Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Cruise Craft Reef Raider with origianl 87 6 cylinder 115 Mariner? Thoughts/input??

Re: Cruise Craft Reef Raider with origianl 87 6 cylinder 115 Mariner? Thoughts/input?

Not sure if anyone knows the answer to this problem?

I bought the rig in NSW. Due to ill health etc they could not locate the current trailer or boat rego docs....they 'really are the owners in case you are doubting'. The stickers on the trailer and boat are current but they could only find the previous year's rego documents. The wife signed the boat one and said she called dept of transport/motor registry and they said that I could do the transfer with just that and a proof of purchase document which I have (ie a private sale contract we drew up which acts as a receipt also). I have a feeling she should have signed over the trailer papers also even if they are the previous year?? She seemed convinced that after her chat with the rego people that I would be all go. Has anyone transferred a boat across into Qld lately and know the current rules around this issue? What will I really need?? I don't fancy waiting in one of those massive lines for ages to discover I don't have what's needed. I can mail her back the trailer rego if required etc?? Any thoughts??? I think I also need a rego person to check my trailer etc??

Re: Cruise Craft Reef Raider with origianl 87 6 cylinder 115 Mariner? Thoughts/input?

Malby, all you should really need is your proof of purchase receipt which contains the make and model of the hull and any identifying numbers on the hull along with the make and model of the trailer and any identifying numbers on it. Also the make, model and serial number of the engine.

You cannot transfer a registration interstate. You need to re-register the boat and trailer. In Qld you need a safety certificate I believe for the trailer.

Having copies of the previous rego papers for both boat and trailer is advisable. Some states will require this, some won't.

If you only have the boat papers then it would pay to grab the trailer papers also as they are two independent items and if Qld Transport require the docs then you'll need both.

It should not matter that they are previous year docs. Qld Transport can quickly check the rego info if they need to.

Yes Malby, you will need to get the trailer inspected and a Qld safety certificate issued before you can register it here.

I bought a second hand BMT from SA a few years ago. I didn't need the rego papers, but as BM stated, you need the proof of purchase, safety cert for the trailer and all the details of the BMT for Qld Transport. Any previous rego papers wouldn't hurt though as the more info the better. There is nothing worse than spending half your day at one of places only to be turned away because you were missing one piece of info.

Regards Phil.

mate, thats a nice well looked after boat but agree with others in saying to think long and hard about what you want from your fishing boat b4 you purchase. i have the same engine, same year i think on my boat and it basically costs a small fortune to run. i get roughly bout 1km per litre give or take. plus the oil aint cheap these days either. they are noisy but have plenty of punch. i actually like the noise it makes.

I have a very simliar boat too. i like to fish in the bay and rivers mostly and it doesnt really suit my way of fishing. they arnt too stealthy!! in hindsight i wouldnt have purchased it but on ther hand it has been great and has helped me catch some nice mackerel but given their high fuel consumption a run past moreton will take a fair bit of fuel. what type of fishing do you want to do mostly?

I have been doing lots of Estuary stuff but was frustrated that I could not really get outside to chase the bigger stuff so wanted a boat I could do all of that with. I also wanted a boat I could get the wife on and take the older 2 sons out wake boarding occasionally. A centre console was not pretty enough and not really very family friendly (at least that's what my wife had said). My old/other (currently for sale) boat is a very rare 16 foot Quintrex Fishabout which is a Runabout and was great for all of the Estuary stuff and even sneek outside occasionally. It was an ugly smelly fishing boat but did the above things well.

Thanks heaps for the feedback as I am currently weighing up whether to keep the engine or sell and upgrade. Sounds like you are suggesting I sell and upgrade straight away, maybe to a 4 stroke??

Where have you been getting the Macks?? In the Bay? Also, what would it cost you in juice to go out to Moreton Island (say Tangalooma), drive around for a bit and come back?

Re your engine: Did you check your PSI ratings?? How did they come up?? Was your engine a clean one with no probs? If you got things done to it what were they? Also, what is your boat and what did it set you back if you don't mind saying so? I'd be interested as this/my boat weighs 600 kg plus the engine. Is your boat that heavy? Another reason I went for a boat as big as this is that all the feedback is that when you go outside you want a heavier boat as they sit better in the swell. My Fishabout was plain scary in a swell so thought I'd go bigger rather than smaller.

Everything is a compromise so I'm sure this boat will do some of what I want well and other things not so well.

Stealth is not so much of a problem outside but sure would be in shallower water so maybe another point for a 4 stroke?

Thanks again and please let me know some of your thoughts,

don't replace the motor until it's wrecked mal, you've just paid for it and it's really worth more to you now than it's worth to the market so just use it till it starts to play up and then move it on for parts or repair.

