Thread: After Mulloway location

After Mulloway location

I must be annoying to many consistently asking about someones secret Mulloway spot but im really eager to know one. Please, please PM. I do not keep Mulloway and i will not share the spot. I have been chasing jewfish in the river for one year know and compared to 20 years of experience like many it is quiet short. I can quiet confidently say that in some instances i would have to be better than people with heaps more experience than me. You have to work hard and have alot of fishing time to get you technique down pack and create a successful location list which i have. My fishing time would be almost every weekend, every day of school holidays and a couple of days after school. I would like to share my knowledge in a PM if you were to just share your spot. I have got a couple of mates which have fished the Maroochy for 22 years and another which was a abt (Bass) fisherman which has flooded me with there 20 years of knowledge in one year. would love to PM you my jewfish spots in the river in return. I could give you the opportunity to almost make it certain that you would get one in one of my secret spots acknowledging my respects to the rivers health. Im Based in Maroochydore but wouldn't mind up to a hour drive. Hopefully get to Fraser island or Double Island Pt sometime in the holiday. I would set a rod up and sit back at the camp until it buckles over, are these jewfish hangouts. Double island Pt would be probably be a guaranteed, if anyone knows any information about double is. Pt i would love to hear it.

Thanks Fishinwahbee

Re: After Mulloway location

The southern end of Sunshine rocks headland around the boulders is always a good bet for a slab of silver.
    Just inside the maroochy bar at night on an incoming tide and a pretty shitty SE-NE wind works well too. They hang in the hole there working over fish being washed in. Large lures at night slow rolled just under the surface is good.
    Northern breakwall for Mooloolaba with big live mullet is good too during a good flush.

They are all around you, only way to get them is to do the hard yards and learn the tricks.

Ain't no such a thing as a secret spot for jew, they are widespread and actively feed every day.

Every deep hole you fish in near heavy structure, every good gutter that drains east with a bit of depth (and sometimes not that deep), every breakwall and most offshore reefs hold jew.
    Like everyone has said, just get out there and give it a go. I could list 40 locations I know that hold big jew at times from the north coast of NSW but it'd be useless, unless you fished them hard and for a period of time over different tides and different baits, different techniques and different moons you'd never get a look in.
    Pick a spot, somewhere comfortable that you think might hold them. Fish it for a month, and if you haven't got one, then keep fishing. Fishing for good jew is all about persistence young fella. Just be confident in your ability and you'll find the fish. Don't be disheartened and don't be scared to try different methods.

Does make sense. Thanks, use of 25lb mono for main and 30lb leader would that be ok?
    2 5/0 musted snapper hooks for mullet up to 6" long. Rod 10-12kg. Same rid for squid but with a 3/0 hook. Beach worms on a single 3/0 hook. Sinker large enough to anker bait, star anker thing on a snapper rig...... or a running sinker to a swivel than about 75cm leader which i would use or would a Paternoster be better? high tide around dawn into night, an hour either side. Low tide for the rocks. Thoughts on this please anything else i have to know.
    On low tide we will go have a crack at Yaroomba rocks. At high we will go on Yaroomba beach, this would be two different outings. I have now got a few spots thanks and are eager to try the ones mentioned after we trial my dads spots.

Thanks FW

Sorry yellow jack will get PM to you by Saturday. My dad does not like long walks which sucks because he is tired from work, the Maroochy river bar actually will be my first trial, the hole, is that on the inside of the river or bar, dont really know, would you be able to describe where the hole is from this image?

[IMG][/IMG]

Saturday looks Perfect to me, would it be great, or ok, or should i not bother.
    Weather:
    http://www.seabreeze.com.au/graphs/qld1.asp
    Found a good website regarding spots. Have any of you guys experienced fishing at the Noosa region. Off the rocks for Jew and maybe a pelagic like a mackerel, or tuna. Probably go around the fairy pools or hells gate. Out of the spots what would be my best bet for Saturday. YellowJack this would help you.
    Here is the link:
    http://www.fishingspots.net.au/sunshine-coast.htm

Fri & Sat nights are the go for the maroochy mouth less run hopefully a punching SE - E winds and should have plenty of whitewater about. Work the hole between the sand spits and seaward from the southern spit. Place a few hundred casts and slow roll large shallow lures. 20-25cm sizes are the go.

Settle down tiger, some blokes fish for 20 years and never catch a jewwie.

I can't remember how many freezing bloody nights I've spent with numb fingers and a runny nose waiting for these big silver slabs to take a perfectly presented livie. Just be assured that if you put in the time the rewards will come eventually. And just when you think you have them all sussed out they will no doubt throw a curveball that has you re-thinking your whole philosophy.

Kev

Sent you a PM

Cheers Freeeedom

Quote Originally Posted by Just_chips View Post
    Settle down tiger, some blokes fish for 20 years and never catch a jewwie.

I can't remember how many freezing bloody nights I've spent with numb fingers and a runny nose waiting for these big silver slabs to take a perfectly presented livie. Just be assured that if you put in the time the rewards will come eventually. And just when you think you have them all sussed out they will no doubt throw a curveball that has you re-thinking your whole philosophy.

Kev
    Well said Kev

Fishinwabee You appear to be a enthusiastic young fisho,Good onya,However,Great results comes from persistance and experience,something you cant buy or ask for.You have been given great advice in your last few post regarding jewies,and i myself,am still chasing that photo fish.Just keep trying and spend the hours,results will follow.the maroochy river is a great base to start,and im sure you will finally nail that big silver.

Adam

Will do, im set with all the great advice. Thanks all.

Just fish every weekend in known spots mate. Eventually you'll crack your first like I did at 16...

Then you'll find a pattern and nail a few better fish.....

Then you'll get sick of the bigger fish and start chasing nice eating size fish that are much easier to crack...(That's a 180L esky for a size bearing)

Are jew able to be released after a long fight of the beach, the large ones? Thanks for Noosa Spots PM, really helpful and i love that there is a possibility that you'll hook up with a pelagic. Nice Fish Mat, that is the dream.

You can only give it a go mate. Some fish come in almost belly up and despite long arduous attempts in the breakers to get em kicking it doesn't happen. Others you manage to get in quick and can swim off quite healthy and kicking. If you give it a good go and it doesn't swim off then you're better off knocking it on the head and having a feed.
    I find the larger fish over 25kegs come in alot easier than the 15-25kg fish. The bigger fish just seem to put on tonnes of weight and thickness and get a bit lethargic and use their weight to fight rather than their power, where as the middle sized class of fish just don't stop powering.

Double Island Point?? Does it hold jewfish, planing on going up there after xmas.