Thread: Homeport on a Mac

Homeport on a Mac

Well had to use it on a PC, now its out for Mac so i got it as tired of only booting up the wifes laptop just for Homeport so got the Mac version....

, world of difference frankly, seems like a new program and so easy to export which was a pain in the ass on the PC.. hopefully for you ferrets on a PC they upgrade it as it is now very easy to use and manage waypoints, importing and exporting them etc as well as transferring to the SD card

mike
    Tangles KFC

Re: Homeport on a Mac

I really don't like Homeport/G2 Vision software on a PC compared to using Trip and Waypoint Manager/Bluecharts. The charts look like a kid drew them at Kindy and its a pain to have to use the SD card in iyt all the time. I won't be going to the darkside (Mac) anytime soon but its good to hear that Garmin might be working on a better version

What sort of program is this for? A waypoint-orientated garmin GPS thingy-ma-bob?
    I'm upgrading the boat next year and will be looking at a decent gps/sounder combo to put in and doing some early research!

I've never had any issues running Homeport, Mapsource, Trip & Waypoint manager and other mapping software on PC. With Macs, you are limiting yourself severely because of all the restrictions that Apple Computers put into their hardware and software. Like Sony, Apple equipment can only use sanctioned hardware and software which always come with a hefty price tag!
    But in the end it's your choice and if it works for you then good stuff Have fun.

Quote Originally Posted by nautimax View Post
    I've never had any issues running Homeport, Mapsource, Trip & Waypoint manager and other mapping software on PC. With Macs, you are limiting yourself severely because of all the restrictions that Apple Computers put into their hardware and software. Like Sony, Apple equipment can only use sanctioned hardware and software which always come with a hefty price tag! Geez, you can run Windows on a Mac if you want),
    But in the end it's your choice and if it works for you then good stuff Have fun.
    Thanks for the informative response, its not an ETEC thread . point was just a post saying Homeports out on the Mac now,, also the Mac version of Homeport is a step forward of what i was using on Windows, not a Mac or PC issue, keep it on topic please, new Mac version is better IMO , and well if it translates into PC you will smile, big deal.....not a Mac or PC issue, I run both.

If the issue of PC or Mac drives you, well I reckon get a life lol.. big deal
    Tangles KFC

How do you reckon a Mac would handle the NQ chop?

better than a cat?
    Tangles KFC

What if it had an Etec?

hey mate how do you go with software upgrades on the mac for garmin units , i have never triied it untill yesterday and had no luck might be a good help for mac users if you let us know .
    thanks in advance

Had to go via PC as its a PC exec file, but transferring data into the Mac version to the SD card is now very easy and quick and its also easy to separate data as well

mike
    Tangles KFC