Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: new pb snap for me!!!!

new pb snap for me!!!!

hi all, following thursdays happy day out, i met up with mossy (and coodgee) at mud this morn to pick up some of barry's jigheads. got up about 5 and made mud at 6. fished the ne side for a while for nothing but grinners and as the wind was picking up made for the sw corner where i ran into mossy and had a chinwag and collected my jigs. mossy also gave me some squidgie pro wrigglers which he didn't want and i love. went for a drift along the banks on the southern end of the island and half hour into it came up with a 60cm flathead. repeated the drift another couple of times as i had a couple of knocks along the way. suddenly line peels off at a rapid rate and i'm on tight. 10 minutes of pump and wind saw my best yet on the deck - 88cm and 6.7kg. that also makes for 4 consecutive successful trips to mud. happy day. (also caught it on mossy's pro wriggler - i think he wants them back!)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image0119.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	98.4 KB 
ID:	73851Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image0118.jpg 
Size:	95.6 KB 
ID:	73852

davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Re: new pb snap for me!!!!

That's a great snapper!

Wow, that's a stonker!! Well done Davo! What size and colour wrigglers?

Its ok Davo just happy to help mate, kinda guy I am ... Hahaha I think the bruise is starting to come out from kicking myself all the way home, LoL That was a good fish and it was pretty exciting watching you battle the thing on the light gear. We drifted that edge a few times for nothing much but a small squire or 2.

Old mate Coodgee was happy with the flatty for a feed, thanks for that! Still say you owe me after that snapper :-) next time I am jumping on board your tinny.

Great fish Davo and happy to see it come into your boat. Catch up soon & tight lines - MoSsy

good one mate you've done well.

malby. funny you mention that. never even looked at the color names on the squidgies. could rattle off 90% of the gulps but not squidgies. mossy gave me a pack of 130mm with 2 types in pack. pack said "slimey" but there were green ones and bronze/white ones. i caught on the latter.
    newsflash: if the photo looks short it is. i measured from end of sticker instead of 0 cm. did lose a cm on the way home tho. tail got a little sunburnt poking out the esky lid. and while i'm fessing, typo, weight was 6.67 not 6.7.
    mossy - sorry mate, didn't mean it, and yes i owe you. will 2 packs of squidgies suffice?

Congrats! you are on FIRE! sensational Snapper! well done.

Congratulations thats a quality bay snap.

Glenn

Hi netmaker thats a horse of a fish, bet the runs were awsome, i was out at mud at 5am for the first time in 2 years and thought the north side would be crowded but i was first boat there, first cast saw me hook up to a 50cm snap, went a bit quite after that lol but then managed a 60cm and a 45 cm snap to go with it further south on west side, would post a photo but cant find my camera cord for the puter, was that you closer to island in white boat?, i took mine on 3kg berkley nanofill, 16lb leader and a 3 inch atomic prong, my favourite plastic, was good to hear the drag screaming again after a long absense from chasing snapper..

hey alleycat, your much more the sportsman than me mate. i'm an eater. what mossy calls my light gear is 20lb leader on 20lb bionic braid. he's really referring to the hardware which is a 2-4kg rod and abu c222. i like the lighter rod to get more action in the lure. those bigger fish sure put a lot of bend in it tho and drag setting is vital to keep the rod in 1 piece! i was fishing pretty close to the most western south cardinal marker. dont know if it was me you saw. mossy and i were the only boats not anchored on the southern end. hadn't fished that spot before, but i reckon it warrants another visit. well done on a good feed yourself. thats brilliant hooking up first cast.
    davo

Dave that is an awesome catch...

Nice work Davo. You are certainly dialed in at Mud. Congrats mate 4 out 4 sessions nice feeling
    Tanglefoot

I think the smile is nearly as big as the snapper
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	329899_2671443785837_1248399383_3083595_1805891188_o.jpg 
Size:	51.3 KB 
ID:	73868  

I keep spening time getting to learn how to catch fish offshore, and you are doing well in areas that look like some of my favourite spots around Mud. Well done Davo that might take a while to better a fish like that, for 99% of people that is a "fish of a lifetime"

Dave,

Congratulations- great fish. We have been giving Mud a go over the last couple weekends ( mainly SP s)- been full on with the undersize stuff and the ones thats near spool us,bite offs, bust ups, snapped hooks - they must be related to your beast. Congrats.
    Lew