PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Southwind ub22 trim tabs
II had a UB 22 for about 11 years with a two stroke 85 and i realize they are a lot lighter than a four stroke . I did have a 130 litre tank in front of the hatches though that would bring the weight up There were a few around running two stroke 115 yamys that also didnt seem to have a problem . Where is the consol mounted and the fuel tank position ?
Fuel tank is, i think, a 90 litre tank, mounted in the front removable floor panel. Console is mounted more towards the rear of the boat, At least 3/4 of the way back. Interested to know how the boys with the 115hp yamahas got on with insurance as i thought the hulls were rated to 100hp max? As i said, not my boat, but interested to see wether anyone else has fitted tabs to this model hull. I have tabs on my boat and after having them I will probably always have them on any boat I get. Thanks.
I always wondered about the insurance as mine was only rated to 85hp . Some people dont care i suppose . The hull on a long boat is only narrow 1950mm as compared to other Aus built hulls around 2400mm around the same length. the trim tabs may not have a very positive effect. I was told never to fit a foil to the motor as in a large following sea could have the tendency to lift the stern of the boat I had a large esky in front of the consol approx 330 litre which worked very well try moving the consol forward , and try a few different props . I was running a 14 and a quarter x 17 pitch in a Michigan and it changed it tremendously . Try a 4 blade prop . They apparently give stern lift .
A mate of mine called Sean who used to post on here many years ago got the first of the you beaut Stinger longboats built and put a 4 stroke Yammie on it but with a console way at the back for comfort and front casting room at the front for flyfishing. There were/are pages and pages on the build. In the end it was a pig with all that weight down the arse and needed tabs to make it work so it can be done. Subsequently the company started fitting tabs as a standard feature but they actually needed them to work. I reckon go for it. They can only help.
As for foils, go for it. Sean tried that too. The old Stingrays and that did have a reputation of being a problem on some hulls but not all in a following sea but I reckon you should try some LZ (Lazilas) upward sloping foils. The bonus is they are the cheapest at about $40 from Bias. If you don't like them take them off and all you have blown is $40 and have 4 holes in your cav plate.
I am on my third longboat and never had the need for trim tabs, but a foil has made a difference especially in a following sea because of the lack of deadrise. The southwind is pretty good at rest already and travelling, so he may only get a small improvement there. I think trim tabs are more suited to deep v/bigger deadrise vessels.
The only trouble with fitting tabs to a Southwind UB is the recess under the stern
I did see some extended tabs with the tubes mounted right at the back
they don 't need tabs for stability only to keep the nose down into a head on sea
and like Scorpion I have had several types of longboats over thirty years
Thanks for your input guys. I will give him your information this weekend. Anyone got any photos of tabs on southwinds? Due to the transom design I think he was hoping for some piccies. Thanks again.
I've had my yamaha 22 hull for over 10 years but it has an internal custom fitout. I think tabs could be good to get the nose down, but you can just fit a foil (don't need side to side movement - so like having a centre tab) I would prefer a foil and electric jacking plate to tabs and it would still be cheaper with less holes in transom.
I have had mine without a foil and with a foil and I can say you definatley need one and there is no problem in a following sea. You can jist trim in and out etc. Up my way the mackay and cairns dealers sold a lot of these hulls and they would fit foils. Also you can try a four blade. Makes a big difference to the stern lift.
As mentioned mine has a custom fit out internally but they hate weight in the arse. The further you can get the weight forward the better.
Gavin Goodwin has filled (glass) the stern in on UB22's and did so on his mold. He reckon's it makes them better and I believe him.
I've got a V4 115 evinrude on it
I wedged my 90 etec on my UB22 which meant the nose stayed down going into a sea. No porpoising. My console is a fair way back and rides fine. Don't see the need for tabs buy would be interested to see how they go.