A few flatfish from the last couple of weeks

Thread: A few flatfish from the last couple of weeks

A few flatfish from the last couple of weeks

Over the last couple of weeks we have been doing a fair bit of fishing chasing the flatfish. We have had some memorable sessions with bigfish and lots of them.

Most of our fish have been coming from 15ft and over and some hard running water with plenty of snags. This makes for some expensive fishing but i don’t mind retying a few leaders to get that big clunk through the rod tip. I think during the 2 and a half days of the classic we went through roughly 70-80 jigheads and when you have a plastic worth a couple of bucks on the back of it aswell it startsto add up quickly.

I recently added lowrance structure scan to my hds units and have found it that unreal i don’t know how i fished without it before hand. It allows bait schools and structure to be located without driving over the top and spooking fish. We used the units to mark bait and fallen trees on the gps and position the boat so that we could target the fish around the bait, ledges and trees. By finding these things on the structure scan it allows you to target them and leave the less productive parts of the banks alone.

During the pre fish for the classic we encountered some patches of fish in the deeper water that were chewing their heads off. On 2 occasions we found fish in a 20m circle on a bank, on the first occasion there were 10 fish caught they chewed for an hour and all over 60cm with 5 over 70. The 2nd was in the same 20m patch with 14 fish caught in an hour all 60 or better with 7 over 70 and an 80. Ive never experienced a bite in the deep quite like this before and it certainly gets the blood pumping.

Fishing deeper water also presents alot of bycatch. Plenty ofrat jew find the deck along with the occasional decent fish. We put a couple of 80’s and 90’s on the deck over the last couple of weeks and they definitely put up a good account for themselves. We also pinned a couple of hairtail, now these things really are a wild looking piece of gear they swim like a sharp knife stabbed through the water and have some gnarly teeth going on. But are a pretty impressive creature.

One of the most impressive captures a couple of weeks ago was hooking what felt like a real quality fish, stayed deep and when i got first glimpse looked to be pushing the magic metre mark. As it got closer to the boat it split up into 5 fish and then back to 1. Got the fish beside the boat and the smaller fish were glued to the side of the 70cm fish i had hooked. As my brother netted my fish he managed to scoop up 2 of the smaller fish with it. The fish must have been in the middle of a ronny coote and the big girl was a bithungry. It was like the smaller fish were in a trance and didn’t want to leave the side of the bigger fish. Was pretty specky to see, 3 fish on one plastic. My brother tried to claim the 2 smaller fish as his as he had netted them.

During the classic we had a milk run of about 10 spots picking up one here and one there. We did have one triple hookup on 63,67and a 69 that got us a little excited and had us thinking we were about to get a hotbite but wasn’t to be. Was still pretty awesome having 3 decent point scoring fish side by side on the deck.

The gear we like to use are medium spin rods between 6"8" and 7". G loomis NRX jwr803, glx jwr803 and shr822. 2500 daiwa spin reels certates and luvius'. Medium baitcast rods 10-20lb IMX cr723 and 724 matched with alphas' and zillions. 1/2 ounce jigheads were most common with a few 3/4 and ounces used when tide running hard or on bigger lures

This year we were lucky enough to be supported by the boys at Luxmarine.com.au. I would like to thank them for looking after us. If you’re looking at buying a boat or wish to sell yours check out their website. Only $5.95to sell your boat.

Heres a few pics of some of the better fish, already looking forward to next year.

Cheers Whytey.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9170465 (Small).JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	72270   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9180473 (Small).JPG 
Size:	86.5 KB 
ID:	72271   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9290002 (Small).JPG 
Size:	79.6 KB 
ID:	72272   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9300032 (Small).JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	59.7 KB 
ID:	72273   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9300036 (Small).JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	40.9 KB 
ID:	72274  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P8270422 (Small).JPG 
Size:	68.5 KB 
ID:	72275   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9150449 (Small).JPG 
Size:	67.6 KB 
ID:	72276   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9150452 (Small).JPG 
Size:	83.4 KB 
ID:	72277   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P9150456 (Small).JPG 
Size:	44.2 KB 
ID:	72278  
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Re: A few flatfish from the last couple of weeks

Some quality fish there Whytey. The structure scan sounds good. I could imagine it being pretty usefull checking out some of the deeper ledges in the Bay

Absolutely magic...nice pics, nice fish and a good account well told.

