more mud snaps

Thread: more mud snaps

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

more mud snaps

hi all, left wello about 3.30 this morn for another mud adventure. pressure was on as the neighbour hit me up for a fish by friday. only told me monday and i worked tuesday and wednesday. anyway, arrived after dawn on the north east side and drowned some banana prawns and pillies for the grand prize of 37cm of squire after some 2 and 1/2 hours. good fish for the neighbours i reckon but a couple more would be handy. up anchored and started on the plastics. about 8 i got a good hit that put a 75cm fish on board (4" gulp banana prawn). thats better but way too good for the neighbours. met up with a mate for a chinwag and light refreshment and then i decided to hit the north western side as the eastern side had a few boats moving around by now and i couldn't raise a bite anymore, except for a metre+ black tip shark which i saw smash my plastic about 6 feet away. only the second shark i have caught on plastic. anyway got to the nw side to find that there was not a single boat in sight (mind you i am short sighted and blind as a bat - if i dont return your wave its cause i cant see ya!). set up a drift and waited half hour to get a good hit that added a 58cm fish to the box (squidgie 130mm pro wriggler). yee ha - thats got the neighbour sorted and i only have to fillet one. gave it another half hour before packing it in. besides, i'll be back there saturday morning. only bummer for the day was i lost the best snap when the braid parted at a weak point. gotta stop buying that cheap ebay crap.
    Attachment 73727Attachment 73728Attachment 73729the last 2 pics show the bite power of a 75cm snap. note the plastics barb has been totally crushed. i wonder if barry accepts trade ins? . i have a couple like this now. they are great jig heads. mossy is collecting some more for me today.
    davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Re: more mud snaps

sorry, heres the pics:Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image0114.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	93.6 KB 
ID:	73733Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image0115.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	88.6 KB 
ID:	73734Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image0116.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	96.1 KB 
ID:	73735

nice going davo some quality snaps mate. lol those jig heads look like they've been working well.
    its been to far between fishn trips for me, i may have forgotten how to hold my rod, rephrase-"catch a fish'. lol. im thinking next weekend and with a bit of luck the winds will have shifted anywere but n.

between now n "xmass" i will give you an "OIIII" for a trip up this way mate in the hope of a big 1 or just somthing different, sht i hope the fish are biting that day.

jp

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Dave' dave' dave how do you do it mate. How do you go on dusk or is it only good there on dawn as i get nothing there dusk. Work is wearing me out to much to get out mid week and the last few weekends are booked and now i am getting toey for a snap. Well done and a good feed there for both you and your neigbour. DD.....

Ausfish Platinum Member - R.I.P. October 2015 dayoo's Avatar

Davo,

Don't throw the mangled jigheads away if the hooks are OK. Bring them to me at the Boaties market at Vicky Point next March and trade them in on new ones

Barry

jason - look forward to it mate. the fuel is on me tho.
    dave - what can i say? last 3 visits to mud have caught fish from 62 - 75. the only dusk trip i have done there was june 5 - that was the 83cm. been getting the bigger models on plastics generally mid morning and bait an hour before and after sunup.
    barry - was only joking about trade-ins mate. any fish that mangles those jigs is worth the measly amount you charge and then some. those hooks are strong as too mate. luv em, but more importantly so do the snaps. they have accounted for some good fish since the boaties market.

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar

hahaha davo, well done mate as usual, lucky you did buy the bigger esky :-p I loved the call this morning all I could think about was going home with an illness and throwing in the boat. Another quality fish mate, I reckon your fish numbers on plastics have improved since the i-pilot would you say? it is on the list for me after a chartplotter hehehe.
    Oh got your big eye's off barry for you will catch you on saturday, hopefully you can bring me abit of luck.
    cheers & tight lines - MoSsy

hey mossy, the i pilot is paying for itself buddy. its great. thanks for grabbing those jigheads mate. will catch up with you in the morn and hopefully luck for both of us.

At it again I see Davo. Well done. I must say all your talk about these jig heads has got me interested.