Mossy's Charters

Thread: Mossy's Charters

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar

Mossy's Charters

Got to the boat ramp around 0600 hours, the plan was to head out to mossy's reef and see if we could catch one of those larger snapper that have been eluding me for some time.

First few cast and old mate comes tight on a good fish, it starts screaming off and he is worried he'll loose the lot, I was pumped. Got in the other lines and then dropped the leccy for the chase, was going flat out and was abit choppy so it wasn't easy. Plenty of head shakes and we call it for a nice snapper.

About 10-15 mins of pump and wind on old mates behalf, I was busy on the leccy giving chase. Comes close and we see abit of colour and a beautiful fish it was.
    Netted the bad girl and the smile on my mates face was huge. That is one nice fish I say as I tell him that's it I'm naming the tinny "charter boat". Put her on the matt and come close to 69 but would say about 68.5 LoL. Threw her in the esky and lines back out.

Drifted the spot a few more times, plenty of squire and a few of them brown fish I thought they were grassies, not 100% sure so they went back. Was abit quiet so we decided to head to another spot I was shown by netmaker (davo). Got a few more fish with not many big ones around.

We pretty much fished most of the way around mud after mosy's reef and found a cod along our travels in some pretty shallow waters but plenty of structure.

All fish taken on soft plastics big thanks to Dayoo for the quality jigs, if old mate had one of the tt's I used to use he would of lost the that snapper for sure, it crushed the jig head but it held strong with quality hooks!

Tight Lines - MoSsY "your local estuary charter"

**** If you don't have anything positive to contribute please don't reply to this thread with your stupid comments like my last thread ****
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	332254_2570814150159_1248399383_3020670_1136991090_o.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	55.0 KB 
ID:	72930   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	340214_2570815510193_1248399383_3020674_905241712_o.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	56.3 KB 
ID:	72931   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	332431_2570814470167_1248399383_3020671_332156253_o.jpg 
Size:	51.2 KB 
ID:	72932   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	323696_2570816070207_1248399383_3020675_339957465_o.jpg 
Size:	72.9 KB 
ID:	72933   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	321768_2570813230136_1248399383_3020668_577504288_o.jpg 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	72934  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	290509_2570813590145_1248399383_3020669_1792290034_o.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	37.9 KB 
ID:	72935   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	194706_2570814950179_1248399383_3020673_1017825655_o.jpg 
Size:	42.1 KB 
ID:	72936  

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

Re: Mossy's Charters

Nice one Mossy , and yes grassies they are buddy . taste great ! keep up the great charter work ! how much for half a day ?
    cheers Andrew

awesome mossy..so where do I book a trip? LOL

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

Your right about the tt heads, for snapper i use the berkley salt water pro, much tougher..

Good work Mossy and disregard any negative comments.Telling by your posts you get out on the water a fair bit so ignore anyone who wants to rubbish a smaller squire.Plenty of people are still to catch there first good fish on a lure.Keep up your good posts.

Sorry mossy didn't mean to offend you.

Was only having a dig. Nice fish btw

Nice snap mate. Yes the 3rd pic is a grassie. Only have to be 30cm and taste way better than snaps IMO. Looks like you had a good trip. Well done

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

well done buddy. putting the crew onto em again. no doubt your mate is still grinning. this may be of interest to you. i have recently discovered a way of the skipper catching all the fish. firstly you invite your least reliable mate (or just dont bother) and when he doesn't show up, you go on your own and catch ALL the fish (or sometimes none). you can go faster, you have more room, go out when your ready and come home when you want. AND you get spared being wooped by ya mate (i'm still smarting from me mate flogging me 5-nil at mud in june).

davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

ps. picked up a collection of dayoos jigheads and a couple of hot lips jigs at the boaties market this morn. beautiful work. expect they will go really well and you confirmed it.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Cheers Boys.

Mossy charters leaves brisbane river most weekends, fuel, gear everything supplied you just turn up ready to take home the fish LoL

Thanks for the tip fish gutz, might give the grassie's a try next time they come into the boat.

Davo, mate those jigs are red hot and lucky for my mate they are pretty Heavy Duty for their weight. Only prob with your theory davo he was the mate that pikes the most. One day I think Davo might come tight on a 60cm+ myself....
    Will have to get out again soon mate found a few more lumps n bumps around the island worth a look

Glad you're picking up... hope you will get your decent size snapper so soon...
    Thanks for share...

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

No worries Mossy , and I`d have to agree with the lump , the grassies taste better than the snaps, just my opinion. they should start to come on during the warmer months around mud and they don`t mind hitting a plastic. I like to use small squid when i find a good patch of grassies (only cause I`m lazy and like soaking baits) good luck.

I missed your post but was talking to Barry who really gets a kick out of seeing people enjoying the end results of his great work. Well done Mossy, very nice work all round!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    I missed your post but was talking to Barry who really gets a kick out of seeing people enjoying the end results of his great work. Well done Mossy, very nice work all round!!!

Scalem I can't fault them when we managed to pull the jig out of its mouth it looked like someone had smashed it to bits with a nail punch.