Thread: Afternoon Bribie Whiting 24/09

Afternoon Bribie Whiting 24/09

My wife took the children to the in-laws for the weekend so I managed to get down to Bribie Island for a quick afternoon excursion yesterday looking for some Whiting.

Left home around 2:00 the local bait and tackle shop had sold out of live worms so grabbed some preserved ones and off I went.

Fished Red Beach on a nice point just to east of the access point, it was about half tide and making, The fish were slow to start with and I was thinking at least there is a good crowd of dog walkers and beach goers.

When they started to bite it was still a relatively slow bite, am not sure if this was due to preserved worms or just that they were not that thick but in just under 2 hours ended up with 16 Good summer Whiting, Missed a few and scared a couple of big flathead off whilst wading back from the point

Till next time
    i
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG00223-20110924-1725.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	44.8 KB 
ID:	71864  
    Ross

May your lines be as tight as ....

Re: Afternoon Bribie Whiting 24/09

G'day Garfish,

Nice catch !! So you walked out on the shallow point 100m to the left of the access track?
    I fished Red Beach back on the beach Thursday Arvo, caught a feed and had heaps of throwbacks.

Thanks for the report.

Craigie

Hey garfish,
    Nice catch.
    We were at Bribie on Tuesday 20th around banksia and white patch area, only got 1 good size summer whiting,
    Caught a dozen under size ting's an a few small bream.
    Any day on the water is a good day but.
    Rob.

Craigie,

Yes on the shallow point, caught half of them out on the shallows whilst the tide was still making and the rest off the bank casting out on to the point when the tide got to high to stay out on the point itself
    Ross

Thanks Ross,

I thought that area might be fishy !!

I'll be back there Tuesday for another crack at them.

Craigie.

All set to go, will be there at daybreak tomorrow.

Will post a report on this thread tomorrow night.

Had a great day at Red Beach !

Got there at 7-30am and started fishing to the left of the track but not as far as that point you (Garfish) fished from. Weed was very bad !!
    A couple of guys beside me had been struggling with it since daybreak but did have half a dozen nice whiting to show for it.

9am ticks around and I have no fish and no bites, time to move a bit.
    I walk 50m back to the right ( South ), passing other anglers catching a fish or two, so I set up and the nearest vacant position.
    The weed had now dispersed and I was feeling a lot more confident.

Was now the turn of the tide and I was catching fish as expected !!
    At times a little slow with small fish being thrownback but was a lovely day and so much better than a day in the office !!
    There were good size as well, with a few 30 cm models dragged up the beach.

For the last couple of hrs of the run out tide, I would wade out to my knees to cast behind the shore dump, this is where the action increased and was landing Whiting on most casts. Without a should bag, I was stuffing them into my pockets to avoid walking each fish back up the beach to my esky.

I ran out of worms at 2-30pm with approx 25 Whiting and one nice Bream (30cm). The Whiting ranged in size from just legal up to 34 cm !!

Was a cracker day on the beach, lots of holiday makers, dog walkers, kids running a muck, fish in the esky was a bonus !!

Craigie
    Last edited by craigie; 28-09-2011 at 05:51 AM. Reason: Spelling mistake, I make plenty !!

Craigie
    I'm gonna do one of those style of sessions this sunday on margate beach....folding chairs , kids , Mrs and heeps of people around....there's been few the atm.
    pickers

Hi Craigie,

Thanks for the report

Ross
    Ross