Sandy Straits Gold

Thread: Sandy Straits Gold

Sandy Straits Gold

After some time away from the family, I was keen to get out with the kids, so we headed out on the straits so they could have a fish. Given the Rainbow Beach fishing comp had just finished, the placed had been under a fair amount of pressure in the week prior so I expected things to be tough. I normally troll a bit with the kids as we usually get amoungst a few and they are always doing something as they take turns driving and landing fish.

We got there at 11 to target the ride tide and headed over to an area that usually produced pretty good. As the tailor were our target, I tied on some berkely frenzys as they work well for tailor and are cheap as chips if we lose a few. The tailor did their bit with heaps of just undersized choppers keeping the girls going flatout landing them. All in the 32-34cm mark and so they all went back. Had a freezer full after the swains so weren't concerned.

As the girls were having a popper and some bikkies for a snack, the light rod screamed off and the spool was getting a bit lean looking. This ain't no tailor! I picked it up and cranked up the drag a bit as I only had 4lb line on with a 10lb leader and got the oldest (6yrs) to turn the little cruisecraft and chase as I tried to regain some line. Once the spool had some leeway on it again, I got into it and the girls organised things like positioning the boat and getting a net, etc. After a fairly lengthy fight, a flash of colour and whoohoooo a golden trevally. Hadn't caught one before, so backed the drag a bit as it was still taking regular runs and the trebles that come standard on the frenzies are not renoun for their strength. Eventually got it to the net and the 4yr old did the honours with a good net job. So team effort and a 79.5cm goldy resulted. Pretty stoked and proud of the girls for their effort. Unfortunately the fish got pinned in the gills and was bleeding badly (see the casting deck in the photo), so I couldn't return it. The treble had two out of three hooks straightened. Few happy snaps and as we hadn't planned on taking anything home, we didn't have any ice, so we called it a day and the 6yr old drove us back to the ramp at WOT. Quick trip home and called Mark and his missus to come over for a feed. Fish filleted, seasoned and on the BBQ for a top feed with family and a mate, washed down with a few ales.

How good is being alive!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Girls.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	97.6 KB 
ID:	69864Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Charlotte tailor.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	97.4 KB 
ID:	69865Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Girls Golden.JPG 
Size:	97.3 KB 
ID:	69866Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Steve Golden trev.JPG 
Size:	98.0 KB 
ID:	69867

Re: Sandy Straits Gold

nice. kids would have had a ball. nice trev!

mate that is awsome!!!! i have been up to inskip chasing them land based a few times and have only managed a few good runs all with pulled hooks.. very cool catch
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!

Awesome work there Steve!

top stuff Steve..so when are we going fishing ?

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    top stuff Steve..so when are we going fishing ?
    Anytime Greg. Reckon it would be a good trip and have the side benefit of solving all the world's problems!

Great stuff Steve. Getting a few with the girls is a moment to remember. It doesn't get much better than that

Qualty family time Steve - great stuff

Regards Scotto
    So Many Fish - So little time !

I Proudly support the following companies: Shimano, G.Loomis, The Haines Group, Scientific Anglers, Abel Reels, Lowrance

Not wrong with spending time with the family - just love it. They didn't go to school on Monday talking about what their new highest score on the computer was!

well done Apollo

You truly are a lucky man. seems like your day had everything going for it... family, catchin, bbq, mates and ales. I'm with Pinhead, when we goin fishin????? hahahaahhah

Funchy

Cool - 4yr old netting the fish and 6yr chasing with the boat!!! I know grown men who couldn't organise that sort of deal. You have a top crew there mate, and because of their size they don't eat all that much of the catch either and of course they don't drink your beer...LOL

They'll remember that day fishing with Dad for years to come, well done.
    Horny

Live every day as if it's your last - for one day you're sure to be right!

man you have some awesome deckies there!!! great report and congrats on the first!! solid goldy..
    work to live , not live to work

Quote Originally Posted by Hornblower View Post
    Cool - 4yr old netting the fish and 6yr chasing with the boat!!! I know grown men who couldn't organise that sort of deal. You have a top crew there mate, and because of their size they don't eat all that much of the catch either and of course they don't drink your beer...LOL

They'll remember that day fishing with Dad for years to come, well done.

Mmmmmmmmm I think the 4yr old will disagree with you there.......