Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: 23ft sharkcat project boat.

Re: 23ft sharkcat project boat.

Quote Originally Posted by sharkcat 23 View Post
    Hi,
    Yeah I've read several threads on here about fitting pods, most seems to say dont do it, several have said its a must, will have to investigate further before making any decision on that.. As for the cabin configuration, with the front windows as they are I would need to add about 300mm in height to put a roof on, I had thought about infilling this area in glass to match the existing with a set of sliding windows mounted on the side to replace the existing triangle pieces, still have to chase that up, yes clears are an option I hadn't thught about, but if I do the front in glass, I stay dry and get a better view and with sliding side windows I can get the fresh air thought, we'll see, money might win out on that one. Time doesn't worry me, I get little enough time off as it is so I work on it when I can, no hurry, want the job done properly, what set up did you have on the steering, still looking for the best system/setup to suit the cat.
    Thanks Doug
    Everyone has their own unique view and idea, mine is thus. I hope you don't mind me sticking my nose in to talk cats?
    You're in Qld, so seldom will you be forced to but up with extreme cold. You'll have far more days on the water when its just bloody hot, and flow-through ventilation is king. In my experience, no matter how well ventilated and how many sliding windows and hatches in an enclosed wheelhouse (What the Sharkcat factory called an "Express" version), it will still feel stuffy and be hot in summer.

With the awesome new generation of clear curtains available such as StrataGlass, I'd definately be running with a free standing hardtop similar in exucution to our old girl. You'll then have the ability to open is right up as much as you like depending on the weather and how sporty you're feeling.
    I'd prefer personally to view over the top of the screen with the clears panel rolled up that through solid glass any day, even if it means ducking the occasional bit of spray
    With glass you'll need wipers (with fresh water washers to avoid scratching), and you do get a distorted view.
    Enclosed wheelhouses are normally quite a lot louder too, as it tends to keep the sound of the engines in. People tend to close the cockpit door (if there is one) to avoid the noise, but then it gets stuffy.

You will make your own decision, but there's no doubting I'm a fan of a more convertible structure

We purchased the hardtop moulding from the Sharkcat factory. It is the factory moulding used for the Express version. The outriggers look a bit silly in this old photo because they're not tensioned to the gunwale.

Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by sharkcat 23 View Post
    what set up did you have on the steering, still looking for the best system/setup to suit the cat.
    Thanks Doug
    Ours had a single large ram Morse Teleflex system, with the ram between the engines out of view. That is a long time ago though, and now I reckon you'd be much better served going with a Hydrive setup, it's very nice stuff made from nice quality materials and is designed to last, unlike many modern popular systems. http://67.18.218.201/~hydrive/
    A single ram will do the job if it's set up correctly. A bonus with single rams is you don't get the creep that twin ram setups are succeptable to (when over time one engine starts pointing differently to the other, requiring a valve to be opened to allow you to correct it. It's all so unnessesary.)

I replied to this thread a few hours ago. It said a mod would need to approve the posts. Still nothing.

Is it just me or?

IMGP0016.jpgphotowe.JPGphotowr.jpgIMGP0018.jpg
    Hi Doug,
    The boat came with a couple of 2 banger 150 Yammies with hydraulic steering on each engine. One needs a new lower crank bearing, both run though, and both need a good service which I can do myself (marine mech) She does around 40 knots WOT and 28 at 3000rpm. I am not sure what to do with the canopy yet, the photo I attached is the fiberglass hardtop with ali rear when I purchased it. As I said I am thinking of raising the hardtop by around 6 inches, then adding alloy to rear at the same level. I purchased a set of powdercoated rod holders and game poles on ebay in good nick for $370 to go on top. Not sure what colours to paint her now as silver or grey will show all the blemishes up.

Edit - duplicate post
    Last edited by The Woo; 20-12-2011 at 09:32 AM. Reason: Duplicate

Thanks Woo,
    Did you buy the mould or just the fibreglass top from the sharkcat factory. If you brought the mould I would love to have a chat to you. Thanks for all the information its good to get different perspectives.

Doug

Oops sorry, it reads a bit wrong. we bought the actual hardtop from the factory, not the mould.

saissjs.JPGekeue3.JPGlids.JPG

dlrlrr;r.JPG

Hi Guys,
    After heaps of sanding and filling we finally have the top coats on the old girl and she is looking a lot happier. Now is the time to put her back together and go boating

Hey Guys,

Just bringing this one up from the dead.

Any updates on any of the projects on this thread?

Hi Darren,
    Mine is all finished, took a lot longer and a lot more $ than expected, but came up well. Will post some pics when I get back.

Attachment 95385Sorry its taken a while to post an update, things move very slowly when your sanding and filling and then sanding Attachment 95384again, and theres so much boat to do, not to far off being ready to start painting. Since I got her I have removed a section of floor to check the Attachment 95383stringers and generally have a good look around, checked the fuel tanks, pressure tested the tanks for leaks, replaced and glassed in the floor. I aAttachment 95382lso found the canopy on ebay and after check measurements I brought it and have spent a lot of time mounting up it, its not your average sharkcat deAttachment 95381sign, but I don't think its looks to bad, at this stage the colours with be black to the rubber then a burgundy over the deck and side of the cabin.Attachment 95380

Hey mate you need to use the go advanced button to post pics. You need to manage attachments, import them, insert inline and then they post so we can see them.
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

maybe third time lucky

Its been a while since I posted an update of the cat rebuild, between FIFO and working on the house the boat had to take a back seat until
    Adam Milne could get the work done that I wanted. All a really have to do now is get someone to finish the small bit of aluminium welding, and fit it out which hopefully I can get done over the next two swings at home.