Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Re: River To Mud 2011 & Report.

Re: River To Mud 2011 & Report.

Well finally back on the airwaves after a week being down with a satellite issue.

What a bunch of drunken ferrets fishing around Mud this year, next year there will be a booze ban
    Had a phone call today from the Dept of Communications, regarding the continuous jamming
    of the airwaves by a certain group of skippers during the past weekend in the bay, wonder
    who they would be. (I hope who ever it was finally got it up the arse, they'll know what i
    mean)
    And you blokes wonder why you could catch a scale, the vibrations from all the bullshit stories being
    told, along with the rattle of cans would have scared every scale out of the bay.

A lot of new faces this year, and great to see. As you found out there's not too much serious fishing goes on.
    Will have to revert back to june or july when the really cold snaps are upon us.

Got invited by Aigusto to be his deckie for the weekend, in his new baby cruisey.
    Next time when we say put it in gear put it in gear, the bloody winch handle rotated at a
    million miles an hour and smashed me watch in the process.
    Every reasonable bump we passed over, he hit the mark button, so if anyone wants to know were
    every bump is on the bottom around mud give mike a call.

The full moon sure made it hard for the bream gurus, even the snaps were on holidays, making it a hard slog for the duration we were out there, think we ended up with
    3 squire, 5 bream, 1 sole, 1 lizard, 3 wobbygong, 1 grinner and me star fish.
    But thats fishing.
    Now to the serious parts.
    Best Species chrub 1 squire on bait, good effort Callum
    Runner up Bisbro squire on bait
    Best river catch went to moss247 squire plastics
    Best boat catch went to aigusto (dont no if he caught anything)
    Best Individual none other then darren 2dknbj with, forgot how many species he
    caught, oh yes he did get a tuskie.
    The Fred Woods Memorial Award for best bream 37cm went to Mark (capt seaweed)
    Got me buggered how he caught it and where, think they poured alcohol over board and
    the poor bloody fish floated too the surface.

The Shithouse Award (yes a real shithouse) thanks to that smart arse from Maryborough ??? , went to the boat that spewed the most bullshit over the weekend,
    and created the most noise, created the most lights (when it was lite up you could see moreton). But anyway the shithouse was won by the crew of Capt Seaweed.

Thanks again to all that turned up,
    Thanks to Steve (Ausfish)
    Thanks to Ben (Bush & Beach)
    thanks to all other that donated a few prizes.

Oh i better not forget, THANKS (otherwise he'll cry) Paul (The Deckie) for being master chef sunday
    Last edited by webby; 15-08-2011 at 08:24 PM. Reason: typing

Thanks Webby,
    As a suggestion for next year and maybe future M&G's is it worth bringing a hand held UHF for group chat on boats? Either way I will not be defending the Bullshit and bycatch award next year.
    I certainly hope you didnt cop any grief Webby.
    Living the dream, Barry

Where does one start.

Thanks to Webby and Lucky Phill for organising the event and everyone that donated the prizes.
    For once the weather wasn't too bad it's just a shame the fish didn't co-operate.It was one of the slowest trips fish wise i have had at Mud.Not even many undersize fish with only 4 legal fish finding our esky so with the sun going down we headed in close for a feed and a bit of a fish.
    You know if Cheech & Chong charters with DJ pull up along side just on dark the fishing is really slow and it's time to socialise after all it is a meet and greet. Shortly after Lucky Phill and TheDeckie joined and not long after Marty and Tim (White Rihno) completed the raft.Had a top night with plenty of laughs with a great bunch of guys and for the record we passed a bottle of GGW around as a toast to Touchy.
    Always good to meet some new Ausfishers and put faces to the names.
    Congrats to the guys that one the trophys and as Callum said you have to be in it to win and i believe that is another win for the STINKY BAIT BRIGADE.
    I won the best personal tally 6 fish 6 different species
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2011_0814Image0001.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	59.2 KB 
ID:	70458
    Cheers Dazza

what an awesome event. after nearly tossing back my river caught 40cm/.971kg squire thinking the "legends" overnighting out at mud would be pulling teeth on much larger models, i was gobsmacked to find out it was enough to bag me runner-up. just goes to show you never know. personally, i think the boys out there were bending their elbows not with rods in hand but cans of social lubricants.

the fishing was tough to say the least and i felt sorry for my catch as i felt he "ran into" my hook as he was passing and managed to hook himself silly bugger (this is where circle hooks come up trumps). big thanks to my skipper - dogsbody (dave) for "putting me on a trophy fish - again", i'm not expecting an invite from him next year! cheers bro.

anyway, my 3rd R2M and it was a great turnout and what a great bunch of rambling fishing mad gents you're ever likely to meet. congrats to all other winners. big thanks to Webby, Phill, thedeckie & all the sponsors etc. for organising a more than welcome sunday brekkie & brilliant event for a great cause & the memory of a good friend. will definitely be back next year - although i think i may be landbased.

matt
    c'mon, take the bait....

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    why that date Cheech?
    Nothing special about it apart from being around a new moon, incoming tide through the hours after dark, and in July when the bream should be more prolific.

2DKnBJ the bait you caught is bigger than your keepers

never looked at the lead up to this event before but going by the reports I will have to come up with boat in tow and show you hopeless QLDer's how to fish in your own back yard next year

top stuff folks

and love the Chong award that is GOLD hahahahaha

cheers Murf

Hi gang the boat in the third pic sf460 offshore stessco what year is the boat also is it a purpose built order as im in the market for a good open boat and ive looked around but this boat looks really good for the kids to take aboard any help would be good.
    SEALEGGS

hi all,

my first river to mud (thanks mossy). great event and great to meet a few fellow ausfishers in the real world. mossy and i spent the night fishing at mud seriously (all for one wobby - way to go mossy) but i reckon the real fun was had in the shallows on the nw end of mud. whilst we were laying out a lovely berley trail of minced herrings, hardies, mullet gut and squid (plus other secret ingredients) i reckon those noisy bastards 300m upstream collectively spewed out such a continuous stream of super powerful bullshit that overpowered our sweet juicy attractant. thankfully mossy put us on some fish in the river (out of reach of the powerful anti berley) and deservedly won the best river species and put in a show for the plastics. a great time and i will be in again with mossy next year in my boat unless he has led lighting and a cooker by then. thanks webby and phill for what was a great do.
    davo
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Quote Originally Posted by murf View Post

never looked at the lead up to this event before but going by the reports I will have to come up with boat in tow and show you hopeless QLDer's how to fish in your own back yard next year

cheers Murf
    we show you how to play footy & you teach us to fish - yeh, i can live with that Murf, see ya next year. lol.

matt
    c'mon, take the bait....

Quote Originally Posted by Cheech View Post
    Nothing special about it apart from being around a new moon, incoming tide through the hours after dark, and in July when the bream should be more prolific.
    thanks cheech..thought it may have been yours or chongs birthday...now that would be a session and a half on the water.

What a great report and photos, very entertaining. Good to see some faces to put to names.

Loved the award too, thats a cracker. Would've been good to see a video of the reaction when it was first brought out.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    thanks cheech..thought it may have been yours or chongs birthday...now that would be a session and a half on the water.

Those mad pair of pricks together don't need an excuse!