Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Deep Water Bend Pine River

Re: Deep Water Bend Pine River

the trawler doesnt go up bald hills creek does he ? it must be a little trawler to get in the little creeks I used to crab. I know who`s doin it , just gotta catch them.

Quote Originally Posted by Fish_gutz View Post
    the trawler doesnt go up bald hills creek does he ? it must be a little trawler to get in the little creeks I used to crab. I know who`s doin it , just gotta catch them.
    im not usually the type but is anyone up for a game of hide and flog,Ive lost pots this year and so has my good mate,always keen for a citizens arrest.Happy to sit in a boat with binoculars for a night,hey,might get more action in the pine then i do with baits and my good mate who took 2 months of savings to buy himself a good set of pots and lost them in 1 night is not real happy either.

absolutely sick and tired of reading how we are all losing pots.

WTF is wrong with these people.

Lowlife/scumbags,hope they all get infested with some horrible disease.and unfortunately,there will be some who read this post,who pinch our pots ,if this is you,get a life and work for your own posessions instead of stealing of a bloke who has.

Adam

Quote Originally Posted by MudRiverDan View Post
    overfished and smashed, why bother, the pine has more hooks than fish.
    I wouldn't let one or two failed landbased trips give the impression the pine is not worth bothering about. Yes it does receive a fair bit of pressure but its not hard to come home with at least one or two flathead. yes some days it can be dead, but others days it can be really action packed and enjoyable with all sorts of species like tarpon, threadies, jewies, tailor, GT's plus the usual suspects getting amongst it. get out there, buy a boat, keep mobile, dont stick anchored to one spot and have a go.

Course it doesn't go up the tiny gutters in bald hills creek ya clown. slight typo, i missed a "SO" before "if your pots....."

Theres 2 groups of fwits raping the pine, 1 lot has quick plateys' (not sayin you fella) and the are shit box tinny/s with coconuts in it. the later is the bigger problem.....

all good lippa ! you know where I`m coming from and I know what ya mean!. would be nice to catch them in the act though.

Ausfish Platinum Member gruntahunta's Avatar

No fish in the Pine!.......HEHEHEHEHEHEHE........Elbow slappers are about to start..... can't wait to try plastics on them this year (not going to take any worms either)....poppers are my amo...

fisheries are fkin useless, you'll hurt your hands if ya tap the cocos, and my 30hp cant catch the other bastards, short of shooting the pricks, there isn't much else to do. i was just watching that whale wars on foxtel, maybe try a prop fowler! fk me the show is laughable.

I know there are pricks around but prolly enough with shooting the cocos comments eh? Getting pretty heavy there.

Its a sad time when you can't even leave your pots out to soak without getting stolen. I really don't understand whats going through their heads to justify the act of stealing. I take it they wouldn't be too happy if someone stole their wallet, took out the cash n card and discarded it in the mangroves. There isn't really much you can do.
    The police wouldn't bother with it so whats the option for the honest crabber? Really..... I know they say take video etc. So what options are there? They wonder why people get into altercations over things like this.. why?
    Because the people who are doing it know well n good there is f'all chance of them being prosicuted legally. Now I don't drop pots in the pine for this reason. I know if I found someone lifting my pots it would not end well for all parties involved so I avoid the situation cause I would see "red" and most likely cause some kind of trouble which could potentially land me in more trouble than the offenders... I think the fisheries were on to something with chipping the crabs and busting the offenders, trouble is the funding isn't there to support them. I bet the 11 million stolen from Qld Health would of done wonders for fisheries.

I use the el cheapo pots I think they were $25 for 4 of them. Never had one stolen and they still catch crabs I am sure people have poached crabs but the pots themselves I have had for 2 years now so I am going alright. I just wouldn't fork out the coin for the pro series pots if I am going to be leaving them overnight.

Quote Originally Posted by Symetre View Post
    I use the el cheapo pots I think they were $25 for 4 of them. Never had one stolen and they still catch crabs I am sure people have poached crabs but the pots themselves I have had for 2 years now so I am going alright. I just wouldn't fork out the coin for the pro series pots if I am going to be leaving them overnight.
    Bottom line. Stealing is wrong, they know they can get away with it so why would they stop? If I found someone lifting my pots it would not go down well, if I used cheapo pots or not. It comes down to the fact there is nothing stopping them, you as a person cannot do anything, the authorities don't care about a few pots. But if I was to react and cause damage/injury to them or their boat/car I can be charged on aggrevated assault? Same reason the kids commit crimes they know well and good its a little slap on the wrist. I think best thing would be to lay a string of bessa/blocks take a slingshot, size 3 sinkers sit back and fire away.

Plenty of muddies in pine lads! I'm just wondering where best spot for flathead are?

Quote Originally Posted by adhawko View Post
    Plenty of muddies in pine lads! I'm just wondering where best spot for flathead are?
    Brissie river LoL

Quote Originally Posted by adhawko View Post
    As Si said before, get amongst it, move around find where they are biting. They are there. If it is after 7am or before 4.30pm I usually don't bother.

For flathead in the pine, find a hole and fish the drop offs each side of it. Plenty of holes and plenty of active fish to tempt.