Thread: Offshore sand crabs

Re: Offshore sand crabs

CT, Would never hurt to throw them out, biggest thing is turtles and sharks love them, We turn our spanner gear over every 45mins to an hour as they can be brutal to your gear.

Have never tried getting the spanners in normal pots i only use the trays so the pots would definately be better long term. Just do your arm exercises to get ready to pull them. Its ok with a couple but when its 40m + and 12-16 pots it hurts very quickly.

Cheers Lee

Gabba,

No worries mate - it takes a lot more than that to worry me. It's good to see other people passionate about keeping our recreational fishery healthy as I am.

I've thrown some of the bigger crab pots out in Moreton Bay over the years and caught a mixture of sand and three spot. One trip I remember vividly about 6 years ago we crabbed the Spitfire banks area north west of moreton. No word of a lie but in the 6 pots we had I reckon we boated 500 plus three spot crabs in one overnight soak. They were like lice and must have been on the move. We kept a few for a feed, some for cobia bait and the rest went over board.

I guess it's a not a bad thing if I throw the pots out this weekend and get a mixture of sand, three spot and spanner. I'll let you know how I go.

PS I do know some pro crabbers that work offshore around the sunny coast and east of Stradbroke. The crabs must be out there somewhere.

It is no wonder most of the top fisherman dont put up reports anymore with posts like gabbas. Posts like that are stuffing it for everyone. Ps nice spanners.

This is exactely why many good fishos will no longer show pics or stories of their catches here........too many that are critical,
    or just plain jealous (because they can't do the same)

Good work there Brett,

Bugman,

Send me a pm and I'll come down and give you a hand at getting some spanners, I like them too, nice and fresh and a lot healthier than getting them from the coop any day.

OneRabbit,

Have you been out lately, still keen to come down , I also have four crab pots if there are any sandies or muddies down your way.

Cheers, Bondy

Can only go on where you see the pros working for them offshore out here. Think they are just coming up to the season for them and they seem to work the 50m line where we marlin fish which you know well, especially that area due east where the 50m contour takes a big kick out to the NE. I think they chase them when they can't chase the spanneries due to the quota or the 2x6monthly seasons or whatever they are. Like Lee said, there are plenty of spanner crabs out there, the pros are just being screwed over by market forces at the moment with the high $AUD and a couple of big players working a couple of big boats. I think all the boys are going every second day when they are allowed and have to be back by 4pm depending on who they supply. Tough times for the little operators atm.
    Last edited by Smithy; 28-10-2011 at 10:11 AM.

Working within the Seafood industry, take this simple tip for extra meat recovery. I used too have to meat the bugger's for export.

Step1: cut the crab in half.
    Step2: work through the shell layer's one after the other, removing the flesh as you go.
    Step3: With meat yield from the claw, try and crack the claw on the outer round surface. This should give you a nice clean fracture for meat removal.
    Step4: bend the elbow if possible (XXXX) helps with mundaine task, but the rewards are sweet!!

Most folks like too smash and chomp! this can be wastefull.
    Just thought this may help in giving you back maximum reward for your efforts.
    Thank god my day's at the process benches are over.

Well done and enjoy.
    Viper.
    "If I am going too burn time let it be holding my rod. For when it is time to lay me at rest let it be a Viking burial at it's best. Give back for what I have Taken."

Thanks Viper ...v good info.

Have also had removing meat from spanners by putting under a cutting board or similiar & giving em a quick squash by about 1/3 only. This cracks open the many 'compartments' & meat just seems to come out easy.
    Cooking tip: remove shell & gut & break in half b4 cooking ....they cook quick & clean !!!!

Good going with the spanners Bugman...will have to give em a whack asap b4 20 Nov closer etc
    Will be interested to see how u go on the Sandies....will be hard yakka in the deep. I know the pros have done it tuff this year offshore.
    You may even pick up the odd Occy as well !!

Phil

OneRabbit,

Have you been out lately, still keen to come down , I also have four crab pots if there are any sandies or muddies down your way.

Cheers, Bondy

Just returned from the recent trip to Viet Nam Peter, still a bit jet-lagged,
    my work has taken a big turn for the worse,
    which hopefully will give me more time to get back to the ocean.

You wont get sandies or muddies where I will take you........
    I will be in contact soon,
    I just have a few issues to sort before I can relax.

Quote Originally Posted by Viper Fish View Post
    Step1: cut the crab in half.
    Step2: work through the shell layer's one after the other, removing the flesh as you go.
    Step3: With meat yield from the claw, try and crack the claw on the outer round surface. This should give you a nice clean fracture for meat removal.
    Step4: bend the elbow if possible (XXXX) helps with mundaine task, but the rewards are sweet!!

Viper.
    Viper, I can concurr what you said as I do the same

Bondy

onerabbit (Muzz),

Sorry mate, I forgot you was still in Viet Nam, time goes quick. Sorry to hear about your job Muzz, hope the sorting of it goes well for you.

Cheers, Bondy