Aqis Inspection.... Getting nervous
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Aqis Inspection.... Getting nervous

Ausfish Platinum Member mustang5's Avatar

Angry Aqis Inspection.... Getting nervous

Gday,

If it were any other time in the year, and I didnt have big dreams and ambitions in taking the newly imported boat out and about for the only holidays I have all year, I really wouldnt care too much about failing an AQIS inspection.

However, the boat arrives at the POB on the 15th December, with the AQIS inspection set for the 19th December.. If it passes, I receive it that day, if it fails, I am told it will then be transported to an AQIS approved premises and I wont see it for 2-3 weeks????

Now, I have had it steam cleaned and shrink wrapped, so quite frankly I am at the mercy of the man in the hard hat with his clipboard, and whatever his mood is on the day (I hope his wife was nice to him the night before)...

So, in saying this, I suppose I should ask all the other boat importers, how they went with the AQIS inspection, and how long did you wait for those of you who had their AQIS inspection fail??

Any tips on getting it quicker, or anyone know any magic words that can be spoken to these makers or brakers of happiness they call Quarantine Inspectors??

Cheers all.

P.S. I dunno about you guys, but on the 19th December it will have been 55 days in transit, 80 days after purchase.... I was first told it was a 30 day sailing direct..... THIS IS NOT a Healthy thing for a man having boat withdrawls!!!

Re: Aqis Inspection.... Getting nervous

Mate tell me about it I know how you feel.. its be close to 6 months without a boat for me and it looks to be another 6 before I will be able to get another. Lucky I have mates with boats who I can get out with most weekends. As to the inspectors not sure what you can do, I've had stuff go thru them before without dramas, might depend on the person/day to some degree however. Either way good luck mate, hope you can get you toy for Chrissy!

mustang5 i deal with aqis on a regular basis for our research facility. when they come to inspect there's nothing you can do and just hope that your last minute clean up, paper work, compliance is up to scratch. we've had good inspectors and bad inspectors, some will nit pick and others are cruisey as.

there isn't too much in way of magic words unless you know someone high up or deal with them often enough to be on a first name basis.

either way hope you get your chrissy present! sounds like it's been a long wait.

Cheers fellas,

Yeah would be good to get the Xmas pressy, its been far too long a wait.

I suppose the biggest fear is that I was not present during the cleaning, nor the shrink wrapping and also I havent gone over the boat with a fine tooth comb either (Actually havent seen it in the flesh lol).

Heres to hoping anyways... Waiting after the initial delivery date is a lot worse than waiting at the start :p!

I prefer the Gas and paperwork method they dont even look at them. this is previding the boat can fit in a container.

Who shipped it and cleaned it owen?

Import-usa-boat and customs brokers are generation logistics.

Shipping agent engaged there own subbies over in the US to clean and shrink wrap.. So i have had a bit of the "she'll be right" treatment. Even received an email not long ago saying not to email the shiping agent, conveniently after the invoice was paid..

Generation logistics have been helpful however everything is the shipping lines fault isnt it

You'll be right mate.....mine passed when it was covered in dirt, leaves in the live bait tanks and some sort of 'liquid' in the head.

Haha hope so, without the foreign objects of course lol!

Did you attend the inspection?

Nar......the only thing they got me for was a couple of bits of untreated and undeclared bits of timber used for packing.Didn't hold anything up but had to pay for them to get destroyed.
    The whole waiting game is fun hey......you hardly notice it.It really goes quick.
    Chill out....you'll be right

Hi,
    Imported a 28ft. fibreglass boat from the Philippines. Made sure no timber or biologicals. On a flat rack container. Boat builder had it on a steel tubular frame-(Disposable) and heavilly strapped down. Cover was a soft sheeting material, covered by a heavy duty sheet plastic tarp. I wanted shrink wrap, but Shrink wrap is a pain in the but for underneath inspection, and anything that is difficult for the customs guys---you pay for.
    From time of ship arrival in Brisbane to delivery at Runaway Bay was 4 days. "Universal Group of Companys" was the shipping agent, and I highly recommend them.
    Customs costs---Compilation fee---$75
    Customs advance payment--$15
    Customs quarenteen fees---$283.50
    Customs inspection---$165
    That was 2 years ago.
    Main hassle was getting it shipped from the Philippines, as there aren's ships which go direct.
    This cargo had to go via Singapore, Hobart, Sydney.
    Lots of bargaining to get a reasonable shipping price as well. as we are not on the Asian trade routes.
    The boat is worth the hassle though.
    Best of luck,
    Cav.(J.C.)

Mustang5, mate i am sure everything will be fine. On a personal level i worked at the POB for 15 years prior to starting my own company (Brisbane Container Solutins). I have dealt with AQIS on a daily bases now for near on 20years.If you have any dramas or need any help, just pm me or contact me on 0423433095.

cheers, Mick.

Cav,

Thanks for the info mate, those prices for the process are pretty much spot on with what I have paid Give or take a couple hundred lol.

Wave Dancer,

That is very generous of you mate, thanks for the help. Will give you a call if I need some inside tips however, I would much rather you read my happy post when its in my backyard lol!!

Cheers fellas!! Not long now! (Lands Thursday)

Be very carefull using "The Universal Group" for importing, I am importing 2 motors from the US, got a quote off them the $2000, then later they added $300 for timber treatment, the motors landed and they handed me an invoice for $4650. Not happy, apparantly I didn't ask the right questions.
    Good luck with the boat mate.
    Doug

Quote Originally Posted by sharkcat 23 View Post
    Be very carefull using "The Universal Group" for importing, I am importing 2 motors from the US, got a quote off them the $2000, then later they added $300 for timber treatment, the motors landed and they handed me an invoice for $4650. Not happy, apparantly I didn't ask the right questions.
    Good luck with the boat mate.
    Doug
    Hey Sharkcat, I have not had that problem as of yet, sorry to hear mate. Thats definitely dodgy and there is no shame in naming them.

I suppose the only thing they can charge me on is extra holding fees for whatever reason. Whether it be failure on the quarantine or anything else...

Quarantine inspection due for Monday morning 9am.. Never thought I would say it but, it is going to be a looooong weekend lol!