Thread: Tow vehicle for 3T boat on a budget

Tow vehicle for 3T boat on a budget

Just after some feedback from those of you out there with some experience towing a big rig. I'd like a landcruiser or a 4.2 patrol but these are hard to come by. My issue is, I've only got 10-12k at a stretch to spend. It will be purely used for towing as I have a work car to get around in. It seems I'll have to settle for a petrol or non turbo diesel with lots of k's. The dilemma is that the petrol may be a problem with the large amount of k's and I hear the diesels are a bit sluggish on the highway. I want to do the odd trip up north so this has put me off the diesel. What would you get and why?

Re: Tow vehicle for 3T boat on a budget

Turbo diesel Jackaroo, late models 2000-2002 available for that sort of money, they have an Isuzu 3 litre diesel engine , reasonable power and economy(650kms per 70 litre tank not towing), yes would be a bit sluggish towing a big rig but good allround truck for a fraction of what patrols and Cruiser cost. My 2 bobs anyway.

A small truck.
    Why?? Made to have loads and will tow a load.
    If look hard enough you can find a latish model turbo diesel for reasonable money.
    Same rego as a car for the right truck and people don't look for them as much as a Landcruiser or Patrol.
    3T is a big load......

Woo....mumma http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ford-F250...#ht_672wt_1136
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

you will find a good late 80s into early 90s petrol 80 series cruiser or GQ patrol for anywhere between $5-10k. for instance i got rid of our 88 patrol on petrol/lpg (it was a bit of a beast) for $4k. it'll chug down fuel but be pretty reliable and very cheap/easy to fix.

like finga says, a light truck will probably tow a big boat better but they don't fit a family in and by the time you try and find something with a crew cab the price has risen considerably.

Mate of mine had same issue, 3t boat needed cheapish car to tow it. 1st got a patrol 4cy petrol for cheap ($4k mark) , it did the job but only just. Now has a 6cyl petrol patrol ($15k mark). Thirsty sucker but only really uses it to tow boat. They are tough as, easy to fix dont be too put off by miles. Think they are a bit cheaper than cruisers, arguable as good. Then have 4wd when needed for slippery ramps.

land rover discovery. rated to 4T .

I bought a 10K GQ petrol (4.2) patrol for the same reason. I beefed up the rear coils as the originals were a bit saggy with age, with some low cost ARB heavy duty models.
    Sure they are heavy on fuel, 15 litres per hundred K's not towing and double that towing, but realistically means little given the amount of average miles towing over the year.
    Still have it, even though a new diesel has replaced it for general use, just for occasional 4x4 work.

rule #1 in dodge car sales. if numbers on spedo dont line up corectly , shes had a hair cut.
    buyer beware

get jeep 4l 95, 96 ,97, they tow 3.2t

Get a diesel and fit lpg injection for some gee up and improved economy.
    BOAT really does mean Bring out Another Thousand

Any number of small 2t traybacks or tippers around for those bucks that will tow it well plus have the option of doing other chores with that you just can't do effectively with a ute, like spring cleaning runs to the dump or top dressing the lawns 2t at a time instead of 900kgs.

mate make sure you look into what can legally tow 3t befor u outlay your hard earned.will give u a hint 100 series cruiser or later is the only cruiser to tow 3t or more 80 series tow legally 2.5t,most nissans only tow 2.5t in the partrol,landrover tow 3.5-4 t but most have very little towball downweight, 180 kg download on the towball yet to see a 3t boat with 180 kg on the towball most 250-280kg. a cruiser ute 98 or later tows 3.5t how do i know these figures.i been where you are now and left mine sittin on the hardstand till i can afford a new tow ute.new ford ranger or bt-50 might be on the cards soon.these tow 3.35t legally.but guess this is only an issue if you have an accident, and your insurance will wipe there hands of your claim
    cheers rosco

Simon,
    Went through / going through the same process.
    Mine might be a tad bigger than yours - but all the answers pointed to light truck. Cheaper to buy and better on fuel. For that money you wont get turbo so expect to be a bit sluggish - but they will tow them well enough.

I agree with rosco, 80 series land cruiser would have to be late 97 model or later to be able to legally tow upto 3500kg, All good with the 100 series 3500kg 350kg tow ball download, 8 cyl petrol is more economical than the 6 cyl, have had both and checked every tank of fuel. had a 2003 jeep grand cherokee overland for couple of yrs and whilst a nice vehicle to drive i never felt as confident towing as i do with the Cruiser. drove the 1Hz cruiser 100 series naturally aspirated diesel for a while and whilst slow on take off still towed well, never looked into the light truck situation may be worth consideration.

second that