-
Ausfish Gold Member
Need advice on fishing Severn River Stanthorpe Qld
I am off to Stanthorpe next Monday for five days and the cabin is on the edge of the Severn River.
Freshwater fishing is new stuff for me so any ideas on tackle, rods etc would be much appreciated.
Also what should I be aiming for this time of the year?
......... And bait? Thought I might take some garden worms and maybe some ox heart?
What about lures? I'm not a lure fish even in salt water so kind of lost on
this one.
I have been told that there are plenty of Red Claws about and as I have five pots thought some chook frames might be the go?
Any advice or suggestions much appreciated.
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: Need advice on fishing Severn River Stanthorpe Qld
I just turn over a few stones and pick up a few yabbies about 5cm long and suspend them under floats so they sit a few feet off the bottom. Yellas and cod are pretty common customers there and the nearby creeks like Pike Creek.
Only lures I have done well with down there in the rivers is Fred Arbogast Mud Bugs in a tiger red fluro colour. That being said tho, the catties are very partial to a celta spinner slowly brought through their nests in the shallows.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Thanks Mate, I'll certainly give it a go, hopefully I can snag a few yabbies in the pots and use them.
Wonder how salt water tabbies would go?
Plenty of them round my place near Victoria Point,
PP
-
The salt water yabbies work well.
With the warmer weather sneaking in, the cod should be ready for a chew on lures. Its not far off breading time, once they sort that out they with be hungry after all that courting and bluing.
Try flicking a lure around the structure (rocky areas or timber snags) with a bait caster and 5'6"-6' rod around the 4-6kg. If you don't have one just use what ever you have.
Best times, this time of year would be late in the arvo, when the water temp is at its max for the day.
Don't get caught up in this deep diving lure business for cod, shallow lures work fine. Spinner baits are great because they will cover any depth.
The perfect spot to find a cod is late in the arvo on the shaddy side of the river in an eddy.
Don't walk straight up to the waters edge and frighten the sh!t out of the fish...Just stand back about 8'-'10' and cast from there a couple of times, just to make sure he's not hanging under the bank waiting for a feed to come along.
Good luck...Scott
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Thanks Scott, much appreciated!
I'll pump a hundred or so yabbies and keep them alive in straw so looking forward to giving it a go.
Never been fussed on freshwater fish but a cod would go down nicely.
When I was a young sprout I used to sit up all night on the bank of the Condamine near Miles and amidst much rum drinking and roaring fires in winter really enjoyed the whole concept.