Thanks Whytey.

BTW what are those paddletails you are using?

Awesome report! What'd you place?

Cheers boys.

Horse.
    the stucture scan is going to be awesome out in the bay. It takes a little getting used to but once you start to get the hang of it blows your mind how much detail it really picks up. the added advantage of sounding your favourite spots from 80feet away is also going to help put more fish on the deck. I cant find a bad word to say about it.

Pete.
    They are paddle tails shads in most of the pics. I prefer lures around 5in in the deep and find the paddle tails will attract a better bite when fish are feeding and all sizes of fish. A 6 or 7in lure is used when targeting the real big girls and when the bite is a bit finiky ill step down to a 4 or 5in jerkshad.

Matthias.

We had a pretty good classic. had a pretty average first day with only 8 fish for 750 points and had us back in about 12th or 13th. second day we had a cracker with 17 fish for around 1750 points and shot us up to 3rd. last day we had a bit of a shocker with 6 fish for 380 points and lost 4 good fish at the net. but we did enough to hold onto 3rd spot which we were rapped with. hoping to go a couple better next year. we will see what happens.
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Yeah Whytey, what are those paddletails

Some great pics there mate and a great result to match. It is amazing how some big fish and a good result get you so keen to for next year!

3rd in the fhc is very impressive, congrats. Love the jewies too.

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Fredrick and the Whyte man still into em eh. Another family affair brother. Good report and some top pics. Still getting a few chrome models up here. Hitting the Adelaide tomoz with a mate to try and snaffle a few slappers as they feed up before breeding. A good build up is on it's way. Must get you up in March for some early runoff.

I'll be down in Brissie 27th oct for 10 days so hook up with you lads then. Until then.......I'll keep making LNG.

Richie

Great work Whytey!

You guys stuck to your guns and came back well over the last 2 days - all that pre-fishing is starting to pay off and I reckon one of these days you will take it out.

It is back to the drawing board for us. We tried too many things and couldn't crack the pattern - probably a good lesson on what not to do. We may have to consider going back to 3 man team next year I think. I will also have a lot more time next year so I'll put in plenty of practice - maybe avoid the obvious really deep spots and find some semi deep water - it seems to work for you guys. BY the sounds of it I may need to start a savings account now to pay for the extra lost gear!

Ollie

Marty. you know exactly what they are! For anyone thats interested they are mcarthy shads and all but 1 of our fish came on them in the classic. they have and awesome body roll and great tail action they would work great on barra aswell i recon. anyone interested in getting some if you want to contact me i can get you in the right direction.

Richard. have to get you out when your down and try and get a few shovels for ya. Im still keen as to get up there for the early run off youll have to let me know what time you have off work and ill keep a couple of weeks open and try and wait till its going off and shoot up. buzz me when your down.

Ollie , cheers mate. i dont think my older bro will give up till we have won it. Hes a fien for it. it makes it a bit easier with 3 in the boat beacase majority rules. i wouldnt be ruling out the deep water out the front we knew the fish werent really bitting that well out the front but your always gotta check them out. some of the spots we fish people wouldnt even think to fish there for flathead. you just have to get out and try some different things and just remember nearly all the top 5 maybe 10 were all on the banks this year. we will be doing some more bank work and try to fill those quite times from the deep next year Catch up with ya soon mate

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Good fish there Whytey and those hairtail are wierd as. Afew jew make the comp a bit more fun with the by catch like that as least you got leader big enough to bag em. I hooked 2 jew fri arvo 60 and 70 in 2 drifts. Good position this year and getting closer to no. 1 so it might be next year. Cheers DD.....

Great report Nick, and well done on your Classic result! Sounds like you are putting in the time and getting great results.

70 - 80 jigheads (and plastics) in a few days! crikey!

Great story about the five fish coming up together and netting three, that's amazing! Obviously when they are in the act, they are pretty focused on the job!