Thread: 4/0 Circle Hook nails a big Spaniard

4/0 Circle Hook nails a big Spaniard

Fishing on hols inside Fraser Is this morning and had already lost a big mack on a pillie floated out, then I was dropping a squid bait to the bottom on my 6-10 Kilo dropshot only loaded with 20lb line , with a 20lb Vanish leader, when this Spaniard nailed it less than 3 metres under the boat and first run spooled right out to about 2 meters left on the reel.
    Finally fought it back and after a long fight gaffed it and landed this 140cm Mack at least 20kg i estimated, but couldn't believe I wasn't bitten off, until I found the 4/0 circle hook neatly pinned right in the corner of the mouth!
    Cant question the uncanny ability of this design to end up there time and time again. Its amazing! Oh shame about ciguatera....dang, but the experience was more than worth it!
    Flatzie
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mack1.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	100.4 KB 
ID:	74168   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mack2.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	72.1 KB 
ID:	74169   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mack3.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	71.8 KB 
ID:	74170  

Re: 4/0 Circle Hook nails a big Spaniard

Nice work mate, killer effort. Tight lines - mossy

Fantastic mate. Why shame about ciguatera? My partner had ciguatera when she spent some time in Noumea, should she forever avoid mackeral?

NIce fish mate but if you are concerned about ciguatera did you just kill it for the photo?
    Personally I wouldnt be concerned about a 20kg spanish- even though ciguatera can occur in much smaller specimens, however if I was that worried that I wasnt going to eat the fish I would have tried to release it which shouldnt have been difficult with a single hook in the side of the jaw.

Yeah was waiting for that comment!
    2 things....Hervey bay waters are known for a high rate of Cig in big mackeral...its not worth the risk, and I have reef filets as well.
    Second, as I caught it on light line, (if you read my story) it was practically dead when I finally got it boatside.
    I dont kill fish for the sake of it, and if I threw it back dead it would have been shark food anyway, they were everywhere around the wreck, so at least I got some great pics from a 20 min fight and such a great fish. The fish will be used for bait and berley.
    Flatzie

I read it ok Flazie, a 20kg mack on 10kg line is generally not a long fight- 20min is above average unless you dont really fish the line as 10kg. However I do know they can be hard buggers to release. I have no issues with keeping fish or taking them for bait if they are stuffed- if it happens then no point wasting it i agree.
    Glad you enjoyed it and shared your experience, thought it was worth asking because nothing pisses me off more than someone who feels the need to kill a fish and throw it away to stroke their own ego. Glad to hear it wasnt the case here.

Ripper spanno, mate.

Are you talking the washing machines out from Wathumba? You can get some decent fish around that way. I remember having a huge wahoo come up to the back of the boat along the drop up towards Rooney's Pt.

The water must be good quality there, atm.

Great fish.

Cuzza

Mate now thats worth braggin about !

Good work on your trophy fish there mate

Hi Cuzza no it was at the Rufus Artificial's over by Big Woody. Lot of huge GTs there at the moment, one of them straightened out some 5/0 gang hooks today as well, they were lethal taking fish off me right on the surface beside the boat a few days ago,really big fish! Another Mako shark cleared the water twice after I hooked it up on 80lb braid on a livey, Probably about 8ft long...it was all over pretty soon after that!, bitten through.

Good to get your "clearance" Camhawk, seems you know all there is to know about Spaniards, and presuming fish are wasted isn't much chop when you're not in the boat, that's pretty annoying as well, and anyone who catches fish knows fish fights can vary hugely.If you know you have a 20lb leader, no steel trace, and a small 4/0 hook, you are not going to slam the fish hard.

Cuzza the water really flys thru there on most tides, so fishing that area successfully you need to plan to be there around the turn on either high or low
    Flatzie

FWIW, my favourite rig for spotties is the same as my snapper rig, but without the pea-sized sinker on the hook. 8/0 circle, large tailor fillet. Reckon I only lose 1 in 4, at the very worst. Good gear those circles!
    Awesome fish flatzie, you'll long remember that capture I reckon! Bu##er about the cig, but certainly too risky.
    Cheers!

nice fish flatzie i was wondering how the fishing was going up there good to see

shane

Hi Shane
    Yes its been a bit slow with big tides and strong northerlies, finally got a calm morning with more easterly winds which apparently the fish up here like more than the northerlies.
    Some pretty big animals round these wrecks!
    See you soon
    Barry

Very nice fish, Pity about the CIG. macks, from Hervey bay are like a lucky dip, size is only a vague guideline.

Now you got me thinking should I do a maint. on the little boat and drag it up the after new year.
    Humility is not a weather condition.