Thread: Washpool Reserve camping area Lesley Dam: How can it be improved??

Question Washpool Reserve camping area Lesley Dam: How can your experience be improved??

Hello all.
    Those of you who have camped at the Washpool Reserve at Lesley dam a question for you.
    How can your camping experience be improved and what did you like and NOT like about your camping experience.
    Be truthful please.
    I'm not sure of the pro's and con's as I live fairly close by and I've never camped there

Thanks Scott
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Re: Washpool Reserve camping area Lesley Dam: How can it be improved??

My only complaint is we can't take our dog.

My only complain is the knobs in ski boats that spend all day buzzing the ramps and shoreline. They have the whole dam to use yet continue to be idiots near the shore. I am pretty sure there is a speed restriction near the ramps and the dam wall.

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    My only complain is the knobs in ski boats that spend all day buzzing the ramps and shoreline. They have the whole dam to use yet continue to be idiots near the shore. I am pretty sure there is a speed restriction near the ramps and the dam wall.
    Good luck with getting that situation altered .
    Shawn

X 2 for not being a dog friendly camp. I ring them around 3 times a year and get the same response, we are trying to get the council to let dogs in but not as yet. Bloody hell this has been going on for 5 years. We would go 1 or 2 times a month if we could bring darlings very spoilt pooch, 1.25 hr drive for us through the back way. Anyway I will keep pestering the guy.
    PS scot your PM box is full so I will post it here.......Hi Scott, unusual line of questioning for you seing as you live so close. The lease hasn't come up at the washpool camp ground has it?lol
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Thanks so much for the feedback fella's.
    I know the ski-boat problem is a problem and there are definite rules that apply to them where they can and cannot go to ski.
    Personally I'd like to see a speed limit brought in in the the upper reaches as some of the 'fishoes' are dead set idiots too. I think they think they're a in bream tournament or something crazy like that.
    As for the dogs. That may be a tall order because the reserve is owned by the council and councils been what they are and insurance it may not be possible to allow dogs especially when everyone is there at Easter and Christmas with their 'piggers'. Imagine the chaos.

How do you fella's find the amenities and layout of the place?

Thanks then

How about the knobs that bob around out in the middle in their rag boats when there is no wind, and the knobs on the jet ski's who spend all day roaring around never looking where they are going because they are always looking at the bank to see who is watching them. Or the fisho's in their dodgy 8" tinnies 2 big blokes esky full of cans and a 1956 model 5 HP motor. It depends which group you fit into, there is room for everyone.

Quote Originally Posted by griz066 View Post
    Hi Scott, unusual line of questioning for you seing as you live so close. The lease hasn't come up at the washpool camp ground has it?lol
    What do you think I am?? An idiot?? Fancy wanting to run anything where people are concerned. Have you ever thought about the toilets those people usually don't quite crap into and who'd clean them?? I have enough trouble cleaning my own skid marks off the dunny let alone wanting to clean somebody else's. And when would I be able to talk to all the old codgers down town and at the weekly Calf and Pig sale?? The bloke who has the contract can keep it I reckon.

Wasn't that contract renewed a little while ago thinking about it??..... And don't forget I hate people. Just the thought of looking after people makes me want to dig a HUGE hole and bury them in it.

Some nicer people I know from other areas (ie down Lismore way and from Brisbane) have commented to me about the place and how it could be a place like Glenlyon....but isn't. I am very curious as to know why it isn't thinking about it a bit. I might have to ring them and ask.

The only time I really see people there is during Easter, Christmas and a few long week-ends. The rest of the time there maybe 4 or 5 camp sites set up by what I can see (or was it I haven't taken close attention??). Personally I have no idea of the area as I always launch down near the wall end and fish either end of the dam or opposite the reserve. I think I've driven through the reserve twice since 1992 when I moved to Warwick and both those time were in 1992 I reckon. But that's always the way isn't it. Locals not having a clue at what's in their backyard.

