Originally Posted by
MudRiverDan
Mate you really have to be creative fishing the Brisbane river land based with SP's.
Lot of spots you have to look at with google maps, find structure, jetty's wharfs, rock walls, snags, bridge pylons, mangroves...
Then you have to pick your tide and time, around high then outgoing is a good start, morning or dusk/night with lights.
Flicking a lightly weighted worm around structure can produce bream cod and flathead.
Slightly bigger setups can produce flathead,cod, jew,grunter, threadfin.
There are fish in the river all the way to colleges crossing and a lot of little nooks and crannies to sneak into on dusk and flick a lure
around high.
I only fish a few spots land based in the Brissie now because you really have to put the commando legs in to find those sneaky little spots
at the right time, but it can be half the fun.
Definitely try a Berkley sandworm in camo or bloodworm on a 1/20 or 1/12 jighead,10lb leader, flicked lightly around structure in morning or afternoon, try to find places that are quiet from ferry traffic and boats.
In saying that Newstead park has not produced much for me on plastics, have seen others land some good fish there (go east or west from there)..
but it does have the chance of some good fish.........( if they are around).