Thread: more boring crabs!

more boring crabs!

you guys must be getting sick of my reports on the crab scene though ill spill it anyway... managed to get out yesterday morning around 3am to check my sandcrab pots and have a fish for some lunch as i dont eat crabs, had to drag the girlfriend out of bed aswell because i had 8 pots, she wasnt happy. within half an hour of fishing i ended up with one nice snapper and about 3 big catties (crab bait) at 5am we went and checked the pots for 34 sandies. she wanted to have a swim at one of the local island beaches so i let her swim and i went mangrove walking for some muddies... i'd never explored this island before but it had a few nice holes that got me 3 nice muddies, all were caught in the southern end of the bay and we were back at cleveland by 9.30.... snapper with chips made by the girl friend for lunch while i cooked the crabs made my day

Re: more boring crabs!

Your right mate......that report was nothing short of boring and pointless.
    To go out in the morning and get 37 crabs, a squire and have a frolic around in the water with the missus all before smoko would have to be the biggest waste of a morning i have ever heard of.
    Gee you lead a boring life, i feel sorry for guys like you that never go out and do any fun stuff.

Wait for it ............

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    Your right mate......that report was nothing short of boring and pointless.
    To go out in the morning and get 37 crabs, a squire and have a frolic around in the water with the missus all before smoko would have to be the biggest waste of a morning i have ever heard of.
    Gee you lead a boring life, i feel sorry for guys like you that never go out and do any fun stuff.
    GOLD... one day ill lead an interesting life

Excellent catch justjack well done mate good to see plenty of crabs moving about in the bay thanks for the report.

When I get home from work in a couple of weeks I hope to be able to do the same thing for the xmas day lunch/dinner table.

Where there many jennies amongst them? my last crabbing run (over four days mainly around Green Island) turned up more jennies than bucks.
    Cheers Axl

I don't want to ask what you got up to after lunch.....something exciting like watch the telly all arvo or mow the lawns...

hahaha well because i made her get up early i had to go clothes shopping to tell her she looks good... not my idea at all

Quote Originally Posted by Axl View Post
    Where there many jennies amongst them? my last crabbing run (over four days mainly around Green Island) turned up more jennies than bucks.
    there were a few and they were all layed up with eggs which is good i found there in shallow water around 3 metres

Boooooooooooooooooring! hah hah I haven't been crabbing at all this season. Can't wait to lay a few pots in.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbosplumbing View Post
    Wait for it ............
    Nope, nothing yet..........

Yeah I know the feeling Jimbo....wait for it, some turkey condemning him for taking so many crabs, gees they are quiet!
    Nothing yet......

Flatzie

I know I'm very shocked. It sad that we are having to try to justify what we keep/kill. Never a problem for me though I never catch enough 

No mate, we don't have to justify what we keep/kill.

So long as bag limits and legal lengths are observed, there's no problem in my book.

i believe there needs to be a bag limit on sandies... but i also believe that take only what you need i have a big family and they like to eat sandies so none will ever be wasted for greed... i let more go then i keep

Wow look at all them crabs. I love crab but haven't had one in ages. Maybe I should learn how to catch them but until then you can keep catching the ones that I don't