Thread: Lazy Sunday in the Bay and look what happens...

Lazy Sunday in the Bay and look what happens...

This is a bit delayed as it was about a month ago – sorry for the late one.

I’ve been a member for a while now and have enjoyed the reports, advice, funny stuff and debate you guys put out and thought it was high time I got my butt moving and joined in.

My old man didn’t need any encouragement to head out around the bay islands for a Sunday arvo plastics sesh. It was a pretty dull start with only a few underies landed. The call was made to anchor up on some ground pretty wide of that popular island close to the Brissie River mouth and start a burley trail. A half pike went out on the baitrunner and a pillie on another set up while we continued to drop plastics through the burley trail. The tide slowed up completely and it wasn’t long before there were a few strong taps on the baitrunner. I picked it up as the fish slowly took line in free spool, I gave it a few metres before setting the hook and immediately it took off slowly but obviously it was a heavy something. I had no control on 7kg mono as it got faster and further out until the old man commented on the lack of line left on the spool. I decided to turn the drag up a couple and at times grabbed the spool to change the fight pattern, probably pushing things a bit. It kept us guessing as to what it was as initially as it fought like a huge ray but then there were distinctive head shakes and tail beats as I started to work it closer to home. 20mins later, a bloody sore arm and expecting some sort of massive vermin to materialise out of the depths, we could just make out a large fish shape as the sun was setting.

JEW! Holy $%#@! Not expecting this! There were a few nervous moments boatside as the gaff was sunk and the fish brought in. It went 23kgs and 137cms. Blown away, couldn’t believe it especially as we have fished here plenty before and this was the first Jew encounter.

I’ve only caught one other Jew at Mud before (different spot) that went 13kg on an Occy leg and I distinctly remember it was on the tide change also and the take was similar.

I’ve heard of others getting caught at Mud, Harries etc. this season and I’m starting to think more about their movements through the bay and whether they are resident fish or move in from offshore like the snapper run. Are they moving from the Brissie River or Logan etc. chasing bait or is there a spawning movement? The spot we fished showed up good bait schools so it made sense that predators wouldn’t be far away.

Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4268.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	53.7 KB 
ID:	69457   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4273.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	47.9 KB 
ID:	69458  

Re: Lazy Sunday in the Bay and look what happens...

Good job, that is a hell of a fish.

Very nice,top effort,there is a lot around this year
    Doug

That is a great fish, well done. Did it have worms?
    Marty.

Hell yeah!, cracker Jew grinnerking. Guessing you probably still have that smile plastered all over your face. Ben

Huuuge Jewie mate - Great work!

unreal. good onya mate. very envious of such a great catch. yeeew

Thats a top fish mate congrats

That's a great fish. It's a testament to your skills to be able to boat something that big on smallish tackle. Thanks for sharing

That is a damn fine fish! Well done!

The jew in my signature pix below also came from Mud Island. They are there to be caught in winter at times.

Thanks guys.

Marty I was surprised to find it was clean (from what I could see anyway). One I've caught before had them though. Both a greeny/brown thread like worm and a white one with a bulbous head.

to get rid of any worms in jew, hang them by the tail, worms move into the head, leaving the body free of them

Cracker fish, especially on that gear. Well done and thanks for the post
    Brendan