Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lures for trolling the fresh

Question Lures for trolling the fresh

Righto you buggers , I need some info . After having been a bit of a goose lately and severely depleted my lure stock , the time has come to spend some coin to replenish . I need to know your preferences for lures I can use for trolling in the fresh . Target species are mainly Yella's and Cod . If it makes a difference the fishing is done in South Queensland .
    Thanking You for any help supplied.
    Shawn

Re: Lures for trolling the fresh

Try these. I find them to be a great trolling lure. Let me know how ya go if you grab some : )

http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Strik...html#multiview

Quote Originally Posted by Funchy View Post
    Try these. I find them to be a great trolling lure. Let me know how ya go if you grab some : )

http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Strik...html#multiview
    Thanks for the info bud , will do.
    Shawn

Shawn I would go for an 80mm or bigger with a wide action for the cod. I used to use mudeye timber lures but Jamie has gone awol..

I'm going to start making some timber lures myself, I will send you a couple to try when I get time to make them..

Try trolling some jackall tn70's or bassman spinnerbaits,correct speed is the key.

Jackall tn70's, doozers

Secret Creek Spinnerbaits with chatterblade on front.
    Bassman Spinnerbaits

Oargee Hardbodys- various sizes 60mm up
    Jaz -Tenterfield Shrimp 85mm
    Jaz Dee Bee -either size for yella's
    Jaz - 65mm Blade

I troll all these lures. Cant help you with colour selection up that way.

Speed -not familiar with that area at all, but I troll against the norm here....being I troll FAST! Top 2 speeds on the minn kota, or happily troll with the 40etec, sometimes the noise/bubbles excites the fish, especially yellas. Cod of all sizes will happily take a lure trolled at flat biccie, just make sure you WORK YOUR LURE at all times (well...except when reaching for a refreshment)

Same old story-make sure your in the stike zone...ie, bouncing along the bottom.

BUY A TACKLEBACK!.....think it saved my marriage....hubby was not impressed at replacement lure $$$ being spent......

Quote Originally Posted by wamjam View Post
    S I used to use mudeye timber lures but Jamie has gone awol..

chance encounter at a clients bull sale a few weeks ago, mad keen fisherman from Inverell who said Jamie has fallen in love and dissapeared...lol...?????

Quote Originally Posted by Bear001 View Post
    chance encounter at a clients bull sale a few weeks ago, mad keen fisherman from Inverell who said Jamie has fallen in love and dissapeared...lol...?????

Thats correct. I have a fair idea where he is. No contact though...
    Mate he has headed for the hill's somewhere around Kilcoy..Dunno what he is doin up there, he told me he's not making lure's

Baz

Gday there Baz. Long time no see, hows things ? Have you heard of any movement at the dam lately ?

Shawn I would go for an 80mm or bigger with a wide action for the cod. I used to use mudeye timber lures but Jamie has gone awol..

I'm going to start making some timber lures myself, I will send you a couple to try when I get time to make them..

G'Day Scott,
    Thanks for info Bud . When you do start making the buggers , would be eager to purchase some of your merchandise.
    Shawn

Quote Originally Posted by killitfillit View Post
    Try trolling some jackall tn70's or bassman spinnerbaits,correct speed is the key.
    Thanks for the reply mate , will try them.

Quote Originally Posted by Bear001 View Post
    Jackall tn70's, doozers

Secret Creek Spinnerbaits with chatterblade on front.
    Bassman Spinnerbaits

Oargee Hardbodys- various sizes 60mm up
    Jaz -Tenterfield Shrimp 85mm
    Jaz Dee Bee -either size for yella's
    Jaz - 65mm Blade

I troll all these lures. Cant help you with colour selection up that way.

Speed -not familiar with that area at all, but I troll against the norm here....being I troll FAST! Top 2 speeds on the minn kota, or happily troll with the 40etec, sometimes the noise/bubbles excites the fish, especially yellas. Cod of all sizes will happily take a lure trolled at flat biccie, just make sure you WORK YOUR LURE at all times (well...except when reaching for a refreshment)

Same old story-make sure your in the stike zone...ie, bouncing along the bottom.

BUY A TACKLEBACK!.....think it saved my marriage....hubby was not impressed at replacement lure $$$ being spent......
    Thanks for the reply Bear .
    Will have to invest in a Tackleback . Luckily not worried about saving a marriage , but the price does start adding up after awhile. It was interesting to note that you troll "FAST" , roughly what sort of speed are we talking ?
    Again thanks for info,
    Shawn

My 25hp does 2.6 ks at idle (thats what the GPS says) just right for trolling cod. If you are trolling deep water just speed up and let more line out, if they want it they will catch it. In the rivers if casting is not working, try trolling up the middle of the river, where you normally wouldn't bother with your lure close to the boat (20ft or just behind the ripples from the boat). Quite often if they aren't striking the lure at the snags around the bank, they have moved to deep water, usually later in the morning.

Gday there Baz. Long time no see, hows things ? Have you heard of any movement at the dam lately ?

G'day mate, Mate we on a 12 week trip up & down the QLD coast will be home on 18th this month so i don't know what's happening down home.Haven't put any report's up on here, been havin trouble staying logged on to this site,Haven't had much to report anyhow...

Baz