The Pine

Thread: The Pine

Ausfish Platinum Member Shawn 66's Avatar

The Pine

Morning All,
    Should have posted this last week , however have just learned how to import pictures from my IPhone. Got this little thing from the Pine last week {plus a sh!tload of catfish}.She was caught on a stinking rotten frozen prawn .Line was 4lb with a 6lb leader . Took me about 20 minutes to land her . My mate{ Black Labrador } got a bloody nice meal off it .
    ShawnClick image for larger version. 

Name:	019.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	53.9 KB 
ID:	72326Click image for larger version. 

Name:	006.jpg 
Size:	66.9 KB 
ID:	72327Click image for larger version. 

Name:	009.jpg 
Size:	79.5 KB 
ID:	72328

P.S As I have stated , my lab loves fish . My question is can you eat the catfish . Just the look and the bloody slime on the bastards puts me off.
    Last edited by Shawn 66; 08-10-2011 at 09:16 AM. Reason: Added question

Re: The Pine

Cracking Bream mate, well done !

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

strange coloured bream ! anyways catties cooked up are ok for the dog just get rid of the spikes etc and you`ll have no worries.

Freshwater catfish are marketed as basa. So is considered edible by some, but your dog will probably love it. Like you said, slimy, horrible things. My dog loved the carp I used to bring home from the Condamine. I couldn't believe how much she could eat when it was carp in the menu. But I suppose dogs like things that stink, so that should explain it.

Whoa, that is an absolute ball tearer of a bream! I thought i did well pulling a 36er from cabbage tree ck on wednesday, but that is one of the biggest breambos i've seen pulled out of that river. Simply awesome, mate.

Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by popgun19 View Post
    Cracking Bream mate, well done !
    G'day Bud,
    Yeah the bloody photo was not the best , she was a 45 cm snap , as I said hard to see in the photo.
    Shawn

errrm, thats not a bream! but a great little squire, especially from the pine! what part of the river if you don't mind me asking? Dog won't mind the catties at all, I know people who eat the catties from the Brisbane river (aparently they go well in some asian dishes). You are right about the slime tho and they do have the spines that may hurt him, but you can get some god fillets of a fat cattie. So next time, feed the catties to the mutt and save the beautiful snapper for yourself!

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar

Shouldn't bother the dogs just watcht eh spikes etc, my ridgeback's favourite food is cat turds. lol Nice catch for the pine river mate well any river really hehe, well done. tight lines

you need to up the drag a lil if that thing took you 20mins to land
    "True Blue"

Quote Originally Posted by simo2601 View Post
    errrm, thats not a bream! but a great little squire, especially from the pine! what part of the river if you don't mind me asking? Dog won't mind the catties at all, I know people who eat the catties from the Brisbane river (aparently they go well in some asian dishes). You are right about the slime tho and they do have the spines that may hurt him, but you can get some god fillets of a fat cattie. So next time, feed the catties to the mutt and save the beautiful snapper for yourself!
    Don't mind you asking at all mate . She was caught on the western side of the Bruce Highway bridges , near the sunken barge.
    Shawn

Quote Originally Posted by loophole View Post
    you need to up the drag a lil if that thing took you 20mins to land
    Probably mate , I always err on the side of caution , especially using light gear .
    Shawn

Lol, I should've looked more at the actual fish, rather than the measurement. Either way that is a pretty exceptional catch, considering how far upstream you were, too. The salinity must be pretty high at the moment.

Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi View Post
    Lol, I should've looked more at the actual fish, rather than the measurement. Either way that is a pretty exceptional catch, considering how far upstream you were, too. The salinity must be pretty high at the moment.

Cuzza
    Yeah Cuzza , my Labrador is black , and usually when she goes for a swim , we just towel her down . That day the amount of salt on her made it look like she had been out in the snow .
    Shawn