What is your biggest bream in Photograph and measurement
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is your biggest bream in Photograph and measurement

Cool What is your biggest bream in Photograph and measurement

Hi all this is a thread to see who has the biggest bream. I've started taking my fishing seriously and this is my first legal bream caught in the Clarence river NSW, it was just legal at 25cm but i released it. So show me your biggest bream in photo and measurement. PS notice my bream has a chunk taken out of its dorsal fin towards the rear.
    PK
    PHOT0062.jpg

Re: What is your biggest bream in Photograph and measurement

Hey Poppin King, good going. I love catching bream, pound for pound - kilo for kilo, they are the best fighting fish in my opinion. You will find the deformity is reasonably common - probably a larger predator took a liking to that one when it was a bit younger. I have seen some that have look like they have been hit by a boat prop with a large incision type scar almost down to the backbone. You will find they are always deformed along the top, I have never found one with a scar underneath though - not to say they aren't around.

The biggest I have caught has been 37 cms - but no photo unfortunately - so I can't claim it as confirmed - only a probable!!!!...LOL.

I have seen one caught at around 40cms which came out of the surf at South Straddie caught by my brother in law and he does have a photo to prove it. I ininitally thought it was a snapper until I got closer as I didn't think they got that big. Howerver, that being said I don't have access to his photo so I guess that is another probable.

You currently have the photo so yours is a confirmed! Judging by your smile - you really "hated" catching it too. Well I hope you catch many more. I have had a heap of great experiences catching bream and I love ctaching them, from tiddlers to thumpers they all put up one hell of a good fight.

Horny

Live every day as if it's your last - for one day you're sure to be right!

Picture 161.jpgPicture 160.jpg
    dont know the weight of the one above but i got one down at Brunswick heads that went 1.2kg, gilled and guttered.

Thanks for your input Hornblower and Wayno60 ( nice catch by the way), now we wait till more people put in their catchs and then this will be a pretty good thread...
    thanks
    PK

I have one somewhere that is 43cm and I lined up 3 x Tooheys New cans end to end and they were nearly spot on to the length. I will try and find it.

Ok thanks Lump, it would be greatly appreciated if you could find it.
    PK

Lost the photo in the divorce but the biggest I have ever caught was 48cm caught in Hayes Inlet at Redcliffe Qld several years ago. The big ones come through in migration at certain times of the year. Had the photo as proof but sadly no more

Hey Poppin King,

Looks like your grandad got you onto some!!! Great stuff. Ok give us the low down.

What was the bait, tide, time of day etc.

I am really happy for you. Keep at it mate!!

If you have a look in my gallery "some of the better ones" - I've got some photos of 41-44cm fish.
    I did have a club record "Penrith Sportfishing Club" that was a (from memory) 1.9kgs on 2kg mono ......... sadly no photo (rarely carried a camera back then) .... I reckon it would have been a tad under 50cm.

Greg L 226 bream.jpg
    G'day guys.
    I've never caught any very big bream. Maybe 40cm would pull me up. Some members of our fishing club caught some real rippers out of the Barwon River in Vic. They were not regular captures and all on bass yabbies but some that I can remember were 48, 49, 50 and 52cm plus a 54cm estuary perch that went (officially) 2.89kg. The pic I've attached is of a 52cm fish caught by Greg Livermore from the Barwon back about 2003/4 using a bass yabbie. This fish was oficially weighed at 2.26kg.

Cheers, NS

my biggest Bream is 2.1KG, length unknown, caught on 2Kg line from a boat in about 3m of water on a bombie, used a peeled Royal Red prawn (my favorite Bream bait) had plenty arong the 1Kg mark.

Quote Originally Posted by Funchy View Post
    Hey Poppin King,

Looks like your grandad got you onto some!!! Great stuff. Ok give us the low down.

What was the bait, tide, time of day etc.

I am really happy for you. Keep at it mate!!
    Well Funchy this bream was caught on the 11th of June,2011, bewteen 8:00-10:00am, tide had just started running out, Location: Clarence river(NSW) around the Maclean area (drifting next to a red bouy to be more precise), Rig: cheap reel (unknown brand) and a 7ft shimano rod (which is not really ment for the boat), with approximately 10lb mainline and 12lb mono leader, just a simple sinker, swivel and about a metre of leader, which lead to a jarvis walker size 6 (I think) baitkeeper hook, BAit: just a simple prawn from the fishermans co-op. It was freezing that day, strong winds and about 6 degrees and i quote my grandad here, "it was so cold it could freeze the balls of a brass monkey,".
    I think i remembered everything.
    PK

PK sounds like you had a ball and welcome to the forum, I hope you get many more and as much enjoyment as this one gave you. Biggest I got was 40cm and sadly no photo, I still chase them occasionally although usually go for bigger game these days. You will see deformities in a few bream, not a regular occurrence where I fish but still around.

Just for interest sake there is a mounted Bream in the Laurieton fishing club, went something like 4.6kg ( hard to believe but true ), biggest ive seen live about 1.7kg.

Quote Originally Posted by Floating Rib View Post
    Just for interest sake there is a mounted Bream in the Laurieton fishing club, went something like 4.6kg ( hard to believe but true ), biggest ive seen live about 1.7kg.
    4.6kg that must have been a stonker Bream??? I find that really hard to believe considering the biggest ive seen is only like 1.5kg, i would love to see a photo of this goliath, if someone could get a photo of this fish it would be greatly appreciated.
    PK