Mate sounds like a top rig.
Should get you a long way offshore with 1000L, Don't want that fuel bill on the first fill.
Would be good to see more pictures of it when you get the big girl.
Mate sounds like a top rig.
Should get you a long way offshore with 1000L, Don't want that fuel bill on the first fill.
Would be good to see more pictures of it when you get the big girl.
congratulation on new rig
when you buy something tow it ,make shore it has big cool room on the back too
looks like this baby will catch lots of fish
Cheers fellas.
Yeah the fuel bill will be immense, however, can bring a long a few more mates to pitch in now :p!
Seller says 70LPH at around 4300rpm which I could live with. ANYTHING, to handle the conditions with a bit more comfort!!! 19 degree deadrise on a 30ft boat should help
Looks like a ripper of a rig mate, well done and i hope it all goes nice and smooth for ya.If ya need a hand with anything mate just ask.
70 LPH hey?Wanna hope he didn't mean 70 Gallons per hour
Hahaha I made sure of that! Either way there is only so much fuel that can travel through a 10mm fuel line at a time lol! I know she will be expensive to take out compared to a 21ft Haines with a 4 stroke, but you pay for comfort and range I suppose.
One thing that has come up is importing the fridge on the boat.. I see there may be a $400 fee involved. Other than that everything is travelling smoothly, however I will save the praise for my shipping agent until it is safe in my arms
Was half tempted to purchase a pair of 4 strokes to fit over here, and somehow have them loaded in the boat for the trip over... Didnt know how that would go down and didnt want to complicate too many things.
What have you found out or decided about the "towing " from the port?
A couple of fresh motors at great value would fill in the last part of the dream. There is real value over there. Interesting how it will go on fuel use as it is a hell of a lot of boat to move through the water but we may be surprised if it it a good hull design just how effecient it is on the plane in good conditions.
Is the fridge thing a confirmation of what gas it is filled with?
I think you mentioned it before but careful with the shore power and connections . Really needs a sparky who knows what he is doing especially if it has genny or inverters on board.
Reading of a few others having quarantine issues where they have not been properly cleaned. Hope your blokes have done it properly as all expenses add up and delays as well.
Is there any way in the USA to get a insurance history on a boat? . Friend is looking at yachts and there is so much storm damages stuff and it is so hard to tell what repairs have been made or if they have been done properly if it has been sunk?
I will be getting a tilt or low loader on a backload(Depending on height) for towing from the port through work (Again, thank you construction). From there, I will have it dropped off at the marina and work out towing issues after christmas Only thing is it will be hard to organise given you do not know the exact hr of what day your boat will be released. So there "may" be a short tow there with something suitable in the interim.
Survey and mechanic report shows the twin optimax's are in good health, so the only thing I will be missing is a bit of reliability (I could be surprised though), and the quietness of the 4's. However, I have a few mates who want to do a group buy from the US on new outboards, to which we will be sharing the costs of a container after xmas(Depending if the AU heads back up). I will certainly be seeing if there is interest on this site.
On the Opti's, I have read quite a few reports that they have good fuel figures, some claiming to be close to a 4st economy. I will believe it when I see it though, however I am highly doubtful.
With the fridge, you hit the nail on the head. Apparently the fridge uses the correct gas grade for AU standards so I am free with that. A/C's are another issue.
I stressed the importance of it, but I suppose that is all you can do. In an ideal world, you would head on over to witness the boat before going on the ship, but its the time factor with that.
Thats something I didnt really look into. I put the trust into a surveyor who picked it to pieces. Spent a good 6hrs on it, and found things the owner didnt even know about (haha yeah right). Getting it surveyed pays for itself as you use the report as ammo when bargaining. You just have to be keen on the boat before you get it surveyed as its a waste of $450 if it doesnt go through.
I and no doubt many people on here have tried and the responses are not too promising.A lot won't sell to you due to parallel import stuff and the few that will, when taking into consideration shipping and GST it doesn't actually work out that much cheaper then buying one here.By all means do your own homework, my findings are based on a 300hp Yamaha and i've tried many many places in the states and the UK and i think for the couple of grand difference i'm going to buy locally.Just for the record mate its about a 2 grand difference for my motor.
Hey mustang5, I think you will still need a pre-charged equipment permit even if the fridge is using the right gas. I had to get one and it was asked for by the customs agent when cleared and the customs agent on the dock did check the items on the manifest (air conditioner, fridge and ice maker). I had the right gas in everything.
It's $400 plus a few cents for the weight of the gas. Btw, to anybody else reading, a lot of old fridges and air conditioners have the prohibited gas in them. The equipment has to be permanently disabled if it can't be converted.
Sometimes its better to look like an idiot than to open ones mouth and remove all doubt.
Yep, shipping agent sent me exactly that on an email, so thats another $400 which wasnt counted for Oh the joys
Not a big problem though.
@Muddy, Yeah I see the drama there, suppose getting prices is one thing, going through with the sale with the dealer happy to sell to AU market is another. I have seen a lot of deals so I can PM you if you like? Dunno about the 300hp range though.
I have a question..insurance. When I bought a boat built in the States I had to have a letter of complaince from an electrical contractor stating that the wiring complied to Australian standards..and that was a new boat straight from the factory in the USA
Re insurance. Nope, no requirement for any electrical certificates. The boat is unmodified and will remain as 120V since it's on a mooring. I got insurance for when the boat was awaiting shipment and for usage here in Australia. The marine transit policy was separate. So it was under one policy until it was lifted on ship, another while in transit, then under the original once again when it was lifted off the truck onto the hard at the marina (not the dock, see below).
The insurance was expensive. Take note you need to extend your transit insurance to cover movement from the dock to the final destination, otherwise if it falls off the truck, accident, etc it is not covered. The normal comprehensive insurance does not cover transport unless on a normal trailer and towed in full compliance with the road rules. It was explained to me the trailer has to be registered to be covered, so picking up a trailer boat and towing it to have the trailer complianced means the boat is uninsured for on road damage, etc.
I am happy to pass along all the insure/broker details if you send me a private message.
Sometimes its better to look like an idiot than to open ones mouth and remove all doubt.
My transit insurance was 1.35% of boat price plus transport price. Broker dealt with it and I paid it all on one quote/invoice.