Thread: plastic and hard body retrives- need some advice

Cool plastic and hard body retrives- need some advice

so far with plastics i have been using a tripple and double hop and with hard boadies i have been doing a little flick to get the lure swiming.

does anyone have any advice about how i should retrieve my lures (and what retrieves work best for cirtain species of estuary fish)

thanks - grinny

Re: plastic and hard body retrives- need some advice

Mate would have to say that for me I always try to mix things up, try a pause here n there that's what always seems to work for me. I also try to think about where in the water column the fish may be feeding as to lure choice / jig size etc. I fish mainly soft plastics and depending on what water depth I try to go as light as I can current depending. I often try the slow roll with a few twitches a pause... couple flicks but just change things up and keep looking for what works where. I have caught fish from flatty's which love it when you hop along the bottom to some fish like a tailor/trev that will take it on a fast roll. Some of the bream I found working off pylons liked it to drop, slow roll a few twitch.. pause then they would smash it running back to the cover. Just to give you a few examples of variety for different fish.
    best of luck, tight lines - mossy

thanks heaps

Mate whatever we are doing is best, we would be doing far better that others or just as good, mate we average 3 jewies each time we go out, nothing rong with that. Like we have been trialing just slow down your retrieve as the jewies are not in season and use a shad amounst the snags for jack as they do alot of the action with there tails.

Fishinwahbee

Hey guys.

What the hell is a 'slow roll', and how do you perform it ??

I've read it and heard it so many times, but never with an explanation of what it involves, so I still don't know what it means.

Is it just retrieving line slowly and steadily, or is there some 'action' imparted somehow?

Thanks & Cheers

Gurn

to me the slow roll is a very simple but effective slow roll. Winding the handle really slowy to the boat. I sometimes mix it up if im fishing for flathead on a sad bar, i will contiue winding with gentle lifts every now again so it doesnt just trail along the bottom. Let the lure hit the bottom and wind it slowy across the bottom or gentle lift and let it hit the bottom again. This retrieve is deadly with shads and wriglers. The slow roll from the pros......
    http://www.youtube.com/user/squidgies#p/u
    Check out all the others retrieves and tips from brett the shimano product manager

Fishinwahbee

Here is an example of why I think you should separate your ideas. Hard bodies and plastics retrieval can be worlds apart. Don't think of a plastic as a lure all the time. Mix it up! This fish must have seen the plastic dropping with my bail arm open., I close the bail arm, little hop and the fish did the rest. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOC7RA1GVcE
    There is another vid that Goldfinch caught 3 jewfish in a row, and all fish hooked up with his bail arm open!!

I caught a 90cm jew just yanking the hell out of a Berkley worm.. mix it up be aggressive at times.

If I am working over a shallow reef for bream with hard bodies I generally get the most success from a slow steady retrieve about 3/4 of normal walking pace for most people. Cast long and get that lure vibrating steadily well before you enter the strike zone is the best I have found. Any other fish I mix the retrieves up with a lot.