Thread: Offshore sand crabs

Offshore sand crabs

Gentlemen and ladies

I'm gearing up to start a bit of offshore crabbing. We've already been quite successful recently with the spanners here out of Tweed but now i want to target sand crabs.

I've bought some nice new shiny pots from ATS ropes and nets.

Do you think it would be better to run the pots on the sand closer to reefy areas or - like spanners - right out in the middle of sand areas with no reef around?

Just for the weight issues of pulling the things in I was only thinking 30-35m depth.

Anyone had any luck off shore?

(recent spanner trip)
    spanners.jpg

Re: Offshore sand crabs

the first thing that comes to my mind is how many crabs do you want to catch to EAT.
    25 spanner crabs?
    why would you need so many to eat.
    maybe you need to give up your day job and buy a pro licence to fullfill your quest.
    targeting blue swimmers by trap offshore will probably end in a fuel defisate anyhow.
    bloody amazes me the old take what you need to eat but blame the pro's when there is nothing to catch

Quote Originally Posted by GABBA110360 View Post
    the first thing that comes to my mind is how many crabs do you want to catch to EAT.
    25 spanner crabs?
    maybe you need to give up your day job and buy a pro licence to fullfill your quest.
    targeting blue swimmers by trap offshore will probably end in a fuel defisate anyhow.
    bloody amazes me the old take what you need to eat but blame the pro's when there is nothing to catch
    Thanks Gabba for your helpful insight there.

There's actually 30 crabs there - 10 for each of the three people from three different families in the boat. 10 spanner crabs was gone in one meal for my family.

Jumping to conclusions often leaves egg on your face.

Good catchof spanners mate ,
    was that nsw side of tweed or the dark side ? haha
    I get a few sandies in about 50m of water here off Bruns but very few and far between mate .
    I know there has been planty of blue swimmers in the lakes at tweed you should try that

craig

It is no wonder most of the top fisherman dont put up reports anymore with posts like gabbas. Posts like that are stuffing it for everyone. Ps nice spanners.

Brett, I have found that deeper than 22 m then the more spanners you get. Lot of different ideas.

Quote Originally Posted by GABBA110360 View Post
    25 spanner crabs?
    Gabba you really should engage the brain before posting. I havent heard a singe person blaming pros for the lack of Spanners. There seems to be plenty for everyone.
    I hate it when anyone takes a shot at a perfectly legal catch. Its the same old thing time and time again

I recall a QLD fisheries paper a few years ago discussing deep water sandcrab pots and the high level of Spanner bycatch so maybe you will end up with a mixed bag. From what I have read in QLD its only the pros that can't target Spanners in pots

Brett,

Nice spanners,

Personally i reckon spanners are better than the sandies or Muddies ( bar the muddie claw), your on a good thing, would love to hear any tips on getting spanners, most underated crab around, bit like the small bay prawns
    Tangles KFC

Quote Originally Posted by bugman View Post

There's actually 30 crabs there - 10 for each of the three people from three different families in the boat. 10 spanner crabs was gone in one meal for my family.

Gee your an ungrateful bastard Brett......I can only wish to be able to post a pic like yours that provokes thoughts of over fishing. It's the mark of a good catch.........jealousy.Well done mate.

Thanks guys,

We've only done one trip with the spanners and were really scratching for a few until Garry (Spandiard King) told us to move a couple of km north of our location at the time. It was then that we struck upon them.

Basically we were off Currumbin in anywhere from 45 to 48m of water. There's a massive sand area out there and there was about 4km between 45 and 48m of water running due East. We found them everywhere in that area. If the weather holds we may head out there this weekend for another feed.

Craig, I sometimes hate living near the border. The water we fish is in QLD but we exit and entry out of NSW. NSW legal size is 9.3cm and a bag limit of 10 while QLD is a size limit of 10cm and a bag limit of 20. You can also have four trays per person in QLD and only 1 in NSW. Bascially to make sure we're ok at any times all crabs kept are over 10cm and we took a maximum of 10 per person. If we really wanted to MAX OUT our catch I'd take the tinny and launch out of Currumbin creek and load up with 20 each - but I'm not that sort of person.

We might just throw a couple of the new sand crab pots out there this weekend in a couple of different locations and see what happens.

Nice catch Brett,

We are just starting to persevere with the offshore sandcrabbing, We have armed ourselves with a Winch and will be giving them a hit very shortly. For us they are in approx 60-70m of water, My arms and back just arent that strong

We have a great spnner fishery off the Sunny Coast and very easy to get our bag very quickly. as you said we can run 4 Trays per person and bag limit of 20 each.

And Yes we have 3 or 4 people and 90% of the time we come home with our bag limit, I can assure you Gabba that they are very well received from family and friends. Maybe next time keep your negative comments to yourself you are the reason that some people no longer post their reports.

Cheers Lee

Spanner crabs have bugger all meat in them and you have to pick hard to get it. I could eat 10 spanners is someone else did the picking. Is a nice sweet meat however.
    Stop professional fishing... before it's too late!

Nice catch of Spanners there Bugman. Dont know much about sandies offshore but do you reckon you would also get the 3 spot crabs in the mix?? Never heard of it being done before but look forward to seeing how you go. Just dont take too many mate or Gabba might get ya

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    I recall a QLD fisheries paper a few years ago discussing deep water sandcrab pots and the high level of Spanner bycatch so maybe you will end up with a mixed bag. From what I have read in QLD its only the pros that can't target Spanners in pots
    So do you reckon that it would be worth throwing out 1 or 2 standard pots for spanners when heading out to the reef or is it better to have the square spanner dillys?

Quote Originally Posted by bugman View Post

i will apoligise to you for venting my anger at you personally.
    it was fueled mainly by a few things that have been happening around the clarence area.
    i've seen and heard guys around here scite about bagging out for the boat in the morning and then going back to do it again in the arvo.
    i do apoligise for taking it out on you
    ken