Thread: 33's off moreton 24/9/11

33's off moreton 24/9/11

the plan was to meet up with tim d and scalem at manly around 5 this morning and head out to square patch.well that didn't happen(sorry fellas).after a big day yesterday was a bit to much for me as i slept in...so a late star leaving manly around 7 ish and headed out through the spb then to the bait grounds looking for a few livies.all i could manage was around 20 small pike and no yakka's or slimies..by this time the wind was up a bit and couldn't be bothered headin out wide so hit the 29's for 4 drifts for bugger all...the call was to head out to the 35's but along the way i ran over mark i have on the 33's and it looked like a chance.so dropper the bottom bashers and let a floaty out.floatline got smashed and pulled up the best fish of the day...so we set up the next drift and scalem and crew pull up nearby so said g'day.good meetin u brian wont be late next time..did a few more drifts and ended up with 5 squire.lost a couple of good fish but all in all a good day's fishing.back in bout 1.30....the current is really hammering of moreton as well as down the coast.bait used was pillies on a simple 2 hook snell with a 1 ounce egg sinker i get from dayoo with the glow powder on it....don't think the placcies did any good but will let the 2 plastic guru's tell there bit.lol.....go bait fisho's

cheers roscoClick image for larger version. 

Name:	fish 24 september 002.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	98.0 KB 
ID:	71853Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fish 24 september 003.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.1 KB 
ID:	71854

Re: 33's off moreton 24/9/11

5 fish between the two of you.
    Obviosly the snapper had a day off. They were thick out there last weekend.

Nice feed there Rosco. I woke up at 3.00am, looked at that persistant Northerly blowing all night and decided to give the old bones a rest and went back to bed. A few reports so far sound like it was a hard day in the office fish wise so you seem to have done better than most

big differnce in conditions finiky,last week no current and no wind, this week i recon around the 1.5-2knt current to the north and 1nt drift of the boat to the south..alot different conditions...but am happy with the 5 fish today...a good feed.

Good catching up with you too Rosco. We put two and two together..... Two fishing trips in a row might have me ignoring the alarm clock too. I hope you got the pack of Jigheads we left on your bait board??

Yes, confession time - we lucked out on the placcies today. Last time we bagged out on Kingies, this time could not win a trick, saw lots of shows on the sounder, but maybe that current combined with the NW wind meant pillies were the only thing on the menu. We had one of 3 marks around square patch show an enormous school of bait, so much so that a pod of dolphins were having their fill and staying around during the whole time we were there. But after our 2nd or third drift, two charter boats decided that they would come and joint the party..... I'm not one for big crowds, which is when we caught up with you Rosco.

All in all we were chasing the snapper that would photograph well on your esky, end to end, not across the width Well done, but we'll be back

yeah mate i got the jigheads.will give them a go next weekend if the forcast is good.was going to offer u some pillies but know your boat is plastics only so didn't bother..did u end up going through the northern channel.was good both ways.as for the size of the squire they tasted nice for lunch and dinner...how did the nuc chicken taste.lol. deffinatly have to do a trip out with u mate..
    ps the yalta seem to handle the slop ok.

nice one mate, so much for northelies hey
    Living the dream, Barry

Hahaha you and my family would get along just fine. For dinner they enjoyed serving up ....as the hunter and gatherer had failed in his quest to bring something home for the dinner plate.....you guessed it...... Chicken!!

We motored from the bait grounds to another area s/e of the bar, so from there getting back to the Northern channel was square into the face of the NW wind. Horrible! Middle channel was a breeze, and the approach was alongside the slop instead of headlong into it. The Yalta still finds the occasional pothole though, same as any.

yeah marty was the 1st time i have really caught squire in a n/nw wind.nw winds normally shut everything down...

scalem thats awsome mate did they die the meat red and green as well or was it pink and white like the pink shine u used also.lol.hey how did the other guru go,he's quiet tonite...think u fella's might need to take goldfinch for another trip to polish up your style.

Rosco you sure there legal they look undersize

Good to see you put a small feed together on the smelly stuff, don't tell anyone but i have seen stinky bait on Scalems yalta before, just not very often.

You, Me and Brian should hook up for a trolling session in the cat this summer, were not professionals at trolling but we scored some very nice Hoo last summer.

Rosco im only quiet mate cos i only just got back from the drags

cheers tim

yeah tim we will do a trollin trip...the smallest squire went 36 didn't measure the biggest.should of give ya a few pillies as that all that seemed to work today.

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    yeah tim we will do a trollin trip...the smallest squire went 36 didn't measure the biggest.should of give ya a few pillies as that all that seemed to work today.
    Sounds good mate, if your looking to purchase some trolling lures for summer let me know and i'll give you a list of what we got our Hoo on last summer.

We would of probably had to rig the pillies on jigheads as i dont think Brian had any ball sinkers or hooks on board.

It would have been nice to hook a monster kingie or aj today, i still havent hooked anything that has had my saltiga's drag screaming

cheers tim

If you want a screaming drag hang around that massive bait ball at square patch. Had a bottom basher rig down drifting through it last weekend with Pillies on. It took a few drifts but I finally got smashed. The TLD 20 couldn't turn it and it ended up roughing up and snapping my 100lb leader. Tried knife and octo jigs after that but got nothing so we went back to the snapper on the 35's. Can't wait till next weekend to go back for round 2.

Well done on the feed roscoe you did better than us mate! We went south and struggled all morning. Also got the little pencil pike at the southern bait ground!! Tried a fair way down straddy for 2 squire and a trag between 3 of us. Then went all the way back up to moreton coffee rocks to try for a cobe but no joy there either. I didnt get a fish on all day and didnt the crew let me know about it!

Quote Originally Posted by FINICKY View Post
    If you want a screaming drag hang around that massive bait ball at square patch. Had a bottom basher rig down drifting through it last weekend with Pillies on. It took a few drifts but I finally got smashed. The TLD 20 couldn't turn it and it ended up roughing up and snapping my 100lb leader. Tried knife and octo jigs after that but got nothing so we went back to the snapper on the 35's. Can't wait till next weekend to go back for round 2.

Sounds like a big grey suit found your pillies mate

cheers tim