What do you like about fishing?

Thread: What do you like about fishing?

I was asked the other day why i liked fishing,and i actually had to think for a minute or two to give an answer.Firstly i think its in our genes,as humans to hunt but i think theres more to it than that.Fishing to me is sport,first and foremost the challenge of targeting specific species,escpecially on artificials.The anticipation of casting a lure into some structure,or dropping a softy down on to some reefy ground not sure of what or how big the next fish is going to be,the rush of a hit or bite and the powerfull run of a decent fish followed by a good fight with a loaded rod and feeling every move of the fish through tight braid pretty well does it for me.Sitting on a bow mount while stealthily casting to bank side structure on a peaceful freshwater dam then the fish become a bonus.Having a tasty feast of fish after a long day on the briny,or even the buzz you get when searching,then buying that next favourite peice of fishing equipment.Or it could be anchored up with a dead or live bait just waiting for that next bite.Even sitting in your boat in the man cave fiddling,tuning gear or just dreaming of that next trip,i even get a buzz out of sipping on a coldie while washing the boat and gear after a day out.What ever it is its bloody wonderful So,what does it for you ?

Cheers, Gav.

Re: What do you like about fishing?

Gav....I think you have summed it up....

Catching fish

Seccond that Scott, not something i even think about really. Most say that there is a bit of O.C.D involved with myself . Ben

i love the rush.. the rush u get when u can see a fish about to smash your lure.. and bragging to your mates. nothing is better than sending a pic of the fish you caught to the mate who was working or couldnt make it..

Getting away from the missus, probably started as a kid just to get away from Mum and it has continued on, if I annoy her enough her standard reply is "when are you going fishing again"

She loves it hersself and likes just being out there even when they aren't biting, she owns the tinne which I have to drive and I have the big boat.

I would have to say the sea itself.
    Sitting in a boat or on the shore its pretty relaxing.
    The sea always interests me, full of surprises.

I can just imagine Charleville in my mind, thrashing away at the keyboard, his memorised thesaurus bubbling away, smiling, reminiscing, and starting to feel very good.

To me, it's a personal experience that non-fishos may never understand, but one that might be understood and appreciated by those touched by it.

An addictive combination of relaxation and anticipation.
    The enjoyment and wonder of the natural world and ones own company
    Sharing jibes, good times and memories with like-minded mugs.
    And a cold beer.
    And an occasional tasty meal as reward for your effort

That's it. I'm going home and putting the boat in.

Gurn

An addictive combination of relaxation and anticipation.
    thats just about sums it up for me....

Gee ..... where do you start Fishing ..... far out. Having been lucky enough to have fished many different styles of fishing for many different species over 30 something years it's really hard to isolate a few things.
    I guess - in the early days it was the excitement of just catching a fish .... any fish. Then when I learned to target a species ..... you got the satisfaction when you actually caught what you wanted to catch. Once I got a car there was the anticipation of going to a new location. Fly fishing for trout gave me the thrill of the hunt & a sense of isolation . Then when I progressed to boats it was all aboutthe adrenalin rush of hooking and landing game fish. Then when I got my own boat , targeting tasty table fish took over all else but more than anything it gave me a taste of adventure .
    These days more than anything my fishing trips are often part of an adventure / camping / travel ....... which in turn has lead to a lot of friendships .
    The surprising thing about fishing (for me) ..... It's never really been relaxing

When you have that line in your hand you completely forget about all the worries in the world you might have. There's nothing to think about except for what could be nibbling at the other end.

Fishing for me started when I was a young bloke going out to the mouth of the brissie river with my old man also fishing donnybrook, beachmere, the passage bribe and the maroochy river. Hearing that Mercury 2 stroke humming away as you are heading to our favourite spots and bringing home a good feed for dinner and just sitting and chatting with him while we were waiting for the rachets to go off . I have had some great memories fishing with my old man and I am certainly going to give my son those same memories when he is old enough. I love the thrill of the hunt and as most have said here the antcipation in not knowing what is going to hit your line when you float that bait or plastic down also that love of just being on the water the wind in your face as you are flying out to your fishing spot. Sitting in crystal blue water when fishing over on Moreton Island and areas around the bay which I think is the most awsome back yard any bloke who loves fishing could ever have. Spending those nice summer days sitting over at Tangalooma with the family on the beach with some nice nibblies in the picnic basket and a couple of coldies and a bottle of wine for the missus in the esky. Fishing for me clenses the mind of all the worries you have in every day life and also as some of said here having a beer with your mates while cleaning the boat talking about what you caught or that one that got away. There is no other form of relaxation in the world I would rather have I have a natural love of the ocean always have always will.

Some great responses there guys,keep them coming its good reading.One thing i forgot to mention is the mateship,the laughs and taking the piss out of eachother,although i enjoy getting out on my own aswell.

Gav

Started fishing when i was 4 years old. Didn't have a fishing rod-- just a length of bamboo with abit of line, hook and sinker on the end. Thats all we needed fishin for red fin in those days.
    My Dad, who sadly passed away a few months ago bought me home a little 4 foot jarvis Walker rod-- taller than me at the time and it had a plastic white reel on it. My first rod and thought all my christmases had come at once. amazing the rod is still here and thats 45 years ago now.

What s this got to do with this thread. ???

Its a life time of Memories and good times that I love most.

Ronnie

nothing..bloody cold overnight in winter..the smell of chook gut stinks.
    summer..too bloody hot..sunburn.
    mossie and sandfly bites.
    boat hitting sandbanks
    soft plastics stink and don't work.
    braid cuts the fingers.
    crowds at boat ramps.

BUT..it sure beats gardening..LOL