right) to get acceptable performance. It is much cheaper to do it right the first time than to re-power.
    As for stainless or aluminium. Stainless all the way if it is a bluewater boat. Unless you plan on doing a lot of shallow water stuff where hitting snags regularly with a SS prop has the potential to damage the motor where a ali prop will have some give.

I have the F70 on my 4.55 seajay - dead set mongrel of a motor to prop and SOLAS rolled their eyes when I told them what I had. They reckoned it was now the hardest motor they had to prop full stop.

Best so far is the SOLAS stainless in 14" (much lighter boat) though speed is down a long way from the standard alloy 15" - I have experienced a bit of prop slip on the the standard prop but it was still very usable. I tried the Stainless Yamaha performance prop - didn't work on my boat at all and a very expensive mistake, too much bow lift and as a result very trim sensitve. Might work on your boat though - you look to be carrying allot more weight forward and it is ventilated so allows it to spin up a little quicker. It also runs a fairly heavy cup so you can run your motor nice and high.

Not sure what pitch you would need to run though, 14" works for me but my boat is a fair bit lighter.

One of my old mans employees runs the motor with a standard 15" alloy prop on a 5.2 I think Bluewater - runs really nice he reckons and gets high 20's (all i get with the Stainless prop anyway - 32knots with the alloy).

I concur with the others - very very nice motor, I pulled a 12 month old 50 Yamaha 4 stroke off for it - much nicer motor and identical economy.

I reckon you will kick yourself going a 70 on that boat with 600kg bare and a deep-V you wont have the poke to get on the plane quickly. You will also use more fuel as you are pushing it harder. Just because a 90 will get it up to 42knots doesnt mean you need to use it. If you get a flat day and want to cruise home at 35knots you will do it cheaper than a 70 pushing you flat out at 27-28knots.
    Dont go the option if you think it will take perfect proping and height setting (of course you stil want to get it right) to get acceptable performance. It is much cheaper to do it right the first time than to re-power.
    As for stainless or aluminium. Stainless all the way if it is a bluewater boat. Unless you plan on doing a lot of shallow water stuff where hitting snags regularly with a SS prop has the potential to damage the motor where a ali prop will have some give.

It will be for both outside and up the creeks, i do a fair bit of Jack fishing i might start off with Alloy, would hate to damage the motor.
    There is a centre console version on the river here, he's running a yamie 4-stroke 70 tiler steer. gets great fuel consumption and topend. apparently the boats dont have to get 'out of the hole' they just take off. so I guess I'll find out on the water test.

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar

sweet looking ride there and a 150l tank will give you plenty of range when matched to the 70
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

removed, incorrect info.

Orrsum,

I get about 56 kmph with 2 onboard, 2 eskies and full of fuel, rods etc ( reckon it would weigh about 1 tonne with all that) and it cruises nicely at 36 kmph etc, she is stock and haven't played with props as yet,
    Tangles KFC