Thread: HDS 8 Transducer Installation

HDS 8 Transducer Installation

SANY1620.jpgSANY1619.jpgSANY1618.jpg

Pic 1 im pointing to were i think the Lss would go i might try and use the 2 existing holes.

Pic 2 is a straight edge indicatating the transducer in the centre of the flat section of the hull,and has a slight angle on it .

Pic3 is the transducer adjusted 1 click.is this angle to sharp.

Pic 4 is the trying to show the depth under the bottom of the hull.

I have used the slot bracket that ataches to the back im not sure if this has to be there or not.

Cheers Rob

Well i fitted the Transducer ,How does it look, i dont have a motor yet so SANY1617.jpg i can not take it out for a sea test.
    Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

Re: HDS 8 Transducer Installation

I'm not an expert in these things but I have located my HDS8 transducer just a fraction lower than that ... just so the bottom of the transducer is moving in water below the line of the hull. Pretty sure that's what Lowrance recommends.

Thats what the slotted brackets are for, to allow you to tweak it up/down to find the right level.

Sing out if you want a photo of my set up.

The angle looks about right to me !
    Sunshine Coast - Kevlacat 5.2

to me it looks a bit high, not deep enough, but thats only going of were mine would sit, hard to be sure. hope its ok cause you've fitted it now.

jp

hey rob. i gotta agree with the above. seeing as youve fitted it you might as well give it a run that way, but if your not happy with the result, start adjusting downwards. reckon you dont need the click either mate. right kinda angle in pic 1 but the best way to make sure your happy is trial and error. need to wait for your donk for that tho.....

cheers mate
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Beuty guys thats great thanks for the input ,hey Guys post your pics please that would be great .Oh well another hole or 2 lol maybe.
    Hey Dave cop this for a bargain mate $2,800 for a Honda 20 still got heaps of warranty just waiting on the man to get back to me after the Public holl.
    Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish

sounds good mate. gotta luv warranty. also gotta luv silicone
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Hey Rob, after looking at your photos i think you need to be a about 30mm lower at least. I found when i had my transducer a that level i would loose signal at speed from bubbles travelling under the hull and out the back under the transducer causing interference if it is deeper it is in solid water.Once i lowered the tran i could do 35kts and have good signal. That was with my setup anyway. I also recommend you do the tutorial on the Lowrance website i found it very helpful when i got my HDS7

Ok mate thanks for that info ill drop the tanny down a tad.
    Mate i have looked at so many vids and tutorials on installing this transducer .i think i have confused my self.
    Cheers Rob
    Shut up and fish