I made a couple of calls today and the dog thing is never going to happen. End of story I'm afraid Griz. But Scotty's dog motel is in town. What's another pooch or two for tea (Feeding them that is. Not eating them)

The mad boatie problem is in the domain of Sunwater.
    I'll see if I can dig up something from Sunwater in the next couple of weeks. Again, I think it's a week-end thing and public holiday thing like it is in Brisbane.
    I am rarely on the water during those times. But when-ever I have been on the dam in peak periods I know I've been 'aggravated' at some stage during those few trips. Those 'aggravations' really annoyed me as I'm only ever there for a couple of hours at dawn and dusk. I'm never there in the middle of the day. I hate people/crowds remember.
    The sooner that problem is sorted the better it will be for all sectors that use the dam. That's the fisherpeople, the skiers, the sailors, a few Murray Greys, a heap of Skip-skips and the millions of bloody turtles, who seem to be the only buggers eating my shrimps .

Quote Originally Posted by griz066 View Post
    How about the fisho's in their dodgy 8" tinnies 2 big blokes esky full of cans and a 1956 model 5 HP motor. It depends which group you fit into, there is room for everyone.
    Woohoo. I'm nearly there. I got hold of a 1967 3hp Johnson today. A 3hp Johnson JW-22-S. What a beasty .
    I didn't want the 5hp. You have to register the 5 hp.
    If I wanted to register yet another boat I'd shove the 43 and 2/3rd hp Royal Scott onto something.
    All I need now is a leaky bond wood boat and a set of oars and I'm set to go. I've already got the terry towelling hat and the hand-line wrapped around the glass Fanta bottle.
    I'll pass on the esky full of cans unless they're cans of baked beans or stew for in the winter months. Do esky's keep stuff hot if you put a hot-water bottle in instead of ice bricks??

There is no room for idiots doing 50knots within 10m of the ramp, or as I experience last weekend, doing high speed donuts on a jet ski when I was trying to drive my boat on the trailer. There was a guy fishing at the ramp, how he stopped himself punching the shit out of said jetski knob is beyond me.

At one stage, I was in a rag boat when a jet ski with a wake boarder in tow decided to flick his skier out. All I saw was the ski rope coming toward me, jetski one side of the boat, wakeboarder otherside. Lucky for us the guy on the wakeboard let go and put himself into the drink.

I dont have an issue with people using it, I just have an issue with the idiots who have no respect for other users. Its only a matter of time before someone gets killed on that dam.

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    What do you think I am?? An idiot?? Fancy wanting to run anything where people are concerned. Have you ever thought about the toilets those people usually don't quite crap into and who'd clean them?? I have enough trouble cleaning my own skid marks off the dunny let alone wanting to clean somebody else's. And when would I be able to talk to all the old codgers down town and at the weekly Calf and Pig sale?? The bloke who has the contract can keep it I reckon.

Wasn't that contract renewed a little while ago thinking about it??..... And don't forget I hate people. Just the thought of looking after people makes me want to dig a HUGE hole and bury them in it.

Some nicer people I know from other areas (ie down Lismore way and from Brisbane) have commented to me about the place and how it could be a place like Glenlyon....but isn't. I am very curious as to know why it isn't thinking about it a bit. I might have to ring them and ask.

The only time I really see people there is during Easter, Christmas and a few long week-ends. The rest of the time there maybe 4 or 5 camp sites set up by what I can see (or was it I haven't taken close attention??). Personally I have no idea of the area as I always launch down near the wall end and fish either end of the dam or opposite the reserve. I think I've driven through the reserve twice since 1992 when I moved to Warwick and both those time were in 1992 I reckon. But that's always the way isn't it. Locals not having a clue at what's in their backyard.

I made a couple of calls today and the dog thing is never going to happen. End of story I'm afraid Griz. But Scotty's dog motel is in town. What's another pooch or two for tea (Feeding them that is. Not eating them)

The mad boatie problem is in the domain of Sunwater.
    I'll see if I can dig up something from Sunwater in the next couple of weeks. Again, I think it's a week-end thing and public holiday thing like it is in Brisbane.
    I am rarely on the water during those times. But when-ever I have been on the dam in peak periods I know I've been 'aggravated' at some stage during those few trips. Those 'aggravations' really annoyed me as I'm only ever there for a couple of hours at dawn and dusk. I'm never there in the middle of the day. I hate people/crowds remember.
    The sooner that problem is sorted the better it will be for all sectors that use the dam. That's the fisherpeople, the skiers, the sailors, a few Murray Greys, a heap of Skip-skips and the millions of bloody turtles, who seem to be the only buggers eating my shrimps .

