Thread: I went shopping and I bought.......

I went shopping and I bought.......

G'Day Ausfishers,

I am heading home soon after living in the USA for the last year and the minister for war and finance kindly loosened the purse strings and allowed me to purchase $500 worth of gear. A mate at work happened to have 5 X 20% off coupons for me so I ended up with $600 of stuff.

I am so chuffed I just have to share. I have strolled around the local tackle shop here for months speculating on what I was gonna get. I had to get a rod transporter to get my 4 rods home I bought since I got here (ssshhhhhh dont tell the bomb thrower) but the rest was for fun!!!

Here is the list of gear I got and a couple of pics.

1 X Bazuka 8ft 6in rod transporter
    1 X Ranger Eco net
    1 X Penn Spinfisher 550SSG reel loaded up with 30lb Proline Braid
    1 X Pflueger Supreme 8030MG Reel loaded up with 6lb Suffix Braid
    1 X Koppers Live Target Lure
    1 X Rat-L-Trap lure
    1 X Rappala shallow runner SSR-5
    1 X Rappala floating jointed
    1 X Rappala SSR-7
    2 X Strike King red eye Shad 3/4oz (had a lot of success over here with these in the fresh. Reckon they will go well in the salt back home)
    1 X Brown eye Shad 3/4oz
    1 X Matzuo nano crank
    1 X Matzuo swagger shad
    3 X Rebel Poppers
    4 X Blue Fox slugs
    1 X 250 yds P-Line Flourocarbon 20lb line
    1 X 500 yds Pro Line 10lb braid
    1 X Scotty rod holder
    1 X Rapala 7&1/2 in filleting knife (Chrissy pressy for the old man)
    1 X Buck 7&1/2 in filleting knife
    2 X Trigger hook removers
    3 X Berkley soft placcys
    3 X Zoom fluke soft placcys
    3 X darter type 1/8oz jig heads
    2 X G-Lock weighted hooks
    2 x stainless steel line clippers
    4 x packs of split shot
    2 X packs of beads
    1 X Eyeball Shiner jigs 1/4oz
    1 X 25in tube jigs

Now I know I am skitin' and deserve someone telling me to pull me head in but....... maaate I had a ball today. 3hrs spending $600 USD in a tackle shop! Priceless. (I checked some prices back home at a certain big outlet and reckon I have over a grands worth of stuff easy, so very chuffed indeed)

Cant wait to get home and use it! Gonna take some on the plane with me and stick the rest in the shipping container.

DSC_0106.jpgDSC_0105.jpgDSC_0107.jpgDSC_0104.jpg

Re: I went shopping and I bought.......

Mate, that sounds like a good haul. I word of advice. Check very carefully as to what you can carry onto the plane with you. Some don't allow fishing line or hooks or .... I lost a part roll of braid at airport security after it was found in the carry on luggage. Same roll made it one way but not return?

Just make sure it all goes in your check in luggage and all should be sweet.

maaate. talk about kid in a lolly shop lol. way to go. gotta luv uncle sam. hope it catches you a s@#tload.
    davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Those Bazookas are great. I did a trip round Australia for 11 months with one strapped to the front of my caravan, I carried 7 rods in it.

Cheers fellas. Yeah its going into checked baggage.

Hahaha,,, love it. Once did a similar thing. Unreal feeling. The best bit is when you get here you will get the feeling all over again when you unpack it all...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Looks like a good haul there mate you've done well....being the good Ausfish member you are and in the spirit of the forum and Christmas it would only be fair that you give it all to Steve to put it up as the next competition/raffle.

To not do this may be seen by some members (maybe like myself for instance) as act of selfishness and is in total contradiction to everyone's beliefs for this time of year......yes....the time of giving.

So be a good lad, get in to the Christmas spirit and share your haul with the Ausfish community.......we've all been good boys haven't we?

If not we'll hate you forever and never talk to you again it's your call.....I'm not jealous or anything it's entirely your call.