Lures for trolling the fresh - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Lures for trolling the fresh

Re: Lures for trolling the fresh

about 3.8 klm/hr

Hard question to answer without knowing how keen you are then it's how long's a piece of string and how big's the budget?

Spinnerbaits, Take your pick but get strongly built lures.

Vibes/Rattle traps, again there's a multitude. I mainly use Halco, Rapala, Cordell, Lewis, Yo Zuri and a few others in the 6cm - 10 cm range

Surface lures, where to start except with Arbogast Jitterbugs which are basically the foundation of surface crawlers. 5/8oz black and 3/8oz jointed black are a good start.Do you want walkers, fizzers and poppers? These are a market on there own

Diving lures, How deep are you fishing? There's a myriad of shallow to deep lures made by just about as many makers including some top notch yank lures. You could look at Oargee, Custom Crafted, AC, JD, JJ Stumpjumpers [old stahlwarts] Marz, Norman, Arbogast, Mann's, Floppies [if you can afford them], Luhr Jensen make some ripper for Ozzie natives, Mudeye [Fletty migrated to QLD], Bazel lures from tenterfield are another great lure and the list is endless.

Personally I'd work out what depth I'd be fishing and purchase lures to accommodate.

Most lures will need at least a hook upgrade, possibly rings.

I'm a sucker for a good jointed lure, both diving and surface. These things when made properly have a dynamite realistic action that a static lure just can't come close too. I'm actually very surprised the Barra boys don't talk more about Rapala balsa floating J-9, J-11 and J-13's which are all exceptional lures, cod don't mind them either
    Last edited by 2manylures; 12-08-2011 at 09:54 PM. Reason: Forgot to mention

Quote Originally Posted by Freshwater Tragic View Post
    Righto you buggers , I need some info . After having been a bit of a goose lately and severely depleted my lure stock , the time has come to spend some coin to replenish . I need to know your preferences for lures I can use for trolling in the fresh . Target species are mainly Yella's and Cod . If it makes a difference the fishing is done in South Queensland .
    Thanking You for any help supplied.
    Shawn

learn how to cast

Learn how to fish !

Trolling covers a lot of water - but more often than not , you will not cover the best areas to catch fish
    Fish that set themselves in structure are just not the best targets for trolling

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    learn how to cast

Learn how to fish !

Trolling covers a lot of water - but more often than not , you will not cover the best areas to catch fish
    Fish that set themselves in structure are just not the best targets for trolling

Depends on how much you value your lures. If you're a tight a#se take up 8 ball, if you don't mind losing them it's a different story.

I'm prepared to lose every lure I put in the water

Chris, some of us are just too old and worn out to be casting all day. not anymore

Quote Originally Posted by 2manylures View Post
    Depends on how much you value your lures. If you're a tight a#se take up 8 ball, if you don't mind losing them it's a different story.

I'm prepared to lose every lure I put in the water

Chris, some of us are just too old and worn out to be casting all day. not anymore
    I should qualify that ....... you may not get your lure close enough to the structure to entice a strike. The good thing about casting is that you can choose a lure that will suit the depth , structure & level of buoyancy..... plus how you fish it (action & cadence)
    yes Dave ...... trolling may be the only option for some - so point taken .

I'm sure you'd be the first to recommend the Viper as a trolling lure tho Chris
    Paulo

Quote Originally Posted by PaulMark View Post
    I'm sure you'd be the first to recommend the Viper as a trolling lure tho Chris
    Paulo
    That is cruel ! - troll a viper behind an ETEC with a 2011 Shimano Chronarch , shimano rod and super PE braid !

Prob still catch a fish though

Baz

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Prob still catch a fish though

Baz
    on a viper ?

Just for those that do not know the story ....... I bought 6 vipers for my first impoundment barra trip (6 years ago) -

To this day I have never caught a barra ( or any fish) on a viper ......... yet every man and their dog has !

on a viper ?
    Mate i found a Gold viper snagged at Awoonga, put new trebles & ring's on it & caught a Barra on it within 1 hour... (Trolling)

Cheer's Baz

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Just for those that do not know the story ....... I bought 6 vipers for my first impoundment barra trip (6 years ago) -

To this day I have never caught a barra ( or any fish) on a viper ......... yet every man and their dog has !

Well Chris you should get out more, maybe once you have had some practice you will master them.
    (been fishin long?)

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

You asked for Trolling Lures for Yella's and Cod. You will need Boomerangs, Blitz Bagas, Medium Stump Jumpers and some Oar Gee Ploughs. There are a miriad of lures to suit what you want to do. Try to get some varying depth in your range, from about 2 metres to 8 metres. Lures with a wide action are best, which normally means a big bib and a short fat body. Obvioulsy Vipers are not designed for your target species. Troll drop offs and structure. Use braid so you can feel and drive your lure through snags. Don't worry about learning how to fish, I'm sure you know what you're doing.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Thumbs up Re: Lures for trolling the fresh

http://stores.jdlurestas.com/-strse-...Categories.bok

Aussie classics made for the job.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    Well Chris you should get out more, maybe once you have had some practice you will master them.
    (been fishin long?)

I think I've got it ........ you have to take them out of the blister pack