I'd be keen to hear some info on Glenlyon and whether it is good or not... Do you have to stay at the park or can you camp on the waters edge?
    I have heard the bloke that runs the park can be a cranky bugger. I have also heard he's a good bloke. Suppose I should go down and test the waters myself.

As for Lesley, I have never camped there but the day use area is more user freindly than some dams I have been to.

PS.. Finga I have got a 1966 (I think) two and a half ponypower Evinrude two cylender. Let me know if you can use it. The oldman bought it on his honeymoon... He's still got the oldgirl and Iv'e got the evinrude. It needs a good freind like you.

Quote Originally Posted by wamjam View Post
    I have heard the bloke that runs the park can be a cranky bugger. I have also heard he's a good bloke. Suppose I should go down and test the waters myself. Brian Dare was the bloke I dealt with and found him to be helpful and a good bloke.

As for Lesley, I have never camped there but the day use area is more user freindly than some dams I have been to.

PS.. Finga I have got a 1966 (I think) two and a half ponypower Evinrude two cylender. Let me know if you can use it. The oldman bought it on his honeymoon... He's still got the oldgirl and Iv'e got the evinrude. It needs a good freind like you.
    Do you have to stay at the park or can you camp on the waters edge? It has been a few years since I was there but we had to camp in the camp area which was a short drive to the dam.Brian Dare was the bloke I dealt with and found him to be helpful and a good bloke.

Quote Originally Posted by wamjam View Post
    Finga I have got a 1966 (I think) two and a half ponypower Evinrude two cylender. Let me know if you can use it. The oldman bought it on his honeymoon... He's still got the oldgirl and Iv'e got the evinrude. It needs a good freind like you.
    Your thinking fool and not friend aren't you
    And absolutely. If it's a 2.5 then it's a lot older then that. A 3hp fits the year better.
    http://www.marineengine.com/manuals/evinrude/#e3hp
    Imagine how small the pistons are for a 2.5hp TWIN. Do they use pistons or cotton buds??

[QUOTE=TheRealAndy;1327616]There is no room for idiots doing 50knots within 10m of the ramp, or as I experience last weekend, doing high speed donuts on a jet ski when I was trying to drive my boat on thepunching the shit out of said jetski knob is beyond me.QUOTE]
    Agree'd and they should be dealt with by the powers that be. All I was saying is that this happens on every dam I have been to and it depends which group you are in as to who pisses you off. For example at Boondooma one year there were about 10 ski boats mine included all skiing from the one spot without any trouble, all going the same way all the kids having a ball. Old mate comes along in the arvo in his tinnie and sits right in the drop off point to have a fish??????? Now I am a keen fisho as well but I would not sit there to have a fish, imho he was just doing it to be a knob and deserves all he gets.
    Sorry to hijack your thread Scott.

One of the best things about it is the restriction on dogs. I'm sick of the fools who want to tell me that their little pooch is well behaved and, of course, I pick up the little treasure's fecal gifts to take home. The reality is that dogs would be left to roam and leave little barker's nests everywhere. OK, it's a pet hate of mine but I'm yet to meet a responsible dog owner near a fishing opportunity.

But back on topic, I fish there a few times a year and camp overnight most times. Apart from a few ferals occasionally, the place is great. More facilities would likely increase its profile and bring in more people and spoil what is basically, a good thing.

I have been going there since before the toilets were built. Met one old bloke who camped out there for three months of the year and left Mum in town. He told me he had no need for toilets, he would just shit in a plastic shopping bag every morning, add a stone or two, tie the top and dispose over the side out in the middle when he went out for his morning session. Some strange people you meet sometimes.

Chaz