Quote Originally Posted by malby View Post
    I have been doing lots of Estuary stuff but was frustrated that I could not really get outside to chase the bigger stuff so wanted a boat I could do all of that with. I also wanted a boat I could get the wife on and take the older 2 sons out wake boarding occasionally. A centre console was not pretty enough and not really very family friendly (at least that's what my wife had said). My old/other (currently for sale) boat is a very rare 16 foot Quintrex Fishabout which is a Runabout and was great for all of the Estuary stuff and even sneek outside occasionally. It was an ugly smelly fishing boat but did the above things well.

Thanks heaps for the feedback as I am currently weighing up whether to keep the engine or sell and upgrade. Sounds like you are suggesting I sell and upgrade straight away, maybe to a 4 stroke??

Where have you been getting the Macks?? In the Bay? Also, what would it cost you in juice to go out to Moreton Island (say Tangalooma), drive around for a bit and come back?

Re your engine: Did you check your PSI ratings?? How did they come up?? Was your engine a clean one with no probs? If you got things done to it what were they? Also, what is your boat and what did it set you back if you don't mind saying so? I'd be interested as this/my boat weighs 600 kg plus the engine. Is your boat that heavy? Another reason I went for a boat as big as this is that all the feedback is that when you go outside you want a heavier boat as they sit better in the swell. My Fishabout was plain scary in a swell so thought I'd go bigger rather than smaller.

Everything is a compromise so I'm sure this boat will do some of what I want well and other things not so well.

Stealth is not so much of a problem outside but sure would be in shallower water so maybe another point for a 4 stroke?

Thanks again and please let me know some of your thoughts,
    yeah no worries. for a run out to tanga from home port of shorncliffe including a typical look see at a few beacons and other spots in that area i would use about 60-70 litres of fuel in generally nice conditions (5-10kts). sounds like the boat is a good choice for what you plan. i do majority of my fishing in shallower waters which is why i personally find not adequete MOST of the time. its perfect offshore in nice conditions or in the for a beacon bash with family followed by anchoring at the wrecks for lunch.

i agree with paddles in maximising your outlay and use the existing motor until you can no longer afford the fuel costs, want to venture further or it carks it.

spotty and schoolies (mackerel) are common in summer around the beacons near tangalooma. actually they will pop up anywhere really but the beacons are a good start. many guys on here do really well on them. stealth is still important in the bay when chasing schools of tuna as any motor noise will make them skittish and difficult to approach. can be frustrating at times.

i did get a compression test and it came back sweet. In fact the motor has been great for me and starts generally first time every time which is pretty awesome i think for 25 years old. i use every two to three weeks which is one reason why it still runs well imo. my boat is a haines signature 17 and half foot half cab and i paid $5000 for it which was about 2-3 grand cheaper than market value. The reason why i got it cheaper is it was a family boat from new and i bought it off my cousin. It handles beautifully and makes mince meat of small chop. i think if you do buy then it will be a good boat for what you want to do, i.e family etc. good luck and tight lines.

I was already thinking along those lines so good to get some confirmation Paddles. I have a 14 yr old son and don't want to freak him (or me) out by getting stuck out at Sea. That is the only niggling thought in the back of my mind. Thanks again for input.

i understand you mal, half of the pleasure of recreational boating is having peace of mind and the last thing you want/need is for family members to lose confidence in the boat and then not want to go out in it. you've now got a good seaworthy boat, make sure you have got a good radio and safety equipment (and learn how to use them properly), have good batteries )charge and check them constantly), become an associate member of the coastguard, ensure you do whatever is necessary to make sure your engine is as serviceable as you can make it. whilst our end of moreton bay is a dangerous place when the wind blows, help is usually not that far away for any failures you may have in the bay itself, out the front of moreton however is that little bit further/longer.

Thanks Finga. I would be most keen to have a loan of both the manual and the flash bore camera. Do you ever come down Morayfield/Caboolture way. PM me for further info on how to go about loaning this stuff as it would be good to check and see.

Thanks BM. So are you suggesting I take the powerhead off/get it done. I'd really prefer to spend whatever is requird up front to ensure I don't strike any major probs down the track whilst out at sea with my family. Any tricks to removing the 8 bolts without breaking them?

I went in today to Qld transport and they said I only had to fill in the paperwork and self register the trailer as long as it was under 750Kgs. I needed stacks of facts and figures on the boat, the trailer and and what the previous outboard mechanic ate for breakfast. So much info required so I ended up taking all of the paperwork home and will need to go back again to sort it. No mention at all of any safety certificate being required. Maybe the ppl I got never thought of this. I hope they won't expect it next time I'm in as they never even brought that up!!

What is Heli coiling?

They will expect the safety certificate and it will be required.

Looks like Vic is much easier than Qld to do changeovers. Here it was just a matter of showing the dodgy looking sale document. One thing that made it easier was that they could cross reference rego details on the NSW data base.

Helecoils are just an inserted thread that you can replace stripped threads with so you can use the same size bolt.