Thread: Flathead Classic

Ausfish Platinum Member bennykenny's Avatar

Flathead Classic

Another Classic is over and another fantastic time was had by everyone. Unfortunatly the flathead for me didnt really play the game, but i did manage to score the biggest Jew with a 117cm monster. which is my PB, first on plastic, and my first pin jewie. so i was more than happy.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	flatty classic 2011 009 - Copy.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	36.2 KB 
ID:	72045  

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

Re: Flathead Classic

Nice fish BK.Who won ?? How did the usual guru's go ?

That's a ripper jew BK - Well Done mate!

How did you go with the westerly change that came through yesterday, it blew a tree over in my yard so it would have been fun out on the water?

Mick.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Congratulations BK top effort.
    Cheers Dids

Very nice Jewie. It would take the sting out of the poor Flatie showing

top catch. bugger the flatties to get the jew like that.

nice work BK seems the jews come to you these days. LoL Nice catch, were you fishing light?
    cheers mossy

reasonably light i had 14lbs leader and 10lbs braid on my 4-6kg stick 3000 symetre, alot lighter than my usual brissy river gear.

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

very nice, would of had plenty of curry at that size.
    tight lines mossy

Quote Originally Posted by Jackinthebox View Post
    That's a ripper jew BK - Well Done mate!

How did you go with the westerly change that came through yesterday, it blew a tree over in my yard so it would have been fun out on the water?

Mick.
    actually the comp finished at 12 so it was over before the winds picked up luckily.

Very impressive Benny congrats; especially on the light gear.

Very tough fishing but catching a jew like that must ease the pain a bit

Quote Originally Posted by micksta View Post
    Very tough fishing but catching a jew like that must ease the pain a bit
    it certainly did, it would have been a very disapointing classic if i didnt catch it.

BK,
    I think maybe luck plays a role at certain times. Last hear we caught 33 fish with only 5 legals and the biggest going 55 (first fish we got, went down hill from there). This year we probably got the same fish just a bit bigger.

Quote Originally Posted by Giveitacrack View Post
    Nice fish BK.Who won ?? How did the usual guru's go ?
    David Green's team won top team, and Shane Gartner won top angler...both are definite Flathead gurus!

Some of the other big names were up there but struggled in relation to how they usually fish. Was a funny Classic with fish schooled up in numerous places, but certainly not in the most popular ones.

Marty