elibah creek

Thread: elibah creek

Thumbs up elibah creek

does elimbah crk hold jacks wat about bells creek cheers greg

Re: elibah creek

nah it is as dead as awful place too shallow stay away Seriously though, it is a good little system that can have its moments, not as many as you think it should though. I suspect the amount of shallows in the lower half are a fair deterrent for bigger fish moving in. It also seems to take forever to recover from big influxes of fresh too, more so that other creeks in the area.
    Bells is a different kettle of fish, turns it on a lot more than elimbah.

If you go up Elimbah beware of some canopener like rocks. In particular when ya get to just before the bend after where the large boats a moored be careful my beacon to beacon shows the rocks in the wrong spot so watch your sounder and just putter through for the first time, actually you are better off puttering up the whole creek for the first time. There is a bend further up that is quite deep and I have seen what I presume was a pike eel come up after a bream that my wife had hooked and its head was about 400mm in diameter the thing was huge. Spooky stuff. There are four parts with close to the surface rocks that I know of so exercise caution my friend.

If it's Jacks your after then Coochin Creek is your spot mate. Bells is chockas with catfish for some reason and Elimbah is too sandy good for whiting though.

When you say Coochin Creek for Jacks are you talking further down towards Bells, back up towards Roys road or somewhere in between?

Dazyz1, Coochin Creek flows into the Passage just south of Roy's Landing. Bells Creek is the next creek north and Elimbah is the 2nd creek north from the southern end of the passage. All three creeks feed the passage, none of them are joined except by the passage.
    Coochin is regarded as the jack hotspot creek in the passage by most.
    I think the passage itself has a very healthy supply of the redfish if you target them properly. It is different tactics and different types of structure in the passage than in the creeks. They live a whole different lifestyle so to speak, in the passage.

I've never caught a Jack before so I think I'll make my next trip down the passage to Coochin Creek instead of my usual spot. Any other suggestions from anybody while I'm soaking all this up? I understand the 'target structure' thing but should I just rock up on any tide, any time of day and chuck plastics or hardbodies at snags or maybe target the top of the tide (early morning or late arvo) with hardbodies that rattle or vibrate? Sorry if I'm asking for too much info but i'm expecting to waste a fair bit of time on it before I figure out exactly what works, just trying to cut down on the learning (read fishless) trips.

Search out Gecko's thread about jacks, it lists everything needed and then some.

Every body says their jacks come from coochin to protect their local creek and send all the prospectors to coochin.
    Seriously though there are plenty of jacks in coochin and elimbah creeks the secret is to target a creek long enough to know it and use your head and all you have read and soon enough you will have your jack.

Fished elimbah a few weeks ago for zip the worst thing was that there was bugger all life saw 5 gar and a hand full of mullet not a hit or peck from a bream either and thats were they should be, had the same experience up caboolture river dead too?????, new snags are there and old ones gone with the floods and some new land owners have placed some rock retaining walls up and someones put in his own slippway and some blocks have cleared to the creek bank not good, lured all the up to nearly the nudist camp.

All the creeks in the passage hold jacks and all have sand bars to get passed and some skeg and prop smashing rocks in some creeks if you dont no were they are, bells creek is a bit hit and miss with the skiers some times and if you head down the passage and expect to get into coochin you will have to know your tides and have a shallow boat to get in but there rocks around the mouth and then you have to get out and no matter were you go you have to hope no body has been there the night or day before ,some creeks fish better than others some years it all depends on what moves in for that year or whats been caught the year before as they stay in the system until they head out to the reefs and some move from the reef and set up in the systems so whats caught and eaten one year is gone from that spot until more replace them, tides and location play a part and then theres anything goes, it can be a game of hundreds of casts or just a few when lureing or many mozzy bitten nights live baiting to get one or just get a sizzleing run and not set the hooks,what you learn one year can change the next,dedication is what it takes and if you have it it will happen but then again some have tryed for years and still have not gotten there red fish, 25years ago elimbah had a spot that surf rods with 50lb mono on 6 and half inch alveys with there drags locked up and palmed could not stop the some jacks, not many used to fish for them back then or even new what just busted them off.

Dont pay to much attention to what creeks others have said to fish or not to fish just get out there and have ago what ever creek you deside to fish, the pine river has had some good years of unstopables, run out tides and afternoon better, runouts at night if baiting and lures and plastics the one you have on that goes past its nose at snags and rock bars, coffee rock shallow and deep, have fun greg30 and Dazyz1 cheers chris.
    Last edited by chris69; 31-10-2011 at 11:49 PM. Reason: adding