gas bottle refills

Thread: gas bottle refills

Ausfish Gold Member

gas bottle refills

i have got the wrong section, but just read junk mail, swap n go gas bottle refills for 8-5kg are $19-80 at masters.....
    cheapest i know is $25 refill camping store wondall road/ ex mitre ten, and no exchange bottle if yours is just about out of date
    Last edited by robsue; 07-12-2011 at 07:11 AM. Reason: wrong word

Re: gas bottle refills

I'm not sure where you are mate, but the camping store across the road from Masters in Morayfield (near Spotlight) does 9kg refills for $18. Smart move, as most people will look at the camping & fishing gear while they are waiting for their bottle to get refilled.

Ausfish Gold Member

From Swap and Go web site.

What sort of gas bottles does SWAP'n'GO accept for swap?
    You can swap any brand of gas bottle that is up to 9kg in size. You can swap a medium gas bottle for a large gas bottle and we even accept gas bottles that are out of date (expired test date) and cannot be refilled without re-inspection.

There are some basic requirements to swap:

The bottle must have a foot ring and protective valve collar/handle
    It must have a normal BBQ valve (POL) or camper valve installed. We do not accept cylinders with Primus valves
    Excessive dents, gouges, rust or other damages are not acceptable.

The camping store at wacol does $15.00 refills for a 9kg on a monday!

Jesus christ, that is cheap. We are getting ripped off here in Cairns, bloody cheapest you can get is $22 at BCF. Swap and go are about $30 and BBQ places are $28 for a refill.

Pazz

Ausfish Gold Member

surprising the difference between places, only time i used a swap and go at servo it was $33, few year ago
    and i thought $25 refill was cheap

I wish I was near Wacol. After my hot water service died, I replaced it with a continuous gas unit that I use 9kg bottles. Go through one a month. Keperra bcf is $23.00 refills.

Quote Originally Posted by Cheech View Post
    I wish I was near Wacol. After my hot water service died, I replaced it with a continuous gas unit that I use 9kg bottles. Go through one a month. Keperra bcf is $23.00 refills.
    That works out about the same price as a 45kg bottle.. a bit more expensive actually.
    how come you dont go with the 45kg bottle... Just wondering as i use the continuous hot water.

Lucas

I paid $35 at stratco for a gas and a new bottle

I paid $18 at rays about a month ago. At rothwell for 9kg

Quote Originally Posted by lucee81 View Post
    That works out about the same price as a 45kg bottle.. a bit more expensive actually.
    how come you dont go with the 45kg bottle... Just wondering as i use the continuous hot water.

Lucas
    I use to have the 14.5 bottles from origin when it was just my gas cooktop. On a per kg basis, their gas was about 50% dearer than filling myself. Then add the rental of the cylinders, I was paying $150.00 for about $70.00 worth of gas. With the 45 ltr bottles, rental is about double the 14.5 bottles. So will stick with the 9 kg bottles for now. As I only switched to continuous about 3 months ago, I plan on reassessing next year and if doing the monthly switch becomes a pain, I have not ruled out going back to origin and pay the extra.

I have just done the sums and will look at building a shelf to house the 9kg bottles as this works out much cheaper and im not relying on delivery days anymore. See cheech that 2 things youve taught me.

Lucas

$18 for a 9kg refill at rays rothwell. Have been using swap and goes for while.....the last three have had leaks in the shaft of the valve..ok if you are aware of it and know to only turn it on one turn....but dangerous if your not aware of it and use a couple of turns. Have gone back to my own cylinder and getting it refilled. (and the great thing is I can walk to Rays at rothwell from my place).

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by sleepygreg View Post
    $turn it on one turn....but dangerous if your not aware of it and use a couple of turns.
    Don't ever do that. They have back seating valves and the design is that the valve is either fully open or fully closed in between there is gas pressure on the spindle.

I find it sort of funny that people go to BCF and Bunnings for gas refills, there is heaps of specialist gas places that do refills for a lot less than some of those "fancy" outlets, but then, I guess we just pay for convenience, just turn up at a servo or bunnings, hand a person your old bottle and walk away with a full one at an inflated price, next time you get a swap and go, try weighing it and see how much of your 9KG you get, and also notice how they are now 8.5KG fills.