Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: SEQ Tangalooma Meet and Greet Report

SEQ Tangalooma Meet and Greet Report

The post was up, the weather was awesome and I had heaps of snags, all I needed is the people turn up ...... and turn up they did !!!! Tim (BurleyGU) and Allana and Damo (Black Rat) and co arrived Thursday and commenced sending me pictures of the beach and the beautiful water, they managed to secure a spot in front of the wrecks. Text messages started coming through and I couldnt wait any longer, boat packed wife in the boat and we were off Friday afternoon. Arrived after a drenching run accross the bay to a set up marquis and tarp...WELL DONE FELLAS!!!
    The Saturday started off with no wind and a perfet time for a fish and a snorkel. Everyone had turned up at 12.30 ish and we had a good group of 30-35 ready to mingle.
    The gathering lasted well into the night with a lot of sore heads in the morning. I had to look after my pregnant wife so we went to bed at reasonable hours, saving me from the pain Lucky Phil was in!!!

Thank you to everyone involved it was great to put new faces to names and also run into people I already knew. A few memorable moments from the meet..
    • Luck Phills fireworks....well sparklers and a rubber band!!
    • Lucee (Luke) and his firey chilly sauce, homemade and nearly killed a few of us
    • Fishfeeder (Brett) for providing the onion...legend mate...btw my hands still smell like onion after shaking yours!!
    • The Deckie (Paul) for his outstanding baseball pitch with a tennisball.....
    • Lucee(luke) again as I just felt the burn again from the chilli whilst visiting the mens
    • Tropicrows (Bruce) setting off this morning and kindly cleaning my anchor rope with his outboard
    • The poor bugger who bogged his 4x4 10 metres from our set up and had everyone on the beach offering advice before The Deckie pulled him out with his Colorado.
    • Most importantly...my wife Leah, coming across the bay to a promised paradise, covered in sea spray with snot running out of her nose making the hand rails in the boat slippery. It was dark, windy and wet and she is 6 months pregnant. She later told me she had been calculating the distance she would have to swim as we headed across. I must point out it wasn’t dangerous just windy and wet because I forgot the clears and she doesnt travel in the boat at night J.
    • Thanks to Mick and Fiona for remembering their camera, I saw you taking heaps of pics please post some up.

Top effort everyone, as I mentioned on the day I am absolutely hopeless remembering things like names and cameras. So to my team I spent the weekend with, please post any pics you have as only have one and thanks for another Great Weekend!!!
    Marty
    Captain Seaweed
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 13-11-2011 at 07:36 PM.
    Living the dream, Barry

Re: SEQ Tangalooma Meet and Greet

Thanks for the effort Marty.

Great to meet new faces and also GF's, Wives etc of folks there... oh and kids

Thought I might post up some pics and you can work things out ?

thedeckie into a thong...... WTF ?

Bruce and Alli.......... must be something in the rum ?

The view..

thedeckie... looking for .. ? dunno... maybe lunch !

The Day Camp.

The victim............ ?

Black_Rat on the tools

some of the gang feeding their faces

more

coming over for a chat..

thedeckie... not drinking on the barge...

ferets

I have some more and may post them up later.

cheers Phill

OK.

Fun and games..

surveying the situation

ferets.

chillin

Dave... being amused.

Drumbeat buzzing the barge

Some of the gals. ( Ladies )

LP

What we needed was a pick of your face Phill after the chilly banger on bread

Retired Honda Master Tech

ha ha ha I can still see it too Gary!!! I could still recite the words as the heat went up and up and up ....but we are g rated..I remember Luke saying" I thought you said you like chilli"

Marty
    Living the dream, Barry

Thats not black rat in those photos, he does not have a bundy can in his hand.

Spewing I could not make it. Nearly had the rag boat ready, only needed one more fitting for the keel hydraulics. Needed a M12 1.25 to 3/8 BSP adaptor and I was there. Next time I will take the ever reliable polycraft/yamaha combo, although would have made for a wet trip home this afternoon.

just had Tim and Allana drop oem gear back and they said it was very ordinary on the barge. Spewing you couldnt make it Andy but there is always next time!
    Living the dream, Barry

Well it sound's like i missed a ball tearer weekend.
    There's not many M&G's i miss but SH1t happens and i missed this one.
    Maybe we should put Marty in charge of organising more M&G with the perfect weather he scammed for this weekend.

Cheers Dazza

" ordinary on the barge"........ you want ordinary......

should have tried the food at the Resort cafe '. Ask Allana about the gravy & chips.

I managed a snooze out back on the return trip in the barge.... all good.

LP

Re: SEQ Tangalooma Meet and Greet Report

fellas, that was a freakin great do. had a total ball. stoked to meet so many ausfishers. it was a great turn out. many thanks to marty, phil, damo and tim for organising marquees, bbqs, tucker and just for being damn good drinking company. thanks also to cheech for providing "joy", luke for his very tasty and extremely entertaining chili and jason for putting on a slab for the general population. very generous blokes. great bunch to be among and i look forward to the next m and g. do you know when that one is marty?

davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    Thats not black rat in those photos, he does not have a bundy can in his hand.
    lol the big fella got into his bundy latter on in the night, this should put it in perspective for you andy it was a bloody good night hey rat .

jp
    Attached Images Attached Images

"Buzzing the barge" is drawing a long bow Phill. We were at least 50M behind it & it was unloading.

Thanks to everybody who organised the M&G ...................... should be held more often.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Phill throws a lure and gets another strike.

That was set early, but in the end................ bazinger !!!!!

LP

thats a great pic jason. just wait till ideas gets his pics up. b4 i crashed last night (sorry this morn - just b4 dawn) i tried to warm the rat up a little. put a neck warmer on him and whatever spare clothes i had laying around in my warmy bag. phils beanbag over his legs and marquee covers to keep the dew off him. finished off by wrapping him in the ausfish banner. he looked quite the pin up. thanks for the wake up with the bacon and egg burger too. reckon if i'd slept much later i could have been staying for a few days longer. hate to think what my BAC would have been tho
    davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Thanks for the great weekend guys.

It was priceless watching phill hooking into lukes special chilli sauce knowing what was about to happen to him. Then to see his nose running and tears rolling down his face he sure was in a world of hurt.

It was great to catch up with everyone. It was fantastic to watch my boys swimming and playing on the beach with their new junior Ausfish friends.

Thanks to Marty, Damo & Tim for putting it all together.

Cheers Bull