Thread: hinchinbrook trip

hinchinbrook trip

hey guys im heading up to hinchinbrook next weekend for 4 days staying at cardwell. im after a bit of help because im not very familar with the area. i have 4.5 tinnie with a 60hp and electric. the tides are bout 3 metre highs and its just on the new moon. my plan is to fish the flats,gutters, drains and small creek mouths on the run out and go up the creeks and fish the snags and rock bars on the run in.

what i would like to know is what areas and creeks should i try first? and also what is it like getting around the northern end of the channel and missionary bay at low tide?

any help would be appreciated

cheers, dallas

Re: hinchinbrook trip

Quote Originally Posted by dallas90 View Post
    hey guys im heading up to hinchinbrook next weekend for 4 days staying at cardwell. im after a bit of help because im not very familar with the area. i have 4.5 tinnie with a 60hp and electric. the tides are bout 3 metre highs and its just on the new moon. my plan is to fish the flats,gutters, drains and small creek mouths on the run out and go up the creeks and fish the snags and rock bars on the run in.

what i would like to know is what areas and creeks should i try first? and also what is it like getting around the northern end of the channel and missionary bay at low tide?

any help would be appreciated

cheers, dallas
    drive 26km's south to fishers creek landing launch there beware of tides though as you need about 1.5 on bottom tide to get back to landing and go into waterfal creek using hardbodies and sp. and if you look up towards the mainland on the mountain on the mainland side you should see the waterfall and if it's running go as far up the creek as you can and the barra and king/threadfin salmon will be in abundance, thats where i always go when i'm there and if that waterfall is running i wouldn't go anywhere else, dallachy and wreck creeks also fish extremely well but you have to put the boat in at meunga creek and run that bit up the coast to get in but if you go in for the low tide you'll be there til the tide comes back in but well worth a look if the weather permits

I can agree with Krusey, find drains where the water is coming out of the mangroves and throw your lures in there and you'll get some barra. We found high tide was aweful and only fished the low when you could see the mud at the base of the mangroves. We usually fished a similar area but didn't go so far up the small creeks. If you're travelling from the south to the north, go into the large creek mouth after the first green beacon north of Haycock Island and fish some of the drains on the outgoing. It's a beautiful area and we really enjoyed the time we had there! We never went across to the creeks on the actual island and in the Mission bay area so I can't really help you there at all! Mind you we went there about 3 months after Yasi hit so there were quite a few barra in the system from the farm that got destroyed and released a lot of barra into the system. Be careful when driving as there's suposed to be a bit of flooding from cardwell to the north with the wet season atm.

no worries lads cheers for that. much appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by dallas90 View Post
    no worries lads cheers for that. much appreciated
    Let us know how you go

How did your trip go mate ??

Some cracking fish have been taken recently at Hegarty Point (NW CNR) of Hinchinbrook Island. Not sure what tide, but livies are the go.