Thread: Currumbin Bar

Currumbin Bar

Guys, has anybody used the Currumbin Bar regularly since they dredged the mouth of the creek?
    What is the best wind direction and tide for safe passage over the bar?
    Is there any wind direction & speed you would not cross this bar in?

Any assistance would be appreciated

Never enough time or days in the week to go fishing.

Re: Currumbin Bar

If the wind is blowing from the SW it will be off shore there and flatten out any swell. And im guessing the higher the tide the less breaking waves across the bar itself.
    Go to search as there was a thread about currumbin not that long ago

Hey mark.
    Mate dont take this the wrong way please.
    But the questions you have asked indicate that you dont have a great deal of knowledge with offshore boating and
    i do understand that time on the water is what builds this.
    When i first ever wanted to go offshore i rang the seaway tower and asked what wind would be the best to cross a bar and fish offshore.
    There advise was to wait for a 5-10kt day and go out,well i waited about 6mths for that forcast before it came but didnt take into consideration of the 3mtr ground swell that was running at the time yet it only blew 10kts.Well i sh*t myself that morning when i was confronted with a run out tide and 3mtr plus swell but had already committed to crossing and luckily got out safely.(just).
    So all these elements need to be taken into consideration.You need to look at the swell height,and not to be confused with sea height which is generally 10%of the wind speed.ie 15kts see's a sea to 1.5mtrs on top of the ground swell of say 1,1.5 or even 2mtrs.You can get an idea of swell height of the wave ryder boyes on coastwatch.com.
    So as for example if it was the run out tide with a easterly swell (so that will be head on to the bar as it is coming out of the east)of 1.5-2mtrs i wouldnt be crossing it.
    But if it was a sourtherly swell and say a 1mtr it wouldnt be so bad.
    Wind doesnt play a big part on safe bar crossing more the swell height,tide and direction of swell.
    We have come in over the pin bar with less then 1mtr of swell but blowing 20kts and it was crossable.
    When you do run into trouble at times is when you get wind against swell ie if the tide was going out of the part of the rainbow channel up near sth passage bar and a strong NE wind was blowing you would have all that water rushing out in the direction the wind is blowing making the waves or chop to stand up and become ruff.
    I hope you understand all of what i have tried to explain.It would be easier to explain in person or on the water.
    And i hope i havent confused you or affended you Matt.I could be telling you something you already know.Dont hesitate to ask mate.
    OUTWIDE MICK.

Hey Mark
    Are you looking to use Currumbin bar to get out to Palm Beach Reef to chase the mackerel? if so what size boat do you have as I think this bar is still shallow at low tide. Below is a link to the camera on the bar, its not the same as being there but it will give you an idea. If it was me I would use the Seaway its only 17km run down to Palmy
    http://www.coastalwatch.com/camera/c...Name=Currumbin

Thanks guys for the response and helpful info
    I was actually asking this question for a work colleague of mine who will be going down the Goldie and hopefully get some fishing in but didn't want to travel all the way up to the seaway
    Outwide Mick- no problems at all
    I personally don't cross a bar and if i was going to, i'd be talking to the VMR/Coast Guard for that area and if i was going to be doing it on a regualr occurrence, i'd be booking in to do the course with Bill Corten.
    My Dad had a major boating accident was he was a bit younger than what i am now and lost 2 of his mates through no fault of his...i certainly don't want to be in that predicament.
    I'll pass the info on and know he'll be talking to some locals and the local marine rescue

Sorry Seastorm didn't respond to your questions

My mate has a 5.5m glass centre console
    He wants to go after the mackerel etc at Palm Beach Reef whilst he's down there
    I'll pass the link onto him

G'day Mark

This would be my suggestions. You did not say when he is coming - so no secrets here.

The bar is very shallow just now . Hard to say what it will be like in the future . The warm water has still not pushed right in close on the coast here yet .Tell him to count how many boats are on Palmy / Mermaid. Unless there is heaps it's not a good sign . See how many trailers in the ramp carpark . If not many there but lots of boats visible then most have come up from Tweed or down form the Seaway because the bar is no good.

If he decides to use the bar then go down very early when some may be crossing and use the intercom to get upstairs at the VMR tower . You will soon see the best way across watching other boats if any are using it .