Thread: Dale boats.

Dale boats.

Has anyone got any info on these boats originally built at Home Hill?

About two years ago the factory at Home Hill closed and the moulds were taken away.

Who has them now and are these boats being made elswhere.

Any thing on performance would be of interest too.

Have Fun Haji-Baba

Hey mate. They are very popular in the Burdekin region. Barry's Marine in Home Hill is still operating so you could call them. I've fished out of a 5.3 model many times. Great boat an d punches well above its weight. I've also owned a Haines wasp which is what the 3.9 is based on. Awesome little boat.

Re: Dale boats.

Thanks Upstart.

Got quite a lot of film at Molongle Creek ramp a few years ago and you are right the 3.9 was and still is a beautiful little boat.

They had one on the floor nearly finished when I visited the factory in Home Hill.

The 6.2 Dale is a beautiful looking boat.

The hull configuration was very interesting with the very deep V and half tri-hull chines.

Never got a ride in one but have often wondered how they go in fairly heavy seas.

Haines used to make a Tri-Hull years ago and they were pretty good, I think. ????

These Dale Boats seem to be a part copy of the old Tri-Hull Haines.

Like to hear more about them and how they perform.

Haji-Baba

I have a 5.3m Dale here in Brisbane if you want to look at a heavilly modified one (Hull is untouched)

can give you the good, bad and ugly as well

Mate ...I have a 6.3 m Dale with a 225 yammie 4 stroke. (see pic)
    Its a great boat & cuts thru swell & chop with ease...very soft ride & great offshore.
    Also a very dry riding boat as any spray etc seems to pushed down & away by the heavy reversed chines (tunnels).
    Plenty of deck space as motor sits on a partly sealed pod...with swim platforms etc.
    Coupla bunks up front so good for o,niters etc

Attachment 72848

Phil

Thanks Spectre,

Didn't get the piccie. Saw a couple of 6.2's up at Molongle Creek in the past and thought then that they would get along ok.

I spoke to the Builder, Dale I suppose near the Ramp, lovely boat, offered to mind it near my caravan for the week whilst he was at work.

I think he thought I would use it if he left it parked there in my care.

Not very likely, like hell.

Cheers Haji-Baba

No worries HB...will have another go at putting up a pic

Been in 2 of the fleet, the 6.3 and the 3.9. They made a 5.3 and late in the game made a 4.6 (I think). I have even seen a hydrofoil with a Dale logo on it but don't know the story there.

Solid boats that can handle big HP. Old owner put a 200 etec on his 5.3 and kept bending his trimtabs! The 3.9 has had up to 90 on them. Not recommended but what a rocket that would be.

The reverse chines are quite unique. Soft ride punching into them but a few reports of the big Dales running down waves a bit wild. Can't confirm from personal experience.

Anyway nice boats. Shame they aren't made anymore. Dunno where the moulds are but Peto Marine (new owner) will know.

Guido

I've seen two of the hydrofield ones getting around at Cape Upstart. There was a centre console and a cabin one. A mate has a 5.3 and has recently had the transom raised and had a full width, full depth ally pod fitted. His boat is over ten years old now and the transom was as solid as the day it was made. He has a 175 two stroke johnno on it. He's used that boat to transport over a tonne of cement and blocks and pavers etc across the bay to his hut. They are built tough that's for sure.

Very nice boats and built tuff.

BigE

Quote Originally Posted by trueblue View Post
    I have a 5.3m Dale here in Brisbane if you want to look at a heavilly modified one (Hull is untouched)

can give you the good, bad and ugly as well

gday mate i saw this post through google , I'm looking at buying a dale 5.3 and would love any information you have on them

i don't think the 6.3 is a particularly good looking boat as someone above mentioned but I have been in a ride in one and it would have to be one of the smoothest riding boats that class I've been in. The V is very deep and I daresay it needs a lot of horsepower.

Still got my 6.3 M Dale & love it ..pretty much go anywhere & can carry a good load with ease.
    They provide a super soft ride...massive cockpit + couple bunks up front and hold 260 litres of fuel.
    GR8 boat & built super tuff ...!!!