Thread: Saturday Storm off the Goldy.

Saturday Storm off the Goldy.

My big weekend on the water started out in the upper reaches of the Coomera River in search of a feed of Muddies. That trip started out around 2.00am on the water and all pots were out. Then as expected down she came. Rain and heaps of it. Lucky I had my trusty bilge pump with me, she was crankin. I was fishing in my river rat which is a Rosco barra extream 15ft canoe.

Later during the trip the rain eased off and I was able too dry out a little. The Phone rings and my mate gives me word too get ready for an outside trip. Ok here we go pull pick and collect the pots. With all the throw backs I was lucky to have one keeper. and a few bream that I scored while passing the time.

That's fine I thought a wet arse and dinner on the table..., better than nothing. Little did I know that the rain that I tuffed out is nothing compared too what's to unfold later offshore!

So making things short. Here we both are Offshore. the conditions were fair a slight ruffle on the water, but more than fishable. A few trag and pearl took the hook. We were happy with the action that we were getting, all is good and everyone is having a good time.

A few hours pass, and on the Goldy Horizon, one mother of a storm is brewing. She's HUGE and she's building fast. We made the decision too stay out as we would cop the best of it heading home. And getting through the Sea Way wouldn't be fun at all with all of that going on.

So tuff it out we did. The Epirb was ready for deployment Life jackets on, and flares ready too go, I even went to the effort to quickly make some long grab ropes and tied them off on the bow rails. Just in case the worst happened and we were the wrong way up. Better safer than sorry.

The Rain was cyclonic the lightning connecting with the Q1 tower was breath taking. The surge had grunt. We both took turns at the wheel facing our 6 meter Sea Jay Haven
    straight into the brunt off the mess that we're in. In gear all the time and keeping an eye on the G.P.S. as the conditions are now white out to black out. The Goldy Horizon has vanished. Yes we're now in the shit. What an experience, We keep up our spirit's with the good old Aussie humor! She's right we've had worse than this type of thing.

We took this on, for just around one and a half hours. Then as nature intended, all is well after a storm. After the thumping that we copped, the fishing went on and at the end of the trip we both did well.

When I got back too the ramp. I got down on hands and knees and kissed that ramp at Loders Creek. There's nothing like doing the Pope when you've just endured that. Solid ground never felt so good.

Enjoy the pic's
    Gavin.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	003.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	21.6 KB 
ID:	72557Click image for larger version. 

Name:	004.jpg 
Size:	31.2 KB 
ID:	72558
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	005.jpg 
Size:	27.0 KB 
ID:	72559   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	006.jpg 
Size:	48.9 KB 
ID:	72560  
    "If I am going too burn time let it be holding my rod. For when it is time to lay me at rest let it be a Viking burial at it's best. Give back for what I have Taken."

Re: Saturday Storm off the Goldy.

Jesus, Would not have liked to be in that at all.

Just last week a Cruiser got struck by lighting off Cape Moreton and The people ended up getting airlifted because of it, Glad it was not me out there in that storm. At least you guys had jackets Etc Prepared but Dont think you should have ever been in that position.

begs the question....why would you be outside when you know that storm was going to hit?

That first photo looks a lot like something that i got caught out in a little 11.5ft dinghy back in Darwin. It gets the old shorts needing a change. Lucky i wasnt to far from the ramp as i was on my way home. This is before epirbs etc and i was only 15 at the time. I do love a good storm though.

Lucas

yep i wouldnt want to be heading out know theres a big possibiity of a storm. i belive you did the right thing though once you knew you were fubar. it would of been a hairy 1.5 hours.
    nice going on the fishing side of it.

jp

Holly shit thats a place you dont want to be in when it looks like that,glad you got back safe
    Life is short fish hard!!!
    21,6 Sea Fox WA Pro ....

There is some good sized hail in that esky

Good times there Gav, good fun i say, keeps it all interesting lets ya know ya still alive.

We both headed out knowing that there is a possibility of a storm. During summer we've endured heaps over the years that have cropped up. The current conditions at the time were fair. I would not, exactly say champa's, just safe and workable at the time. When the storm front started too build over the Goldy Horizon. The threat of a storm seemed land based only. I wish I had an early shot too prove that.

As I've since been told the Goldy coast was hammered first. At the later stages of the storm cell, she turned tail and headed out too sea. If we headed home at that stage, we would've encountered it anyway. So it became a case of that we were both now fully committed and we had too battern down for a while.

It's just that this happens to be the biggest and I'd say the only sized storm of it's type that I would like too encounter again. And YES a change of short's at times...., may have made things a little more comfortable. The Hail in my esky....., thank christ, that wasn't in the mix, Wearing a bucket for a helmet like Ned Kelly isn't a good look. I just chalk up the whole event too yet another experience, with the added bonus of new skills being learnt along the way. If my time was going too be cut short...., may it be doing something that I love doing and not some other travesty.

For the effort's of JESSICA SIMPSON. My admiration of your personal achievements have just gone up a few notches. The intestinal fortitude of this women during duress was pure steel.

But yes I do love a good storm. They really make you feel alive.
    Gavin.
    "If I am going too burn time let it be holding my rod. For when it is time to lay me at rest let it be a Viking burial at it's best. Give back for what I have Taken."